We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real taste of Cape Cod”
Review of The Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sunset Inn
Ranked #48 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real taste of Cape Cod”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My lover & I are returning to the Sunset Inn this August after a wonderful vacation there last
Summer. Andy & Lenny's Sunset Inn is truly a beautiful place to stay. It can be also be called
The Sunrise Inn as you can see the sun rise in the morning & the sun set from one of the three
Spacious balconies which over looks Provincetown from atop a hill. It is such a peaceful & magnificent Victorian Mansion. The decor is tastefully done & the European breakfast is perfect
With a large choice of food from scrumptious muffins & other goodies to perfect coffee.
The location is excellent as it is just one small block from the busy Commercial street.
After a one hour flight from Toronto to Boston & a 1.5 hour high speed boat cruise to Ptown,
Across Cape Cod Bay it was an utmost pleasure to stay at the Sunset Inn & get a real taste
Of " Old Cape Cod".

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericforey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    8
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We scheduled a trip to P-Town with out of town friends and booked two rooms. Since only one room with private bath was available, we decided to try a second room with shared bath which we took so that our friends could have the better room. Big mistake. The shared baths were tiny and functionally obsolete. One had a toilet and sink, the next one a toilet and shower, the next one a shower and sink! None of them had enough room to allow a person of normal size to turn around. The room itself was basic at best, with stained carpet and cracked walls. As a long term repeat visitor, I'm sad to say that the condition of this inn has gone downhill over the years.

On the plus side, the three decks were as wonderful as ever, with great views. Don't worry about the wobbly railings or creaky, swaying stairs as you descend the 3 levels to the ground. Most likely they will hold up for the duration of your visit.

Downstairs, the double parlor has been subdivided and partitioned into a small sitting area and what appears to be an administrative office. Still ok, but definitely not the gracious, lovingly cared for Victorian setting that existed years ago when Jack and Sandy ran the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostonridr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My brother and his partner introduced us to the Sunset years ago and it has been a favorite ever since. A big old Victorian house, decorated with taste and comfort. We've tried several rooms and all are clean and inviting. Beds are comfortable and the rooms offer a relaxing respite after a day shopping Commercial Street or walking the beach. Andy and Lenny are gracious hosts who tend to your every need. Location is perfect - close to the action and activities, but tranquil being on Bradford rather than Commercial. A sweet back yard to relax in the sun; several decks to enjoy your breakfast or a cup of coffee; and plenty of parking, which is a gift in P-Town. We highly recommend The Sunset Inn and its wonderful hosts, who make you feel like family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Sunset Inn is a nice place.
The owners are friendly and the house is charming and conveniently located.
Bed quality was average and the room was relatively small, but you want to be outdoors anyway: In P-town, or on one of the roof top terraces of the Inn!
Parking is available for guests for free.
Breakfast isn't worth mentioning, but nevertheless I would return for a weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AL273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Sunset Inn and hosts Andy and Lenny won us back to the idea of staying at B&Bs. We had previously had an awful experience at a B&B in the western US and had written off the whole category.

Sunset Inn is in a perfect location. A short walk to all the action but on a quiet street for a good night's sleep.

We were in town for a memorial, so Andy's understanding and kindness was especially welcome. He pointed out the best to do in Provincetown.

Our bed was awesome (the First B in B&B) and Andy's blueberry muffins got us going early for the Second B.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FynaLeeTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

second time here and it was quiet. homey carefree and clean. the breakfast was nice and good enough to hold you up till lunch. nice yogurts pastries and fruits and all the coffee you can possibly consume.

the bed nice. the bathroom a little small but it is one of the idisioncracies of a victorian house turned in an inn. but oh my god the towels are so soft warm and absorbent. a block walk to commercial street. really quaint and with parking.

Room Tip: take the rooms facing the street. they have the best views and are a tad bigger. you can bring you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crnieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just got back from a great 3 day stay at the Sunset Inn! The owners Andy and Lenny went out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable time. They even went above and beyond and helped me scan and email several work documents. The decks are great and the continental breakfast was a nice added touch! Andy and Lenny take a lot of pride in their home and I would recommend the Sunset Inn to anyone looking to stay in Provincetown.
Corey S.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.1 mi away
Charm
Charm
#20 of 62 in Provincetown
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
John Randall House
John Randall House
#22 of 62 in Provincetown
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christopher's by the Bay
Christopher's by the Bay
#27 of 62 in Provincetown
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clarendon House
The Clarendon House
#32 of 62 in Provincetown
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Revere Guest House
Revere Guest House
#10 of 62 in Provincetown
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#12 of 62 in Provincetown
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Property: The Sunset Inn
Address: 142 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1450
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn in Provincetown, MA on Cape Cod has been a guest house since the 1940's. This guest house has many features including twenty guest rooms, three sundecks, a back patio, backyard and also includes continental breakfast and free parking. Situated one block from Commercial Street, it is centrally located and an easy walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, dance clubs, cabarets, comedy shows and art galleries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing