We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home away from home”
Review of Charm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charm
Ranked #20 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely home away from home”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This property is a beautifully decorated Victorian-style inn. I felt as if I were in someone's home, rather than a hotel. The innkeeper Jeffrey seemed like he was an old friend inviting you to stay in his home. He took care of everything with the utmost consideration of his guests. His taste in décor and presentation is reflected in every detail. He said there was a simple continental breakfast, but it was beautifully displayed and featured quality coffee, orange juice, a selection of teas, warm freshly baked muffins, hard-boiled eggs, and Greek yogurt-hardly modest. He also put out a nice bottle of wine and snacks every evening. One could eat in the sitting room, or on the lovely treehouse deck on the second floor, which has a view of the tower of Provincetown. This was a trip I will never forget.

Room Tip: Book well in advance as this property fills up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
50
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My wife and I were gifted a honeymoon stay at any location in Provincetown. We picked The Elephant Walk inn, firstly, based on price and, secondly, on location. The cost was great and the location was right next to a market and one street over from everything you want to see on Commercial street.

When we arrived we were greeted by Jeffery! He gave us an upgrade to a more private and larger room, which made us feel special right out of the gate. Our room was huge with quite a big bathroom for the Cape. There is even a really nicely secluded deck in the back on the second floor. It's perfect for relaxing, talking, and has a view of the Pilgrim Monument. The breakfast laid out for you in the morning smells and tastes so good. I couldn't believe waking up every morning to the smell of baked muffins and coffee wafting into our room.

Jeffery, the innkeeper, was nice, courteous, and always made sure we had everything we needed. We stayed for almost a week, so if we needed extra towels or a quick clean of the room, he always asked and checked in with us. He also had some great ideas of non-tourist ideas for us to do and I couldn't have been more thankful for someone who knew the area so well. He made our experience there so much the better.

My advice, stay here and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Innkeeper Jeffery really runs a top notch friendly, comfortable B&B with great extras like fresh-baked bakery items at breakfast and wine in the evening. Other guests were fun and we had great discussions over breakfast. He provided excellent advice on what to do in P-TOWN. Location is one block off the main drag and provides a great respite from party crowd when needed. Hotel itself is a charming old house with a great second floor balconey for the guests.

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor which was quiet at night. Second floor maybe better in this regard but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 108Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Elephant Walk Inn mid- October. When we arrived on a Thursday evening we were greeted by Jeffery, the new Innkeeper, received a little orientation and were shown to our spacious room. We were pooped from a long journey across the US so we were pretty excited to be there. After a good night sleep, in a comfy bed and quiet room, we went down stairs the next morning to find an assortment of fresh fruit, homemade muffins, yogurt, freshly made coffee and tea options. Jeffery joined us in the sitting room and so graciously engaged us as we inquired about him, the Inn, P-town and all the sites… for quite some time (I’m a curious girl!) Turns out this Inn is under new ownership and they have all been working very hard to update this little treasure. However, the historic charm and gorgeous pieces of original artwork (yes, we chatted about them too) throughout the inn remain. We left our car parked and walked everywhere during our 3 day stay as it’s conveniently located, particularly to a great little market next door with an amazing deli (our eyes are bigger than your stomach so it was great to have a mini fridge in our room.) One afternoon I even called Jeffery from the center of town for a little guidance, and not only was he helpful but I’d like to think he was somewhat entertained. It was my first visit to P-town and it won’t be my last as we had a GREAT time, largely in part to our stay at the Elephant walk in and my new pal, Jeffery the Innkeeper!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLJPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at The Elephant Walk earlier this month. I was simply delighted! The location is terrific and the Inn is charming, cozy and beautifully decorated. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The manager went out of his way to make sure our stay was a great experience. He gave us a tour of the beautiful inn and its history, helped us with directions and informed us of the places to see and things to do in town. If you are planning a trip to Providence, this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Elephant Walk in during the last week in August for 9 nights. We had a wonderful stay there. It was very convenient in terms of being close to town and many of the P-Town attractions and it was well priced for peak season. The Inn was clean and well run and the staff were super friendly and accommodating. Jeffrey, the Innkeeper was a true gem. He was extremely friendly, helpful, accommodating and knowledgeable. Without Jeffrey, I don’t think our stay at this Inn would have been as nearly as great as it was. He had such great energy and was so helpful in all respects during our stay. We would definitely stay here again especially if Jeffrey continues to manage the place and we will be recommending the inn to our friends.

Room Tip: Room # 6 was the room we had, really nice size, very quiet and full of charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogswaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The positive first. Great location near everything in P-town, Great treetop deck for relaxing.
Trip was almost ruined due to bad attitude and demeanor of the innkeeper. His behavior ranged from unfriendly to hostile which almost resulted in our departing before the end of the week we had prepaid. One of our party has a respiratory sensitivity and asked the housekeeper not spary the room with aerosol deoderizer. A second request was necessary. The innkeeper became livid and claimed we were harrassing the housekeeper. To every question posed about the area, places to eat etc got no response. When we turned on the overhead fan on the sun porch, he came right behind and turned it down. Sullen is the best description we can come up with. Innkeeper not qualified to work in the hospitality field. No wonder they're trying to sell the place. Would not stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandcva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elephantwalkinn, Manager at Charm, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
This is such an unfortunate review but I knew this was coming from the moment of check out. This guest was from the previous guest list of past ownership and management. He expected the Inn to be run in the same haphazard manner as in the past. This no longer applies. Sometimes a renovation and change in general is disturbing to returning guests.
There was nothing to be done to please him. The guests insistence on following our cleaning professional around their room in close proximity during the cleaning process was unprofessional and he was asked to stop. This was what prompted the review above. Enough said.
We use chemical free room spray. Information on restaurants and events in the area was given at least 5 times at great length. The length of stay was completed in its entirety.
I am sorry this guest felt they were not given enough attention. We do our best for every guest at the Elephant Walk Inn.
J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#13 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#12 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
John Randall House
John Randall House
#24 of 62 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salt House Inn
Salt House Inn
#10 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at 7 Central
Inn at 7 Central
#9 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm

Property: Charm
Address: 156 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Elephant Walk Inn)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Room bed and breakfast with parking, private baths, king and queen beds, wifi, a/c, mini refrigerators. Full deck and sunny front porch. Close to all shops, restaurants and night life. Newly owned and operated as of March 2017! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Charm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Walk Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing