We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room - shame about the attitude of the owner”
Review of West End Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West End Inn
Ranked #39 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good room - shame about the attitude of the owner”
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We recently stayed in the top floor apartment which was great (give or take the hairs we found in the bedding twice, which was supposedly cleaned for us) but my only gripe is with the guy who runs the place. When we arrived we explained my wallet had been stolen in Boston and therefore couldn't pay the second 50% of the fee by card but would pay him in cash and due to the amount, would need to take 2 trips to the ATM over two days to withdraw it. He told us it was fine and to settle up whenever we had the cash. However, two days into our 5 day stay he appeard in our room and asked me to settle immediately - I gave him $500 cash and said he'd have the rest the next day. He wasn't happy with this and insisted on trying to debit my UK debit card (which wasn't compatible with his machine). The next evening we made our way downstairs with the cash and the second we walked thorugh the gate towards his quaters he leapt out the door and was asking for the money. It made us feel like we were regarded as being untrustworthy and possibly trying to scam him. Bearing in mind the problems we were facing in having had our credit card stolen (as well as a significant amount of cash - which we told him about) and added to this it was our honeymoon, we feel he behavedin a very unsympathetic way, and appeared to just be money-grabbing. Consequently we informed him we would be checking out a day early (at 48hrs notice) and he refused to discount the room for us - again, inspite of the fact we had been robbed and lost a lot of money already. Overall I'd say a nice location and apartment, but at the heart of it, Warren the owner is only is only interested in your cash.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank HolidayMaker1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capechip, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2009
We just expect people to pay for their room...
Upon arrival this couple announced they had their money and credit cards stolen in Boston. It was curious that they spent almost a week in Boston without any cash or credit cards. When given two days to get the required amount to pay the balance of the stay... they never did....and announced that they wanted to check out early as the weather looked marginal for the remainder of their stay. In any other situation people are expected to pay for the balance due upon arrival...or have a credit card to cover those expenses. I feel we went out of our way to accommodate these guests and like any other business be paid for the services we deliver. Next time...bring a credit card or cash to avoid this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
26
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adirondacks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

We managed to stay here for a few nights after our week-long house rental in the East End was over.

We stayed in the top floor room. A bit of a hike, but a nice room with a fantastic deck. The breakfast provided was wonderful. There is also pleasant little public beach up/across the road.

Warren was a phenomenal host who was great to chat with and full of useful advice. He helped us get a table at the Red Inn...no small feat.

We stumbled across this inn by accident, but will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank chadmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

I've been traveling to Provincetown from New York at least once each summer for the past 15 years. My best hotel/B&B experience in Ptown is the one I just returned from at the West End Inn. The Inn's location close to both the beach and town make all the attractions of this community easily accessible. The Inn itself offers upscale accommodations that few, if any, in Provincetown can rival. Rooms are spotless and airy with modern, private baths. The continental breakfast in the common areas is hearty and offers an opportunity for guests to mingle. The West End Inn's proprietor is Warren Lefkowich, who truly understands the art of hosting. Warren was quick to welcome us and ensure that our every need was met, including dining reservations, bicycle rentais, and transportation to the airport. Mr Lefkowich has created an inn that truly distinguishes itself among the many other B&B options in this town. One would be hard-pressed to find a better place to stay in Provincetown.

  • Liked — cleanliness...service by hotel owner/staff
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1031tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2006

The West End Inn is a beautiful retreat minutes from downtown Ptown - hang out and let your host Warren laugh till your pee yourself, or hit the beach minutes away. Its simply fabulous!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrbspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 June 2006

I took my partner down to Provincetown for his birthday and decided to stay at the West End Inn. It was perfectly located a short distance from the center of town, so finding our way around wasn't difficult at all. We were there on the off season, so town was pretty quiet. It's in the west end of ptown anyway, so it's still the quiet part of town even during high season. West End Inn is the perfect place for a vacation in the summer since the beach is right across the street too! The innkeeper was super nice, which is a great plus...especially when you're getting away from the city (like we were!). He was really accomodating, making sure our stay was the best possible experience for us. I've worked in the hospitality industry before and my experience at the west end inn definately went above and beyond my expectations. Rooms were spotless, and breakfast was the perfect start for the day. I'd definately recommend staying here for anyone else that enjoys a quiet and relaxing stay in Provincetown.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 May 2006

This is a delightfully comfortable, impeccably appointed, bed and breakfast located on a quiet lane, just across the street from the seashore. It affords its guests a short, pleasant walk to the beach or, if you prefer, shopping at the stores in Town. You will find the owner and manager exceptionally well traveled and simply delightful company. We cannot recommend too highly the experience that awaits you at the West End Inn in Provincetown, Massachusetts.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 April 2006

I came to Provincetown with my friends last June and we stayed at the West End Inn. We stayed in their top floor suite with a full kitchen and a HUGE outdoor patio. We had a blast. There were three of us and we had more than enough room. There was a pull-out sofa and a loft space with a queen bed. Breakfast was amazing. We only made it down a couple of times, but the spread was great and the staff was very friendly. As a seasoned Provincetown vet, I have learned that I love staying in the west end of town. It is much more relaxed and it is very close to Herring Cove beach. Great trip overall, and a wonderful Inn as well.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.3 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Queen Vic Guest House
Queen Vic Guest House
#19 of 62 in Provincetown
76 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Waterford
The Waterford
#30 of 62 in Provincetown
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crown and Anchor Inn
Crown and Anchor Inn
#24 of 62 in Provincetown
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anchor Inn
Anchor Inn
#18 of 62 in Provincetown
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#12 of 62 in Provincetown
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Inn

Property: West End Inn
Address: 44 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1912
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West End Inn is a seven room bed and breakfast located across from the beach in a historic neighborhood of Provincetown, Massachusetts. It is the ideal place for an intimate, peaceful, and fun experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing