We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian Restaurant With Great Water View”
Review of Sal's Place

Sal's Place
Ranked #73 of 136 Restaurants in Provincetown
Price range: US$30 - US$80
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sal's Place is authentic Italian dinning right on the water. We have been open for 50 years and have won may awards including best Italian on the cape and islands from WBZ.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Italian Restaurant With Great Water View”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We returned to Sal's place, where we had below average food several years ago and found it much improved. The restaurant has a lovely water view and apparently was spruced up since our last visit. I had a Campari and tonic to start and then lasagna, which was very good. The waitress was polite and helpful. We sat right next to the water at sunset which made the whole experience very nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DieterK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    37
    21
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“handled a party of 8 brilliantly”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Parties of 8 on a busy, rainy Saturday night can be challenging, but the staff excelled at making our meal enjoyable! We sat outside on the covered deck, which was beautiful. The food was good...not great, but good. I would certainly go back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedysig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Really charming location and great food make this a very nice romantic choice for couples. Right on the waterfront, yet tucked away in the residential west end. Truly unique. A bit on the pricey side, as is everything in P-Town.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RBStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Sal's has it all-interesting cuisine with fine service overlooking the ocean and is a great value.”
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We are a family of three from Chicago, Illinois. We have experienced our share of good food. Sal's is right up thete with the best we have found.
We were treated very respectably. We had no reservation but accommodations were made for us. The wine list was varied and fair priced. There were five entrees I wanted to order. Service was fine.
I don't understand how anyone could rate this restaurant lower than very good unless they were jealous competitors.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saukco50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Superb Italian Cuisine- Seafood & Sardinian Meatballs!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I hav ebeen going to Sal's for the past 15 years, when old Sal was still alive and would tend to his guests and the kitchen. The new owners have clearly kept up the traditional Italian menu, including Sal's Sardinian meatballs that are made with raisins and pignoli nuts.
The seafood and pasta are always fresh, the sauces are seasoned just right and no complaints on the portions. Desserts are always a treat.
Service is always excellent, these folks hustle here and the ability to dine on the water provides spectacular views of the Atlantic--dining at sunset is gorgeous as it is to see a full moon rising over the water.
I appreciate that during Bear Week, Sal's has a prix menu for Cub and Bear- excellent food at a great value.

Keep Sal's tradition of superb Italian cuisine going please

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank John_Michael_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sal's Place also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Sal's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing