We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view... food not so great”
Review of Sal's Place

Sal's Place
Ranked #75 of 139 Restaurants in Provincetown
Price range: US$30 - US$80
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sal's Place is authentic Italian dinning right on the water. We have been open for 50 years and have won may awards including best Italian on the cape and islands from WBZ.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great view... food not so great”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We came back to this restaurant after a year or so. At that time I gave
Sal's place a good review, but the food on the last visit was quite disappointing. If you go, stick with regular easy Italian dishes, like lasagna etc. and do not get too adventuresome. My friend had veal Milanese, which had a thick crust of oily breadcrumbs and according to him was awful. I also had a veal dish which was stuffed with cheese.
The veal was tough and the sauce bitter. On the plus side, the waitress was charming and the view lovely. They get a poor rating for food and a good rating for location and view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DieterK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    37
    21
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is mediocre and service is poor”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Eating out during our holiday, we had an expectation that the server (Nate) would be pleasant. He was not. Nor did he serve the food. He expected us to pass the plates down the table. He was indifferent, and projected an unwelcoming attitude. Our food was fine, but for a $400 dinner we expected a little pleasantness. We will not be returning. We would not recommend this experience to others.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The location is the only plus but it can't make up for food so bland, poorly prepared and over priced that you feel you are in tourist trap hell. The clams linguine in white sauce was a joke. Clams were severely over cooked while the pasta was not linguine and was so al dente it was hard to bite through and this small portion had zero taste to it. The simple " home made house speciality" of spaghetti with one large meatball - paying extra for one sausage- in a red sauce should not have been allowed out of the kitchen it was such an embarrassing rendition of a classic dish. These dinners should have been no brainers for a good Italian kitchen and the prices are way out of line for the poor renditions.
I would never go back to Sal's place. They need to get a real
chef and match the food and prices to acceptable dishes. What a rip off!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diner146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Went here based on a recommendation from a local. Had a 45 minute wait for outside table, not too bad. They were prompt with that. Got sent to bar to wait, ordered 2 captain and diets. Came in the small cocktail glass and bill was $18.00. Little steep for the size.
Dinner:
Got 2 of the "garden" salads, $11 each, dressing was bland and for the size seemed a bit $$$.
I only got a side of pasta, which was bland. It was supposed to be garlic, olive oil, lemon flavor. All I could taste was the overpowering garlic. Husband had the chicken parm, also very bland. Small pieces of chicken not served with pasta but under cooked vegetables. That was $26. Not worth it. Also cup of cappuccino was a little pricey @$7.
Waitress was pleasant however a little slow. Would not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nepats11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not awful but nothing special”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

What to say about Sal's Place? Well, the setting and space is pleasant, a well lived in West End setting, some areas have waterfront views. The front end greeted us as we had reservations, and there was some confusion with the menus, but they quickly got it straightened out. Our server, Stephen, was a trip, nervous and funny. We had hopes for the food that were not met, though.

The martini was okay, but not the best of the week. The cheese plate was ample and a nice selection, quite enjoyable. We ordered a daily special of striped bass with capers and mint, potatoes and asparagus, and on Stephen's enthusiastic recommendation, the lasagne.

The fish was overcooked and dry, the asparagus did not have the tough ends removed, and the potatoes unremarkable. The lasagne was quite disappointing, especially given the effusive recommendation, we've had many that were better.

It was a busy, fun place in a nice setting, but there were service glitches and the food was a disappointment. We skipped dessert and probably will not be back, there are more options in Provincetown we much prefer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sal's Place also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Sal's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing