We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I adore the White Horse Inn”
Review of White Horse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Horse Inn
Ranked #58 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I adore the White Horse Inn”
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We would never stay anywhere else. The decor is idiosyncratic and wonderful, the inn keeper friendly and helpful and it is in a quiet neighborhood. Easy to walk into town and right across the street from a beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxNycMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairhaven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

I love this place.

The White Horse is a traditional Inn, not a motel. Many rooms have shared baths (there are plenty, I never had to wait). There are rooms with baths available, and fully outfitted apartments.

The house and buildings are filled with art from many periods. There is a real personality here that you wont find anywhere else. The side entrance is on Daggett Lane, one of Provincetown's sandy alleys where many famous artists have lived. My room had a beautiful garden view.

It's a nice walk (15-20 minutes) into the center of town. Galleries start around the corner, the beach is across the street, there's a nice market behind and lots of great food in a short walk. If you bring a bike, you can cover Commercial street in 20 minutes.

It's quite inexpensive, too. If you're used to faux-frilly B+B's or rubber-stamp hotel-motels, you'll have to re-calibrate, but believe me, it's worth it.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank madtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

The inn is located a little farther from the center of town than expected, despite it's address. Although it is very inexpensive and we were able to book it last minute, it is not really suitable for couples looking for a nice play to stay.
As a last resort it was great, but if you can, keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LoneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucky500, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2009
Thank you for your posting. Since its opening in 1963, The White Horse Inn has welcomed many couples who have returned again and again. Some have even chosen to spend their honeymoon with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2007

Have stayed at this inn many times over the years and it remains a personal favorite and a great budget option in Provincetown. All of the rooms have shared baths, but they're clean, quiet, comfortable and chock full of character. Over the years, the owner has collected lots of original local artwork, which is hung democratically throughout the house. Nothing plush or fancy here, but the place is full of old-fashioned bohemian atmosphere. It reminds you that before Ptown became an expensive honky-tonk, it was a genuine artists' colony. The apartments are also charming, comfortable and quite reasonable given Ptown rates.

  • Liked — Charm, budget rates, comfort
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stchris59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2006

White Horse Inn is a good place to stay if you do not want to spend too much money in PTown. That being said, we were really not so thrilled with our room or the house in general. Yeah, there is a lot of art, but it is rather old and lacks the charm we thought the inn would have. My boyfriend and I decided to move out and forfeit a night (that was prepaid due to it being Carnival week).

As for location, the White Horse is in the gallery district, which has some beautiful galleries. However, if you are going to party at the bars at night, its a drunken and dark walk to get back home.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Benchmark Inn
Benchmark Inn
#5 of 62 in Provincetown
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Cook Street
The Inn at Cook Street
#2 of 62 in Provincetown
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salt House Inn
Salt House Inn
#13 of 62 in Provincetown
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#11 of 62 in Provincetown
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: 500 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2439
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing