We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent port in a storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Watership Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watership Inn
Ranked #56 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An excellent port in a storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We hadn't made reservations at the Watership Inn, but when we arrived at the B&B we were originally scheduled to stay at, we found that, unbeknownst to us, our reservation had been cancelled. Explanation from that owner is still fuzzy, something having to do with the reservation software program never should have honored our two night reservation for Columbus Day Weekend..... So there we were, late Saturday afternoon with no place to stay. Fortunately the Watership Inn had a room available, were able to accommodate us for two nights and were very welcoming. The Watership Inn is in a great location - on the edge of "downtown" and on the way to the West End. Just 1/2 block off Commercial yet very quiet. Funky 1820s house. We stayed in the Main Brace on the first floor, fortunately the conversations in the lobby quieted down by late evening. Rather thin walls, but since guests sleep in late, not too much noise. Breakfast is a simple cold cereal (choice of Raisin Bran, Cheerios and Rice Krispies), instant oatmeal, bananas and hard-boiled eggs if you get into the breakfast room right at 9am. Comfortable, clean room and bathroom. This place is a great deal. We paid $119 for over a 3-day weekend when Provincetown was very crowded. They saved our butts by having a flexible rental policy. If we go to P-town again, the Watership Inn will be our first choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46Elizabeth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
luvwells
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have stayed at the Watership Inn many times so this review is well overdue! We stayed two nights at the Watership in late August and it always feel like home from the time you walk into the charming lobby that is decorated with antiques. The location is one of the best in Provincetown as it's close to "everything" but "everything" isn't on top of you. Our room was, spacious, clean and comfortable! The staff and owners are very congenial and helpful when you need them. We can't wait to return!

Thank you for another great stay!
Michael & Bill

Room Tip: Some rooms have decks which is a real plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our room was on the small side but did have access to a shared deck. It was too full of furniture - however beautiful - for my liking and I had to squeeze around the furniture to get into bed and move around the room. The bathroom was good but surprisingly - despite the cost - they provided only soap. I went out and bought shampoo. I rate that as Unforgivable.

Here, you're paying for location and you get it. In two minutes, you're on Commercial Street and in another minute you're at the Tea Dance. Despite being very near the centre, it wasn't noisy and the guests and staff were very pleasant.

Continental breakfast was provided and is adequate to good, depending on your viewpoint. They had cereals (fruit loops, frosties, cheerios, oats), muffins, fruit, boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee and tea.

I'd stay here again but would try to get a larger room. It would be nice if they were to supply better soap and some kind of shampoo for US$200 a night. Caution is advised for anyone with mobility issues as - understandably in an older building - there are stairs and steps.

Room Tip: Get a big one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiegodelaTorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

you won't find a better Provincetown experience than staying right here. certainly there are more opulent and pretigious guest houses but none that will replicate what Provincetown will always be to those who are looking for the laid back, lazy, fun filled summer retreat that it is famous for. the watership inn is reminiscent, with its open space filled with wood and antiquity, of the guest homes that were at one time similar in character and content. the rooms evoke the mood of the day wherever the sunlight has approached it. i stayed in a room on the second floor and left the locked screened door and windows opened leaving a beautiful breeze blowing throughout the night. slept like a baby. The staff, headed by richard and his assistant, david, are immediately attentive. the rooms are kept nice and clean everyday. they always look fresh and tidy. breakfast is included with fresh warm muffins and your choice of yogurt, cereal, bananas and coffee. and the location is the best in town. minutes...seconds from anywhere. this is a place you definitely want to stay as i have for almost 10 years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My partner and I booked a one night stay very last minute. Initially being the only room available we knew we'd have to deal with whatever we were presented with. What a pleasant surprise when we arrived. The property is so ideally located in the center of town , and the decor and rooms were so charming, we would stay here again anytime. Thanks Watership!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

My partner and I stayed for a weekend in June. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a lavish welcome and a big smile from Tim, at the front desk. The room was homey, cozy, and comfortable, and the staff was very attentive, and David, the manager, was very prompt in solving a minor problem we had. Better experience here than some of the other, pricier inns in Provincetown. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Smoking is allowed in all third floor rooms, stay on the ground or second floors if you have an aver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at Watership in June 2013. We had a simple request. We wanted to print out boarding passes on South West the day before. The front desk person said that he was not allowed to use the computer and they could not do it. He may absolutely NO effort to help us.
I went to their "sister" property, the Gifford house and there too I was told that they don't do that.
Is it asking too much to print a simple boarding pass?
The employees at Watership act like they are hostages. They are afraid to do anything to help out.

We even had to ask for towels.

Not staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiGuy33143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bradford - Carver House
Bradford - Carver House
#30 of 62 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enzo
Enzo
#55 of 62 in Provincetown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bayberry Accommodations
Bayberry Accommodations
#29 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beaconlight Guesthouse
Beaconlight Guesthouse
#48 of 62 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gifford House Inn
Gifford House Inn
#43 of 62 in Provincetown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watership Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watership Inn

Property: Watership Inn
Address: 7 Winthrop St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the seafaring days of the 1820's, the Watership Inn was a home from the sea for Provincetown's ship captains. Now let it be your home during your visit to Provincetown. Located in the heart of town, yet situated on a quiet side street, the Watership Inn is just a few minutes walk to all there is ato see and do in Provincetown. Start each day with a complimentary expanded continental breakfast served in our breakfast room: later use our sundecks, yard, barbeque grill or sitting areas. In the cooler months, sit by our wood-burning fireplace in the spacious common living room to chase away the chill and meet some new friends. Enjoy the fresh salt air, clear skies and bright Cape Cod sunshine. Walk the sandy beaches or cycle the miles of trails within the National Seashore. Provincetown offers sailing, deep sea fishing, nature walks, museums, unique shops and restaurants, and the finest whale watching on the east coast. Beaches and pools are within walking distance and bicycle rentals are just around the corner. Here at the Watership Inn, you will greet old friends and make new ones. Our knowledgeable and friendly staff are here to assist you with information about anything you may want to experience in Provincetown. Whether you are planning your next summer vacation or a weekend getaway, plan it with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing