We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week of pure heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prince Albert Guest House
Ranked #12 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I had to come back to Ptown to celebrate my 50th birthday, and wouldn't have stayed any where else. The constant parade of diversity walking by created a warm celebration on the patio the entire week. The owners of Prince Albert helped as the backup plan for my brothers gay wedding that was scheduled on the beach as the hurricane landed. They know how to make a vacation very special!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepSmilingInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Prince Albert Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your input. We're happy you had the chance to celebrate a milestone hear and that your brother's wedding went off perfectly. We hope to see you back again soon. All the best, Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Prince Albert Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

First and foremost Stephen, Bob, and Shelby were very hospitable and accommodating. That's worth the stay right there! We were celebrating our friends' wedding and another's 50th birthday. Everybody - even members of our party who were not staying here - had a great time. You can't beat the location on Commercial Street and near the Boatslip - Joe's Coffee next door. People-watching heaven! We had room 12 facing Commercial and enjoyed the proximity to the front patio. All-in-all a fun, memorable stay in Ptown!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rsnitker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Prince Albert Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We enjoyed meeting the Nashville gang for the wedding and birthday party. Thank you for your input. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We've been to the Prince Albert three times now, and every time we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room we've taken every time is gorgeous with a sea view. The breakfast is great with muffins, fruit and waffles. The house is peaceful and welcoming, and it feels like a home with sweet decorative touches that hold the theme together quite thoughtfully. Our dog, Lilly, is warmly welcomed every time, which means a great deal to us as dog owners, and we're moments away from the beach. The cleaning staff are awesome, and Steve and Bob keep the place quite beautifully -- they're also really welcoming and genuine, without crowding their guests. (Also, don't think because of the name that this B&B is more for gay men than others. We're a lesbian couple and always feel very at home.) Our number 1 Provincetown stay.

Room Tip: Room number 1 has sea views and is dog-friendly.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Prince Albert Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Great to see you again, along with Lily. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014. We stayed in Room 2, which is on the main floor, facing Commercial. The room was very nice, but the bathroom is minuscule, only room for 1 person at a time, if that. The proprietors were helpful with orienting us to town and recommending places to eat. The breakfast offered here is not very good...Costco danishes, cereals, yogurt, toast, etc. No hot offerings. We opted to have breakfast out. We were woken up at 1 or 2 am by the proprietors and friends laughing/talking very loudly in the kitchen, and had to go and ask them to quiet down (which they did). The location is great, kind of on the quiet end of town. Chairs out front make for nice people watching, especially if the friendly pooch Shelby sits on the couch with you.
So, in summary , the building and location are lovely, but for the price we paid, I expected much more in the way of breakfast offerings, size of bathroom, and proprietor behavior in the dark of the night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Prince Albert Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

While we appreciate all guest feedback, I would like to point out an inaccuracy in Camilla and Pamela Kelly-Kinniburgh’s review: the owner was not causing the disturbance around midnight, but rather another guest whom was laughing loudly when receiving a late night pizza order and proceeded to exchange jokes with the delivery person leading back to the kitchen was the cause of the minor disturbance. The owner was only there to intervene, and as noted in the review, the guest quieted down immediately. We apologized at the time to Pamela and as an additional goodwill gesture we provided a premium wine and deluxe cheese platter at no charge to the guests.

Our rates are very competitive for Provincetown. As far as the accommodations, all of our rooms are kings and queens with private baths and many rooms are larger than average, and we are located in one of the best locations in town. The room chosen (#2) states in the description that the bath is “small”. As can be seen in our photos Room 2 is a very large junior suite (approx 225 SF), with a king size bed and a sitting area, including a queen sleeper sofa in the bay windows, a private wet bar and a private screened porch (approx 44 SF). Admittedly the bathroom is cozy for two people to share simultaneously, but can easily accommodate one person at a time at approx 8 feet long by 3.5 feet wide.

Our breakfast is a premium expanded continental, which features real deep pocket Belgian waffles, and a delicious offering of fresh sliced strawberries, fresh sliced cantaloupe and fresh blueberries in season, bananas, apples as well as homemade morning glory muffins which we make fresh daily along with bread and bagel selections accompanied by Bonne Maman french jellies, Philadelphia cream cheese, Nutella and we also offer hard boiled eggs, granola, and oatmeal. We also serve world-class Starbuck's brewed coffee, Nespresso espresso and cappuccinos as well as tea selections and fresh orange juice, which is complimentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon which was spent at The Prince Albert. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this property, its owners, Bob and Stephen, it's perfect location in P-Town, oh my.... the list is never-ending. This was our first trip together to P-Town and we booked fairly last minute. Stephen was very accommodating from the first email to the final phone call in our reservation process. We were able to choose between the two rooms that were still available during our desired stay. Stephen was very thorough and helpful explaining both options and we opted to go with Rm. 19 which is a basement suite. One is never totally sure about booking a basement suite but I can promise you that it was wonderful in every way for us. It was very private with a nearly private (no one else ever seemed to use it) entrance from the gated back porch. The double-headed shower was huge and the glass doors are a very nice touch along with the marble floor tiles. The King bed in the room was extremely comfortable. Many mornings we relished in sleeping late in that comfy bed. This room also featured a closet in which we could hang our clothes as well as a bureau and a small armoire for more storage space. We finally turned on the (30ish inch?) flat-screen TV with a DVD Player our final night there at 10:30pm and they have a great range of channels from Comcast if you want to keep up with your favorite shows. There are 2 small windows which do actually let light into the room but if a stunning view is a must for you, opt for another room in the house. We peeked our head into a number of the upstairs rooms and every one looked lovely with it's own unique features and nice large windows with various views. Check their website for accurate descriptions of each and every room in both of the side by side houses.
Onto the best part of The Prince Albert... the two houses share one monstrous front patio that is beautifully landscaped and gardened by Stephen and Bob. There are three separate outdoor "rooms" on this one huge patio complete with super-comfortable outdoor couches and chairs complete with all weather cushions and throw pillows. This really was the highlight of our entire trip. Whether we had just woken up and wanted to enjoy breakfast and coffee or had just returned from a night out at piano bars and shows featuring some really famous people we always were able to find a couch to relax on and watch the parade of people passing by just past the hedge on Commercial St. Being right across from the world-famous Daily P-Town Tea Dance at The Boatslip meant that around 4pm as everyone entered and then again at 7 or 8pm as everyone left the people-watching was incredible. Many people stopped by to ask us if sitting on that porch was as fun and regal as it seemed from the street. We always told them it was even better than they could imagine. This was also a great place to have a cocktail or share a bottle of wine with other guests while getting to know them. Making new friends is always a highlight of our vacations and this porch is perfect for that. However, if you prefer to be left alone, that is just as easy, either there in the front or in one of the two beautiful garden patios behind the houses. (One with a large hot tub open daily until 10pm) We didn't use the hot tub but it looked very clean and well-kept, just like every other part of the property both inside and out. This place is CLEAN!!!!
Both Bob and Stephen were great about recommending great places to eat, shows to see, shops to explore, etc... Both guys are super-sweet and so very accommodating.
At this point I'm just rambling but I could go on for hours praising this property and its owners. We ended up adding one extra day to our honeymoon at the last minute because we just weren't ready to leave. It was that good.
If you've made it this far -- on your trip be sure to do three things. See the Illusions drag show at the Crown and Anchor. Sit at the Piano Bar at the Crown and Anchor while Bobby Wetherbee plays showtunes nightly and SING ALONG! Eat at Jimmy's Hideaway which is just about 200 steps down Commercial St. from the Prince Albert. You won't be disappointed. (And the Lobster Pot was really good too!)

Thanks Bob and Stephen! I'm so sorry I didn't get to say goodbye yesterday but I couldn't find you and we were on a deadline... Guess we'll just have to come back in September for another long weekend so we can have a proper goodbye before the Off-Season :-)

Room Tip: From my review --- "we opted to go with Rm. 19 which is a basement suite. One is never totally...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBart74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Prince Albert Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Brandon and John-- Congratulations on your honeymoon. John-- Welcome back to Provincetown, after a long absence, and Brandon-- we hope you enjoyed your first visit. Thank you so much for your input. It was great to meet you both and we look forward to your next visit.

Your Prince Albert friends, Bob, Stephen (and Shelby too!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spent a week at the Prince Albert on our honeymoon. A great place to stay while staying in P-Town. Our room was tastefully decorated, clean, and well appointed aside from the fact that we could have used a dresser to put our clothing in. The service was personal and terrific. You can't beat the location. Overall, we had a wonderful time there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a dresser/bureau
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Prince Albert Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Lewis and Emmy-- Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for honeymooning with us. We enjoyed meeting you both and Maxwell. Also, thank you for your input. Later this year we plan on replacing the smaller armoire with a bigger one that can accommodate more clothing storage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We go every year to ptown this was our first stay it is clean in everyway. They make you feel as if You have stayed there many times this is a must if you are looking for a 5 star place to stay breakfast in mourning was a plus

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 with the window looking out in to water and boats
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 407Cathys203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Prince Albert Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We enjoyed meeting you both. Thank you for your input. We look foward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.8 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
657 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.1 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Albert Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Albert Guest House

Address: 164 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2119
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: £165 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince Albert Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 8 rooms has a private bath, flat LCD TV's, new ductless air conditioning, new windows and mini-fridges plus we have secured WiFi, a computer work station, hot tub AND includes our real Belgian Waffle breakfast w/fresh sliced fruits, organic yogurt and granola, fresh juice, fresh baked (daily!) Muffins, Starbucks coffee, Nespresso Cappuccino's and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prince Albert Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing