We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful waterfront spot in P-town - still love it after 16 years!”
Review of Watermark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watermark Inn
Ranked #50 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Arlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most beautiful waterfront spot in P-town - still love it after 16 years!”
Reviewed 31 May 2010

My partner and I have been staying at the Watermark Inn every summer for 16 years, and I always book for the next year before I leave. There just isn't anything else quite like it in town. The waterfront rooms with sliding doors out to private terraces are the best feature. The view of Provincetown Bay with views from Truro to the point to the harbor are magnificent! Sometimes we just sit all day and watch the tide come in then go out. Peaceful, relaxing, quiet. The rooms are decorated in a light and airy scandanavian style, and all rooms have galley kitchens. This is critical in a town like Provincetown where eating out 3x a day for 7 days can get very pricey, and tiring. To wake up and brew your own coffee and watch the sun rise over the bay - unbeatable. The kitchens are handy and perfectly suitable for making breakfasts, lunches and simple dinners followed by eating them on your lovely waterfront deck. And when you do desire to dine out, town is a pleasant 15 min walk either on Commerial Street or on the beach.

If you do have the misfortune to have a rainy day, then the rooms are spacious enough, with sofa, dining table and charis, to stay inside looking out at the ocean with a good book, unlike many places in Ptown where the rooms are so small that you really can't stay in them other than to sleep. We've done many a jigsaw puzzle on that table on rainy days.

The housekeeping staff come in every day, are completely respectful of your privacy and totally trustworthy. Most have worked at the Watermark for years. They will load your dishwasher and tidy the kitchen as well as making the beds and cleaning the bathroom. Fresh towels are available every day. One tip: if you're staying for a week and like plush towels, bring your own and be green, saving all that laundry water from the Ptown system. If you get chatting, you may just get a local tip or recommendation too.

I can't disagree enough with the negative review on this site. This is a charming inn run by the owners, who are often on site. It is not a chain that runs all night long. They inform you of their desk hours and leave keys and instructions if you're checking in late. The lofts are lofts - which are fine for children or a hearty adult who is staying over for a night or two. If you have a problem the office is open during the day. This is part of the charm, staying somewhere where the people care and you are left alone if you want to be. No fuss here. If you expect the Ritz, go to New York City. There is no restaurant or bar, but then again that is all in Ptown. I personally love the beach atmosphere, the simplicity and the consistency year in and year out. We even see some of the same people every year.

We stay at the Watermark several times a year and look forward to every stay. We recommend it without reservation, and I have told many a good friend about our little treasure.

J&L (Arlington, MA)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maursh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We had a lovely sea view room, balcony was great for chilling out on & reading books. So relaxing and a beautiful location right on the beach. It was about a 20 minute gentle walk to town, and the lovely chap who checked us in recommended the mayflower cafe for supper which was great. lovely food, good service, not too fancy.
We also went to Post office cafe (opposite mayflower cafe) for lunch and breakfast, great food, service and grape jelly!
Bed was huge and comfortable and we had the best sleep in our entire two week break at the Watermark.
Although there were only two of us, there was a quaint loft room which would be perfect for children or adventerous adults who reminesce about climing a ladder to get into a very grown up size bunk bed!
Well equipped kitchen and lovely living area, not to mention deck chairs for the balcony!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We've returned annually to the Watermark for over 15 years. One could not find a more perfect combination of proximity to the water, walking distance to town, quiet solitude and breathtaking beauty just beyond your door. The design aesthetic of the suites is superb and serves to enhance , not compete with, the effects of the light, water and sky that are always in view from your suite. Simply heaven on earth.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djgmota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Found this great spot with my girlfriend over Valentine's Day weekend. Right on the water. Very romantic. Service was great and the staff was more than hospitable. Will definitely be coming back here next time I am on the cape. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful stay at a quality establishment.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo83478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

You can't find a more perfect location to relax and de-stress right on the water in Provincetown, Ma. then at the Watermark Inn. This place is not only architecturally beautiful with it's great panoramic views but makes you feel right at home in your own private suite. I could luxuriate there forever! W.B.Lewis, Siesta Key, Fl.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaWiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

If you are looking for beauty and relaxation in Provincetown, the Watermark Inn is the perfect place. I have stayed here many times, and all the units are gorgeous, clean and well designed. The views of the bay are unparalleled. Feels like you have your own studio apartment on a private beach. It is located in the serene East End, away from the hustle of town, and the walk on Commercial Street is lovely. I recommend it to all my friends!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tofuchicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We have just returned from a spectacular week at The Watermark. As always, so sad to leave the place, the people, everything. This inn is truly special.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cagibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.3 mi away
Queen Vic Guest House
Queen Vic Guest House
#19 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eastwood at Provincetown
Eastwood at Provincetown
#2 of 8 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchor Inn
Anchor Inn
#18 of 62 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roux
Roux
#4 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Inn

Property: Watermark Inn
Address: 603 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1723
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing