We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“causeway”

Provincetown Causeway
Ranked #17 of 72 things to do in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“causeway”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

very good travel very clean, and a pleasure to ride on, sand dunes not much wild life but a pleasure to have less traffic than city

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank toots205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Breakwater Walk Adventure”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A breakwater was constructed in 1911 to protect the town’s harbor from the dune’s shifting sands. The unintended consequences of this project were a bonus that allows you to follow its path across the harbor to the outermost finger of the jutting Cape and the sentry of Wood End Lighthouse. Along the way, if the tide has taken its ritual leave, the harbor floor can be explored, which holds abandoned rowboats, horseshoe crabs, seaweed and other ocean oddities. Upon reaching the other side, amblers can continue on to Long Point lighthouse at land’s end or cross over to the quiet beaches that lie on the Cape Cod Bay side of the spit.

Depending on speed, a walk across the breakwater can take anywhere between one to two hours. The rocks are not evenly laid so only those with sure footing should plan on the amble. It is also important to check the tide’s schedule before crossing the breakwater because from time to time the harbor’s water rises above the rock passage. We arrive as the high tide mark has passed and the waters are receding.

Yes, this was an intimidating walk. You literally are out in the middle of a bay walking on huge boulders that are irregularly spaced and in at least four instances require a “scramble” near the waterline. The “Danger Sinkhole” sign did not help inspire confidence either!

The view of Provincetown and the Pilgrim Monument from the far side of the Breakwater was fantastic.

We got closer to, but did not journey all the way to both the Wood End Lighthouse and the Long Point Lighthouse.

We climbed the first set of dunes to take in the view of the Boston skyline in the far distant horizon. It was hazy, but discernible. We were told that this viewpoint was where the whale watching vessels went and that we might see whales. Then it started to rain. The thought of returning across now wet and slippery rocks outweighed our desire to reveal in the glory of the journey and explore. We hurried back to the car arriving a bit... moist.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but be careful”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Provincetown causeway is a great adventure on a beautiful day. The causeway is made of a large granite rocks which streach out into the edge of the harbour. It can be a bit deceptive as the first hundred yards or so the stones are pretty easy to navigate. You can tell that they were carefully place in with a crane, and provide a somewhat level walk. I think by the time the army corps of engineers got to the middle of this project they just got tire and said to themselves "Just drop these things in,,,we are out of here!" It gets a bit treacherous in places. It is beautiful nonetheless, but pay attention to the tide. I understand that some people got stuck out there at high tide and had to be rescued by boat. I also spoke with several people who only did it once, and also heard of one fellow who fell and broke his collarbone on it and had to be airlifted off. I feel and scraped myself up good, as well as another friend on the walk , but I am still glad I did it. It has some beautiful sights of the town and harbour...Just be careful, take your time, and wear good shoes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make sure you're wearing good shoes”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The causeway is made up of tons of huge rocks, so the path is a bit uneven, and can be a bit tricky to navigate, but overall it made for a nice walk. The views of Ptown from the other side of the causeway are great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ny
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sunset, wildlife, and quiet”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We came here to walk and sit on the rocks for sunset. This place is serene and beautiful. Marshes, birds, and views. It is a 45 minute walk to the end and the beach/lighthouses. We arrived too late to complete thentrek, but will return to ptown to do it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank barndoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Provincetown Causeway also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Provincetown Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing