We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovesome and tucked away....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Secret Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secret Garden Inn
Ranked #12 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bhopal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovesome and tucked away....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

..in a nice and quiet alley this Inn is a nice little gem...due to the fantastic hospitaltity of the unique hosts. We spend a couple of days during the pre-season in one of the petite but affectionately decorated rooms and had the most wonderful time. We could use the parking lot nearby and you can choose a room with a shared bathroom tha was spotless clean, Definitely a come-back-soon-experience!

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MinaBhopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
94
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

I found the Secret Garden Inn on Trip Advisor. I phoned the Inn Keepers, Tom and Abbe and found them to be very courteous and helpful so I booked a room for two nights. Upon my arrival they made me feel very much at home. This meant a lot to me as I am a female traveling by myself and this was my first overnight visit to Provincetown.

My room was perfect! I really appreciated the refrigerator in the room. I made use of both porches and enjoyed the serenity of the garden courtyard. The full breakfasts were wonderful and I especially enjoyed my conversations with Tom and Abbe.

It is hard to believe the Inn is behind Commercial Street because it was really quiet and the location (in the center of town) was perfect. I also appreciated the free parking which saved me $20 a night had I parked in a public lot.

I highly recommend the Secret Garden if you are traveling by yourself or a couple planning a romantic getaway. It really was a perfect vacation spot. After breakfast I would pick up prepared food at Far Land and spend the day at the beach, then relax back at the Inn before heading out for dinner (great recommendations from Tom and Abbe) and a stroll along Commercial Street to enjoy the shops and nightlife.

I now consider the Secret Garden to be my home away from home. I can't wait to return next year.

Beth

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BvBAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Greenwich, RI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

I wanted to treat my mother to a night on the Cape as a 'thank you' for all of her help with my upcoming wedding. I called the Secret Garden based on a referral from a neighboring B&B in town. Tom was very friendly on the phone and helpful with directions. We arrived around 6 pm and were greeted by Abi, who showed us around the place. Our room was spotless and cozy. We immediately felt right at home. The garden courtyard is beautiful and you would never know that you are steps from downtown. We took advantage of the warm evening air and sat out on the porch, chatting with Tom & Abi and some of the other guests until after the sun went down. What a marvelous group of people! The Secret Garden is truly a gem. Unfortunately, we had to skip breakfast in the morning but it looked absolutely delicious. Tom & Abi are fantastic hosts and every great review that you read on this site is 100% true!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed at the Secret Garden for one night this August. This place is super clean. I am the type of traveler that packs a can of Lysol when traveling. I did not feel the need to use it here. If your wondering this Inn is 1/2 a block off the strip (Commercial St.). Just far enough away to give you piece and quiet when the bars are open. The host's are friendly, inviting and engaging. The breakfast is hot, tasty and home made. The linens were soft, unstained and did not smell of bleach like those chain hotels. For the price and location I would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosman247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

We had our bachelor weekend at The Secret Garden. They let us rent the whole house. The owners were so friendly it was amazing. I have never stayed some place so clean, friendly and helpful. I can not recommend this place enough to anyone who wants a B&B in Provincetown. Wonderful location, gorgeous garden to sit in and have a drink and talk. I will totally be staying there again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

This is the second time we've stayed at The Secret Garden Inn. It's such a nice place, with wonderful hosts, we really didn't feel the need to look elsewhere. The rooms are comfortable and unique and Abe and Tom took such great care of us. Can't wait until we're able to get back!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoxFanInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

Hosts Abe, Tom (and Chloe) run a lovely, affordable and clean Bed and Breakfast style Inn just behind busy Commercial Street. Casual and friendly atmosphere. Breakfast is included. WiFi included. Great value. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sage Inn & Lounge
Sage Inn & Lounge
#13 of 62 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Masthead Resort
Masthead Resort
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Inn

Property: Secret Garden Inn
Address: 300A Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2204
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The picturesque 1830's sea captain's house, built for Commander David Hugo Hunter, sits in a tranquil garden that is the ideal getaway from your busy life. Yet whenever you're ready to re-engage, you are only 97 steps away from the epicenter of town offering unique shopping, superb dining and a bustling nightlife. We offer warm and inviting rooms with a continental breakfast to get you on your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Secret Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing