We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway and sweet retreat!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ampersand Guesthouse
Ranked #46 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Nice getaway and sweet retreat!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My dear friend, who works in a high end hotel, recommended this quaint full of character guesthouse to me. They were so welcoming and inviting. I even got a orientation from the owner on some amazing places in Provincetown during my stay. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: I'm a light sleeper, who is not tall. The Ampersand Room had good views and in the A-frame room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    4
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

As my other reviews indicate, I am not a big B&B person and usually try to avoid them -- at all costs. That said, it is hard to get around not staying in an Inn or B&B in Provincetown unless you have a large group and can rent a house or condo – or deep pockets. Friends recommended the Ampersand Inn and we tried it … and enjoyed it.

We did not stay in the Inn’s typical guest rooms, but decided to spend more to stay in a studio apartment in a detached building on the property. The apartment was tidy, comfortable, and is filled with sunlight and has views of the ocean. The kitchen was fully equipped with coffeemaker, toaster, pans, etc. The furnishings – while not new – were clean and well-maintained. All the plumbing was good & functional. The Inn offers internet wi-fi, cable TV, A/C, and a daily continental breakfast until 11am. As we were staying in the apartment, we did not get daily maid service, however, were able to get fresh towels or linen we ever we needed them.

Overall, the stay was very nice and relaxed: one enjoyed the security and charm of staying in a B&B compound (the gardens are beautiful), could socialize with fellow guests if interested, or avoid any interaction and come & go independently. The Innkeepers basically left you alone – unless you needed something from them. I really like that.

The Ampersand doesn’t promise or pretend to be anything more than it is: quiet, comfortable, and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micknyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canaan NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We've stayed at a lot of B&B's in P-Town over the years, but none compare to The Ampersand Guesthouse! The owners, Robert and Ken (and staff ;-) are warm, friendly and ready to make your stay a memorable one!! The house is meticulously cared for and simply beautiful. The rooms are filled with period antiques and modern amenities as well. We especially love the rooms on the second floor that open on to a deck with views of the bay. Very romantic! ;-) The Ampersand is in a great location....just a short walk to the heart of P-Town! We love this house (our home away from home!) and look forward to returning year after year (yes, it's that good!) Oh, and I have to mention the daily "made with love" homemade muffins are pretty spectacular!! If you are looking for a truly relaxing and comfortable place to stay, check in to The Ampersand and enjoy!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank djm1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We've vacationed in Provincetown many, many times over the years, and Ampersand has become our favorite place to stay. It is in a perfect location - far enough away from the late-night noise, but close enough to easily and quickly hit all the attractions on the main drag (and only a couple hundred feet from Lorraine's food - how bad can that be?).

The rooms are great - all of them have a sense of privacy while still being close enough to where you can socialize with others if you want. There are great views from some of the rooms too.

Robert and Ken have a way of making you feel relaxed and cared for without any of the drama and intrusive methods some places employ. We've always felt welcome and enjoyed our conversations with them. But something we learned about the hosts during our visit last Summer has solidified our feelings that there isn't any other place we'd rather stay in P-Town: We had a medical emergency at the end of our vacation and had to remain in town a few extra days. During that time Robert and Ken were incredibly generous and kind - we never felt we overstayed our welcome despite probably being a disruption to their other reservations. That kindness was very much appreciated. We could not recommend them or their house enough for a high-quality and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burchardg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The room we stayed in was very nice with a great view, though the bathroom was incredibly small. The location is peaceful but for us was just a bit too far from the action. The 'breakfast' was pathetic, how can this place call itself a B&B? Some cheap tea bags and very sweet muffins - for the price we were paying, even some cold meats, cheeses, croissants would have been better than that, though I expect that would have been too much effort for our 'gracious' hosts who made us feel that we were in the way the whole time, they were extremely unfriendly and just made us feel a bit awkward. We were made to feel like an inconvenience to them instead of paying guests trying to enjoy a vacation we had saved for and looked forward to. For these reasons I would not stay again, and would not recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie81088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norristown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

This is a terrific guesthouse. The building is both fascinating and charming, and the neighborhood is quiet but not too far from the center of town.

The owners have done a marvelous job renovating the house. The rooms we've stayed in are large and comfortable--and reasonably priced compared to many similar guesthouses in town.

Some other reviewers have complained about the small TVs and the rather weak wireless signal, but if you are vacationing, what difference do these things make? This is a great guesthouse, it's not a hotel! If you want a charming, quiet, and clean place to stay, this is your destination. If you want the Radisson, well, this ain't it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed for a weekend at Ampersand at the end of September and had a wonderfully relaxing stay. The house was built in the 1800s and they have done a beautiful job preserving the classic feel of the place while adding modern touches to make it comfortable. Our room was spacious with a cozy sitting area and fireplace. They did have wireless internet so my husband had a quiet place to work during the day on Friday while I explored town.

We thought the location of Ampersand was perfect. It is on a quiet street away from the bustle and craziness of town but just a short walk to the town restaurants, bars, and shopping. Since it was quiet and peaceful in the morning we were able to sleep in (a rarity for us both). We had both been working a lot for the few weeks prior to our trip. My husband, who is normally out of bed by 7, slept until nearly noon!

The hosts, Robert and Ken, were quite gracious. They made us comfortable without being intrusive. They make delicious muffins or coffee cake every morning to have with coffee and juice (pumpkin chocolate chip muffins and cranberry coffee cake were delicious!). They also helped us with restaurant recommendations that were great. We sat in their beautiful garden for coffee in the morning and drinks before dinner. Their garden is the subject of a number of paintings by some local artists and when you see it you'll understand why.

We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagotravelinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.7 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#11 of 62 in Provincetown
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at 7 Central
Inn at 7 Central
#8 of 62 in Provincetown
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crew's Quarters
Crew's Quarters
#42 of 62 in Provincetown
50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#9 of 62 in Provincetown
184 reviews
0.9 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#1 of 62 in Provincetown
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampersand Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampersand Guesthouse

Property: Ampersand Guesthouse
Address: 6 Cottage St, P.O. Box 832, Provincetown, MA 02657-1925
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing