We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not get passed the reservation”
Review of Sage Inn & Lounge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sage Inn & Lounge
Ranked #14 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Could not get passed the reservation”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We called to book a room because my cousin is getting married at this venue. We requested a king bed and was informed that rooms are assigned on a first come first serve basis and the bride can move guests around based upon their preferences. Hello, the bride has other things on her mind the day of the wedding-how ridiculous. When I pushed hard for a king bed the person who answered the phone put me on hold while she checked with someone else. When she came back she said if I would stay for two nights she would give me a king bed. What a shakedown!
Found a list of B&B's on the Provincetown Chamber of Commerce website and discovered there are many other options. Called a few and spoke with some really nice folks.
If you're going to be in the hospitality industry you really need to understand the concept of hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy N, General Manager at Sage Inn & Lounge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are surprised to receive a one star review based on your experience via phone and not as a guest of the inn. Wedding room blocks often have parameters set up in the contract with the couple and in this case, a 2 night minimum stay was required. I commend our reservations agent for keeping the terms of the agreement and I'm sorry you misunderstood these terms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    87
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
232
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Myself and my partner were there on Saturday 1/25, the night they were having a get togheter for 80 people, however we were not aloud to use the lobby, we could not seat by the fire, all this was not comunicate when I made the reservation, they told us when we check in, and itsn't fair to us to have to stay in out room or have to go out COULD NOT SEAT BY THE FIRE IN THE LOBBY, also the television in the room is flat screan however 13", who today especially a bussiness have a television this size? Hello 2014, the light breakfast in the morning the coffee was could seen have been sitting there all morning. Anyways need improviment,

Room Tip: Unfortunatelly I don't have any info about the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genilson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy N, General Manager at Sage Inn & Lounge, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our staff strives to give our guests the best possible experience which includes notifying all guests when the Lounge is closed for private events. Closing the Lounge for a private event is something we don't take lightly as we know it impacts both our inn guests and regular lounge patrons. I am sorry you were not made aware of this until you checked in. We are currently in the process of updating many of our guest rooms. The update includes installing new king beds in a few rooms, creating a lovely suite and also a much needed upgrade to the televisions in the rooms. We know you have many choices when visiting Provincetown and we hope you will give Sage another chance to meet and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived on Sat, the 28th of December...and stayed through the New Years. We attended the Inns New Years Eve dinner and get together. It was a spectacular event. My fiance and I are already making plans for Next Years New Year! We are currently holding Sage as our #1 venue to host our reception for our Wedding. During our stay at Sage, we were able to see first hand how a Wedding reception was handled. This being that Sage only had a couple days to put this reception together for the lucky couple because their original place to have it did not occure due to mis communication. It was a fine thing that the Sage Inn has a wonderful crew and a great couple of gals who own it with huge hearts and the ability to pull through for the happy couple. We have in the past just stopped in for a couple of their wonderful signature drinks and a few eats in the lounge. However, because we were pondering on Sage for our reception, we wanted to try out the rooms...and I am ever so pleased that we did. I highly recommend Sage Inn and Lounge. They are NOT just a couple of Inn runners trying to make a buck...During our stay, I became aware of Sage's many community projects. I am already planning another return soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy N, General Manager at Sage Inn & Lounge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Louise,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sage. We are glad you had a chance to enjoy all aspects of our offerings including our New Year's Eve dinner event as you decide on a venue for your wedding. As you saw first hand during your stay, we love assisting couples thru the wedding process and our staff takes great pride in providing an exceptional experience for all of our guests from start to finish. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sage soon, hopefully for wedding planning purposes!
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent the weekend prior and straight threw New Year's Eve at the Sage Inn. We attended the Inn's New Year's Eve dinner which was lovely with delicious food. The staff and owners are friendly, helpful and charming. The location couldn't better. It has a Commercial Street location but is set far enough back that noise and pedestrian traffic isn't apparent. The only negative I will note (and perhaps this applies only to room 205) is the sound of showering and toilet flushing from the room above. It seems the plumbing runs through the soffit inside the room. I'm no engineer but this seems an easy enough fix.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place...terrific ambience, great food, wonderful service. Coming in from a cold, damp day to be greeted with a warm fire, great cocktail and wonderful company...best place in ptown! Loved the clam chowder (with smoked oysters) and the lobster sliders.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luckydog1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Provincetown has one of the best film festivals I have been to in years. They are engaging and celebratory! The tickets sell out online and that day so staying at say the Sage is an advantage because they are open for the P town film fest workers and can get you tickets… another amazing stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethany821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Me and my husband spent the Thanksgiving 2013 weekend at Sage Inn and Lounge. The renovations are nothing short of spectacular! For those of you who knew this Inn as the Pilgrim House, you will be absolutely amazed by the transformation. In addition to the beautiful, meticulously decorated first floor and second floor lounge area, the bar and restaurant were equally amazing. The small plates prepared by Chef Lucio were delicious and the cocktails prepared by Corey were fun and seasonal.

The Inn's Manager Tom was wonderful and made us feel welcome from the minute we checked in. We also had the good fortune to meet the Inn's owners Diane DiCarlo and Jeanne Leszczynski. Both were extremely gracious and welcoming.

We have found our new favorite spot in Ptown!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy N, General Manager at Sage Inn & Lounge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi Stan,
We are so glad to hear you and your partner enjoyed your Thanksgiving weekend stay at Sage. As you pointed out, we are fortunate to have some great staff here at Sage. The Lounge is open year round and is a nice amenity for our inn guests and the fireplace makes it cozy and warm too! We hope you will have the chance to stay with us again in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Your friends at Sage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
954 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.4 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#1 of 62 in Provincetown
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Inn & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Inn & Lounge

Property: Sage Inn & Lounge
Address: 336 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2335
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sage Inn & Lounge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round and just steps away from the excitement and energy of Provincetown's Commercial Street, but set back from the hustle and bustle, Sage Inn & Lounge offers a peaceful setting for a restful and energizing vacation or getaway. Located in the center of the Historic District, you can saunter down a lovely brick walkway onto Commercial Street where you will discover galleries, retail shops, and restaurants or delight in a specialty cocktail and light fare in the Sage Lounge. Our newly renovated 19 room, 3-story green hotel offers three indoor function spaces for up to 100 as well as zen outdoor gardens. A convenient elevator whisks guests up to our relaxing rooms. Each beach chic room is decorated in Cape-light colors, has a private bath, Queen or King-sized bed, air-conditioning, and flat screen televisions with cable. Some adjoining rooms are also available. Light continental breakfast and wireless internet access are included with your stay for your convenience. As an extension of our commitment to being a sustainable hotel that is easy on the environment, we feature farm-to-table cuisine, (3) on-site electric car charging stations and solar-powered electricity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Sage Inn & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay @ The Pilgrim House Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing