We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected charm and simple Italian food”
Review of 9 Ryder

9 Ryder
Ranked #68 of 136 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unexpected charm and simple Italian food”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

When we couldn't get a reservation at the time we wanted for another restaurant, we decided to park on the wharf and walk along Commercial Street to find somewhere to eat. Walking along the wharf we passed 9 Ryder, looked at the menu and interior and decided to give it a try. We were glad we did - the food was very good (stuffed flounder/spaghetti with clams, followed by an excellent coconut sorbet) and the service friendly and attentive. We also had a great view of a beautiful sunset over the water. It was an unexpected and delightful find.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    6
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocked”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My daughter and I went to 9 Ryder on a Sunday night. We were the first ones there right when they opened. Order drinks appetizer and dinner. By the time we finished dinner 3 or 4 other parties had arrived.Food was ok, service from waitress was great. When we finished dinner we each order coffee. About 5 minutes after coffee was served we were asked to leave because someone was waiting for our table and they were upset because they had to wait. I was shocked that they would even ask and we paid the bill and left. We even paid for the coffee that we didn't get to drink. We will not return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9RyderSeasideDining, Owner at 9 Ryder, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
I remember you well, and there are some important facts that have been overted in this review!
When you arrived, without a reservation, I told you that the only table I had was only available for an hour and five minutes and that I was concerned that you would not have adaquate time to enjoy dinner. I told you that the table was being used for a birthday party, and being joined with some other tables.
You agreed to a "swift" dinner.
Five minutes before the other party was to arrive, I did remind you that he table was reserved.
In hindsite, I should have offered to move you to out lounge area.
Im sorry you feel "pushed out", and if you would consider giving ua another try, coffee and desert is on the house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bringing homemade Italy to Provincetown. Bravo!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is one of the best little secrets Provincetown has to offer. Not sure why there are still people out there that don't know the existence of the jewel. It is a very quaint and very well put together little restaurant with amazing views of the town. If you plan to go with friends first have a drink with Sarah at the bar, if you are going to have dinner with your loved one, first have a drink at the bar with Sarah and if you are going solo, have dinner at the bar with Sarah. You will have a great experience, you will love your meal, you will love Sarah's secret drink creations and finally you will leave the restaurant loving Sarah. I did! And keep coming back and always have the best time. So please, if you haven't yet, make sure you plan on at least having one dinner at this restaurant while visiting Provincetown. You will remember it for ever!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RUFFEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
265 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Different for Ptown, not necessarily the best in town”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was our first visit after we heard good things about it. The restaurant seems to attract lots of families and older couples. It is good basic Italian food bit I can get MUCH better at home. Nothing here is really very inventive. Decent red sauce, good fresh mozz, other dishes a bit bland. But if you are hungering for pasta and some Italian basics, give it a shot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful meal with an even better view”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I came to Provincetown a few weeks ago with a good friend. After walking around town and looking at various menus, we decided to try 9 Ryder. We had two seats at the bar, right next to the window, and the view they provide of the harbor already made our experience stand out! We each got the Catch of the Day and it was delicious and fresh. We decided to go with wine to compliment our dishes, but will be back for what looked like some great cocktails!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenofBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 9 Ryder also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to 9 Ryder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing