We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of SeaSalt Charters

SeaSalt Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SeaSalt Charters offers private Whale Watch and Fishing trips out of Provincetown, MA., in Cape Cod. SeaSalt Charters is owned and operated by the Avellar family, pioneers of Whale Watching on the East Coast.
Fraser, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

If you want to see whales and have an adventure of a lifetime, this is the trip you must book! Caption Chad is passionate and knowledgeable about what he is doing. Four of us on a smaller boat made it a "no miss" when it came to seeing the 20 plus whales the morning we went out. We were able to get many close pictures of 3 different types of whales swimming, breaching, feeding and more! This private tour may cost more than a crowded larger boat, but with Sea Salt Charters and Chad guiding the boat, you will surely get what you pay for...and more! Roger and Jennie

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    0
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carleton Place
1 review
“Amazing Trip”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you want an absolutely amazing, memorable, whale watching experience, choose Chad with Sea Salt Charters.
If you are humming over the fact that it is more expensive than the large boats, it is well worth every extra penny! There are only six people on the boat, so you can chat with Chad and Cara about the whales. They are very knowledgeable about the whales and their behaviors. They can even tell you some of the whales names!
Chad went out of his way to find the humpbacks for us and was as excited about seeing them as we were!
They are certified Whale Sense meaning they truly respect the whales!
I highly, highly recommend doing this trip if you are on Cape Cod!!!
Sincerely, Jenni and family

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarletonPlaceJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
1 review
“Great Time”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have been wanting to see the whales for some time, but as a diehard landlubber I didn't like it would happen. With friends visiting Provincetown for the first time, I decided to bite the bullet and booked a private whale watch with SeaSalt Charters. Caption Chad and Karen gave us a wonderful experience! I had a blast and was amazed to see the whales finally.
I would definitely take another trip with Chad. The boat was clean, our safety and comfort was a priority and thier expertise made the trip a memorable outing!!!

Forget the large whale watching fleets, this is the way to go!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank George Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So many whales!!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Chad really knows his stuff and is very anxious to ensure that you get a worthwhile and memorable experience. He contacted us the day before to ask if we'd mind a slight change of plan. There had been very few whales in the usual locations near Provincetown for the past two weeks and so he wanted to take a longer trip south to near Chatham. He’d checked out some intel a couple of days previously and had found a pod of whales in that area. In addition, he’d had to reschedule a family of four the day before due to weather. By taking us all out together, although the whole trip would cost more (as he needed to use a lot more fuel), it still worked out a lot cheaper per person between the six of us.

We blatted down south at full speed for about 1.5 hours and the whales were just where Chad had predicted. You could see him relax once he spotted the splashing from the whales as they were feeding. We've been on a number of whale watching trips and have been fortunate enough to see whales every time, but we have NEVER had an experience like this before. We spent nearly an hour and a half drifting amongst a pod of about 25 humpback whales. Everywhere we looked there were water spouts and whales feeding, plus endless opportunities for the classic tail shot.

The boat is modern and comfortable - and feels very spacious with just 6 guests. But in addition to that advantage over the bigger boats, there was the flexibility to change plans to increase the chances of seeing whales. The bigger boats simply could not have gone so far due to slower speed and higher fuel costs.

We had a two week holiday in the area - but this trip was definitely the highlight. For the rest of our stay, several times a day one of us would turn to the other and say “remember the whales!”

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dunderlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil and all around
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful first experience”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We (a group of three adults) went to Cape Cod for our first ever whale-watching experience and were not disappointed. Captain Avellar was not there, but he put the great Captain Joe in charge, and we were accompanied by Carol, a great naturalist who knew all there is to know about whales (including regulations in several countries and all that is - and isn't - being done to protect them). We had the whales all to ourselves for a while (pretty incredible for a busy Labor Day weekend) and could just watch them in groups, rising to breathe and sinking again, almost synchronized. The captain was so good that other boats were radioing him for directions and following us. The price is steep, but if you can afford it, it is worth every penny!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nassara_Thome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SeaSalt Charters also viewed

 

Been to SeaSalt Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing