We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good and always special!”

Front Street Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 142 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always good and always special!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

After 25 years of visiting Provincetown annually, Front Street is by far one the best restaurants in town. We have had countless good meals there and we even had our private wedding dinner there 10 years ago!
The duck, the filet mignon done any way, the pasta is truely delicious and authentic. There is a talented Italian in that kitchen verified by taste of their tomato sauce alone. The atmosphere is old Provincetown and small. Service is top notch with a dedicated and longterm staff. We look forward to next year already!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    51
    19
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Longtime Favorite”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have been going to Provincetown for almost 20 years. Since we discovered Front Street, we go every year, usually more than one time per stay,. The food is great and the staff helpful and friendly. There are 2 menus - an Italian menu and a Continental menu as well as daily specials. The ingredients are high quality and fresh. For many years a side salad was included with the entrees, but that seems to have stopped now. The prices are reasonable for good food in a resot town and on par with what other good restaurants in the town charge. We will keep coming back ....On this trip I particularly enjoyed the soft shell crab special.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Five Star Dining”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Front Street is a unique dining experience. Everything about it is 5 star quality. The atmosphere is intimate great for a couple or a small group. Service is wonderful with friendly and very sociable staff who will remember you on a return visit. The food is outstanding with a nice variety on the menu to choose from. The soft shell crab appetizer is a favorite! We never miss a chance to enjoy dinner here when we are in Ptown. Reservations are needed and the location is convenient right on Commercial St. Go out and enjoy a quality meal at Front Street!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very colorful old restaurant in a pub like atmosphere. Service was very friendly and attentive. We had the spinach ravioli with grilled portobello and roasted butternut squash in sage butter and lazy man lobster tettrazini. Both dishes were excellent and I would definitely go back for dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Front and Center”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We just got back from yet another great trip to Provincetown. We made it a point to have dinner at Front Street. There was so many wonderful and different dishes to choose from that we couldn't make up our minds so we ordered a bunch of stuff. First I have to say that our waitperson Jodi was excellent. How she went from digs in Athens to Provincetown is beyond me but we were sure happy she did. She knew the menu's inside and out and recommended some great dishes and she also offered a taste of wine before we ordered a bottle. We started with the stuffed mushroom with sausage and the squash blossoms. It brought my husband and I back to Greece sitting at a cafe and having stuffed squash blossoms, to delicious. The mushroom is a must. We went on to soups, lobster bisque, best we ever had and the pasta fagiole soup was excellent. Pasta carbonara was perfect along with the chicken mauro (recommended by Jodi). The mocha pie with the toffee crust and the ice cream sundae with the home made chocolate sauce was divine. The restaurant itself was so cozy, I'm planning a getaway this fall with my Sister and we will be sure to have dinner here. Thanks Jodi and Chef.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Front Street Restaurant also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Front Street Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing