We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location but uncomfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sunset Inn
Ranked #46 of 63 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good location but uncomfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

The innkeepers were very helpful when we checked in late, but that and the great location were the real positives. In an area with so many options, we were surprised at the ordinariness of the inn. The innkeeper seemed to hover over the guests to make sure they were adhering to the many signs indicating what you could and could not do. One of them seemed to know everything about every subject but seemed quite offended when corrected (cardinals are not bright orange!). I am lactose intolerant. When I asked about providing peanut butter at breakfast time for protein and appeared with my own, I was told that they could not satisfy everyone. They don't provide Sweet and Low, which I prefer so I left a few in their sugar bowl the night before breakfast. They were actually removed them by the next day! The rooms were OK - simple decorations and the bed was quite comfortable. We all enjoyed the public areas to sit and visit and were impressed with the view from the sundecks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurym1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    8
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merrick New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Quaint Inn in the heart of Provincetown. 1 Block from Commercial, convenient to restaurants and shopping. About a 10 minute ride (bike or car) to the beach.

The accomodations are clean and well cared for. The staff is pleasent and courteous & extremely accomodating as well as ecologically (green) conscious.

This is my second stay there in the last 2 years and have already reserved for next year.

A good value for your money!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italiabestia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just returned for the Sunset Inn in Provincetown MA, Another wonderful stay, Andy & Lenny could not be more accommodating. They are both very hands on, anything you need, just ask......the staff is extremely friendly, they go above and beyond with every request. A wonderful little Inn located in the heart of a wonderful little town, one block off of Commercial Street. Rebooked next year's stay upon departure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPAM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed here this past weekend. The room was very large compared with other inns in p-town, as was the bathroom. The staff were nice and friendly, parking was included, and it's a block from Commercial Street right in the heart of the action. The Inn itself is a great structure, and the common areas were nicely appointed, as were the decks and the outside swing by the trees. I removed a star because, even though I didn't mind it at all, other people would think that some remodeling is necessary. Personally, we don't live in our room when we're in Ptown, and the only thing we cared about is a nice clean room, which we got.

We'll be back, hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: If noise is a sleep issue ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wdrefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Minutes away from shopping, restaurants, bars/lounges one will find this charming Inn. Nice size room with very comfortable bed, fridge and private bath. Three (3) decks with striking views of the harbor and sunsets (even in February). Good continental breakfast, friendly staff and accommodating staff.

When in Ptown, this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

We thought that the Inn was very nice until we went for a walk and came back to our room being robbed. We came back to find that after our room had been cleaned we were missing a significant amount of money. We immediately went down stairs to let the owner know that this had happened. He proceeded to tell us that his house boys were trained and would never do that. He refused to listened to any details. He instead told us that we shouldn't have left money in our room. He never apologized nor did he ever speak to us again. We filed a complaint with the Provincetown Police Department. So, it's a great place to stay if you don't keep anything of value in your room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryDom4210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Owners were friendly and helpful. Room was ok; clean, with a good bed and a fridge and it’s really nice to have breakfast included. However, while not unique to this B&B, the practice of serving the entire breakfast on disposable bowls / cutlery seemed very environmentally unfriendly. I probably wouldn’t mention this were it not for the usual "we're committed to doing our share to protect the environment" message in the bathrooms when advising on towel reuse. This would be a lot more convincing/persuasive if one saw guest house owners really doing their bit for a greener planet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marktravellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Walk Inn
The Elephant Walk Inn
#21 of 63 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christopher's by the Bay
Christopher's by the Bay
#27 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerset House Inn
Somerset House Inn
#24 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#13 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
John Randall House
John Randall House
#25 of 63 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Porch Inn
White Porch Inn
#8 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Property: The Sunset Inn
Address: 142 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1450
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn in Provincetown, MA on Cape Cod has been a guest house since the 1940's. This guest house has many features including twenty guest rooms, three sundecks, a back patio, backyard and also includes continental breakfast and free parking. Situated one block from Commercial Street, it is centrally located and an easy walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, dance clubs, cabarets, comedy shows and art galleries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing