We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to relax.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ampersand Guesthouse
Ranked #44 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to relax.”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My partner and I have visited Provincetown on 14 occasions since 1996 and for the past three visits stayed at the Ampersand. The owners are friendly and professional, the rooms are clean, and the location in the West End is convenient for downtown and beach access as well as being very quiet (great for sleeping with the windows open). On our past two visits, we stayed in the Ampersand room, which is within the main house but located on the third floor - we love this room because we feel very secluded from the remainder of the house and it is very quiet. My only caution to anyone about this room is that the shower is a bit small for large people. Apart from that, if we visit Provincetown again and need a B&B, we'll most likely stay here.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep late or if noise easily awakens you, don't get the room in the main house b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayak72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    4
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

It was our second stay in Ampersand guesthouse, for us it was heaven. Quiet and yet very close from Commercial street and Herringcove beach. Very reasonable prices for Ptown, very nice coffee and fresh cakes in the morning, owners are extremely discreet yet always attentive to your needs.

Room Tip: maybe choose a room in the main house not the outside cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Year three and we have become more than fans & repeat guests of the Ampersand. We stayed at the property two more times this season. One time, however, we couldn't get the roomy studio apartment that we usually book. It really didn't matter: the different room, although smaller, was just as nice, clean and cozy.

During our stay, we had a rainstorm and wind caused a lamp to break a glass cover on a bedside table. Our hosts promptly cleaned up the mess and made the room – all while we were having morning coffee … they apologized for the inconvenience (even though it was no one’s fault). Later in the stay, the bathroom light fixture shorted out. Within an hour of our reporting what I would consider a minor issue, the electrician was called and a new fixture was promptly installed.

On the second visit, our hosts left out two beach towels that we purchased and left behind last year (we didn’t feel like carrying them home). A small detail, yes, but not something most hoteliers would even remember to do.

The innkeepers clearly care about their property and their guests – who like us – are usually repeaters. The fellow guests seem to share the same sentiment. The inn – as previously reviewed by me – is consistently welcoming, comfy and unobtrusive. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else in P-town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micknyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have stayed at the Ampersand in the past so our expectations were set appropriately. We like the convenient West End location and the reasonable rates. It’s a comfortable walk from the restaurants and bars on Commercial Street and it’s walkable to the beach. The house itself is about 200 years old with quirky charm. The upper deck has a good view of the water. The rooms have not been renovated since the 90’s and the furniture is old, but functional. Bathrooms can be very tight, depending on the room, but are generally clean if not a bit rusty here and there. There are no toiletries so bring your own. Wi-fi is spotty and weak - more annoying than convenient. The owners/innkeepers aren’t as friendly and helpful as you would expect in a typical B&B. Don’t expect offers to help with reservations, directions, etc. like you might find at most B&B’s. Smiles and friendly greetings are rare. There are many times when you feel like an unwanted guest in their space. Breakfast is dismal: coffee (usually hazelnut flavored), a couple of juices, muffins and bread. One of our friends began calling it a “B&M” for bed and muffin. Luckily there is a great little to-go restaurant (Relish) only a few paces away. Get a good breakfast there and don’t bother with the free “breakfast” at the B&B. Lastly, the owners have put the house on the market; a good thing considering they seem to be ready to retire. Not sure how a sale would impact future reservations, but it might be a good thing to ask about so you’re not surprised.

Room Tip: Try and avoid being in the house since the hosts will make you feel awkward and uncomfortable. Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommorrow111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My husband and I had stayed next door at the Oxford House for years and were devastated when they closed. We decided to try the Ampersand when we were in town one weekend during the off-season a couple of years ago. We stayed in the studio, and it was fine, nothing fancy at all, had the feel of an older beach cottage, whereas the Oxford was first class. One of the "armchairs" was actually made of foam, like something you might find in a dorm room. Very small, old-school tv. Definitely needed some updating. But it was an efficiency that was set apart from the rest of the house, with a fridge and stove and an eating area, that seemed perfect if we ever came back with a kid. I submitted an email inquiry earlier this week asking about availability in October for my husband and I and our 2 year-old son. No response. So I called today and was told, "We have no facilities for children." In other words, we don't want kids. That's fine, private businesses are allowed to discriminate however they want to, I suppose (*irony*).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hicountryho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This was our first time at the Ampersand, and the experience was everything we could have hoped for. The hosts were professional, gracious and extremely helpful and always respected our privacy. Our main goal on this vacation was to relax, so we didn't mind when it rained or when that fog rolled in. The house is in a delightfully quiet part of Provincetown, which suited us just fine; the commercial heart of the town was just a short stroll away. Our room was comfortable, spacious and beautifully furnished. Many of the other guests were regulars who had been coming back for years and we plan to do the same.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
171 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have been coming to Ampersand for several years and it never fails to delight. I have never had the same muffins twice! The hosts/owners are delightful and what I love the most is the different group of people each time we are there. The conversations vary from the ridiculous to the profound...the grounds are beautiful, the house comfortable and I think its the best place in Provincetown.

Room Tip: The upstairs bedroom on the right can be entered from the hall or from the upper deck where the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comfortnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.5 mi away
Crown and Anchor Inn
Crown and Anchor Inn
#26 of 62 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Vic Guest House
Queen Vic Guest House
#19 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#12 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enzo
Enzo
#55 of 62 in Provincetown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bradford - Carver House
Bradford - Carver House
#31 of 62 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampersand Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampersand Guesthouse

Property: Ampersand Guesthouse
Address: 6 Cottage St, P.O. Box 832, Provincetown, MA 02657-1925
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing