We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad decision; shabby-chic without the chic”
Review of Watermark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watermark Inn
Ranked #50 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad decision; shabby-chic without the chic”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I regret booking at the Watermark Inn. I felt ripped off. You can do much, much better elsewhere in Ptown. I paid $300/night off-season. My friends stayed elsewhere for under $200 and had nicer accommodations. I didn't mind booking a more expensive place, because I wanted a luxurious experience, but the Watermark Inn was a bad decision. The waterfront location is nice BUT...
-The interior is super-cheap. My king bed consisted of a couple of twin bed frames pushed together, with the mattress overhanging the frames by a foot.
-towels are paper thin, dishes by IKEA, old berber carpet, cracked tile in kitchen area, super-tiny refrigerator had a bad odor, TV was small Dynex (cheap brand) without sound on many of the stations.
-No A/C so the place is always damp and too warm during the day.
-Rusted out heaters left behind a residue of rust flakes/droppings on the floor.
-The 'private' sun decks are not private at all. There is not a privacy divider so you will essentially share the deck with your neighbors.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tips4trips555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, IL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Traveled to the Cape for a wedding in Truro. Although I lived on the Cape and have visited Wellfleet for the past 21 years, I decided to stay in Provincetown. The Watermark Inn is a perfect location. One mile to the town center but quiet so that you feel you are enjoying a Cape Cod cottage experience. It was very warm when we were there but we managed with two fans provided by the Inn. The Inn is lovely with a small well equipped kitchen so we could eat breakfast and have snacks in the room. Provincetown is absolutely breathtakingly beautiful and the Watermark Inn is a lovely accommodation choice that I highly recommend.

Room Tip: I tried to save money by renting Unit #5 just before the high season rates became effective. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baseball111997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Incredible views over the bay and of the lighthouses (amazing sunrises). Far enough out to avoid bustle but still an easy walk along the beach in to town. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Hotel service but with the perks of self-catering. Had a great time despite the rain, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ucsauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Surprise, surprise, The Watermark is PERFECT! (Again). The Watermark remains a unique option in Provincetown (and maybe anyplace?!): "boutique hotel" styling/aesthetic; great for families with little kids looking for that "special beach vacation when the kids are little" experience; equally idyllic for couples looking for utter peace and relaxation; location quiet but close enough to town center to easily walk (and more easily bike- bring 'em or rent 'em) in; extraordinary views and water access. No AC, so be ready to deploy the fans provided if it gets hot, especially in the spectacular upper-level suites. Innkeepers are the best. Made reservation for next year before we left there today.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The Watermark Inn is a great option for families. While researching places for families in P-Town, I found it difficult to find a nice place that welcomed young children. The Watermark Inn is a nice place that welcomes children.

Our family of 4 had in Suite 7 and 8 which were side-by-side on the upper floor with its own private deck. Suite 7 had a full kitchen with a 4 burner stove and oven, a full-sized fridge and a dishwasher (its the only unit with a full stove and oven). It had a separate bedroom and a living room and a dining area. We had loads of space.

Suite 8 was open-plan with sleeping, living and dining areas. A neat feature about both of these suites was the loft space that was accessed by a pull-down ladder. This space really captured my preschooler's imagination and he loved playing in his secret fort. Theoretically, you could sleep 2 more people up there as there were 2 additional beds (keeping in mind that getting up and down the ladder is only for the nimble).

We also had grandparents staying in the huge Suite 3 on the first floor.

If I had to do it again, I would definitely book this place again but I would go with the units on the first floor and I would definitely book Suite 3 for the reasons below.

First, the upstairs deck had wide railings and a circular stair to the downstairs that was not toddler-safe. The downstairs deck had the same railings and open steps down to the beach but at least the distance to fall was not far.

Second, the downstairs units and Suite 3 in particular had a more "homey" feel to them and a better vibe. Suite 7 and 8 were practical and serviceable but the walls and furnishings had a shabbiness to them. We also had a 48 hour ant problem in Suite 8 - hundreds of them were on the march one day. The staff responded promptly and did the best they could with ant traps but ants are ants and they were on the march. They disappeared the next day.

Third, the upstairs units were too bright. This is not normally a problem for me but the cathedral windows and white walls combined for a need for sunglasses indoors. The quality of light in P-Town is such that even on grey days the sky is bright with reflected glare. I found Suite 3 was plenty bright enough. If you have children who still nap you may find Suite 7 and 8 too bright.

All in all, we had a great stay here. We came during a chilly grey week in late May but we still had a wonderful time. When the tide goes out it goes out for miles and leaves behind all sorts of interesting things on the beach. The walk into town is about a mile but very pleasant with strollers. There is a gourmet grocery and take-away deli a few blocks away (Angel's Foods) which was so handy for getting food to heat up. The staff at the Watermark were nice and attentive and generally lovely.

I highly recommend it, especially if you are vacationing with children.

Room Tip: Suite 3 is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPhoebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

I stayed at the Watermark Inn in Provincetown with friends early in June of 2010. The Inn is located in a quiet but in-town location right on the Bay. Our room, which was impeccably furnished and clean, opened to a deck right on the water. The location and room were both lovely. I must also mention the fantastic service we received. Ron spent a long time with me to make sure we had the right room for our trip and recommended an the perfect restaurant for our night out. We had a wonderful time thanks in large part to our choice to stay at the Watermark Inn.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kak1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2010

For starters the Watermark isn't really an inn. It looks like one with it's charming many gabled design, but each dwelling is really a very private apartment with kitchen, spacious livingroom and bedroom, nice bathroom and a private deck overlooking Provincetown bay. Plenty of room to hang out in if the weather should turn bad. Apartments usually rent by the week. Some people rent for two weeks. If you can't have your own home on the bay, then the Watermark is your best alternative. It's not inexpensive, but we stayed in something no better than a cheesy motel the last time we were in P'town, and it was only $50 cheaper. If you want to treat yourself to the best, stay at The Watermark.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snickleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.3 mi away
Queen Vic Guest House
Queen Vic Guest House
#18 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eastwood at Provincetown
Eastwood at Provincetown
#2 of 8 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchor Inn
Anchor Inn
#19 of 62 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roux
Roux
#4 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Inn

Property: Watermark Inn
Address: 603 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1723
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing