We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hot lobster roll!”
Review of Canteen

Canteen
Ranked #3 of 142 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome hot lobster roll!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We wandered over to The Canteen after an employee at another restaurant told us that the Canteen was the only restaurant in Ptown that he knew of that served a hot lobster roll. It was slightly pricier than most lobster rolls ($20) but worth it. Tender, buttery lobster on a brioche bun with green onions. YUM! The fresh lemonade was also great, as were the buffalo wings. Very cozy (although slightly awkward) atmosphere in the back, where you can sit at a long table with other guests and take in views of the water. Would definitely return if we're back in the area!

Helpful?
Thank Jacki8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    158
    30
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
680 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“An Inside Picnic!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Met a friend here for a light lunch and we both enjoyed it. I ordered the poached shrimp sliders which were fresh and very tasty. It was quite busy which is always a good sign, with such turn over, it is easy to see why the food is fresh. It's a basic set up, you order at the window and are served at your table when your food is up, there is very little fanfare! The space is small but well organized and there is a nice feeling even being inside. However, when there is a full house it is difficult to carry on conversations with anyone.The girls were friendly, efficient and helpful,it is a good place for a pit stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CATTSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Choice For Lunch”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Really enjoyed our lunch here. Lobster roll was very good, but I was ecstatic over a side of crispy brussel sprouts made with fish sauce. Pleasant, casual atmosphere. The salads looked yummy too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen-On-The-Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch & dinner!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We came for lunch on a Sunday afternoon and liked it so much that we came back for dinner the same day! We had shrimp sliders, Mexican corn, and fish & chips for lunch - all was lovely and fresh. We also tried the birthday cake ice cream bar, so so good (even came with a candle!). We sat outdoors in the back for lunch - such a great space with a lovely view. When we returned for dinner we ordered a hot lobster roll, and pulled pork tacos - again, great food! The Canteen also has such a fun atmosphere, which was another reason that we returned. We stayed pretty late into the evening, even joining the owner and his friends for a bon fire. Awesome experience at the Canteen - go check it out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fried smelts and banh mih sandwich”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Really great, unique items here like tiny whole fried smelts served in a basket like french fries.Also, the vietnamese banh mih sandwich made with fresh cod is great. Kale salad needs a little more love, it's a bit too chewy, but still good. Should try this place at least once while you're in Ptown.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canteen also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing