We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Ptown!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brass Key Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Best of Ptown!”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had the great experience of staying here once before we had our child...a well behaved cocker spaniel. Ever since then, we have stayed at other B&Bs because we like to travel with our dog. We were thrilled that the Brass Key now offers 2 rooms for well behaved four legged members of the family!

The Brass Key is truly the best in Ptown. Start with location - you are steps away the heart of Ptown, but it is such a quiet oasis, you wouldn't know it. There is plenty of parking on site! The room was spacious, well appointed and immaculately clean! We especially appreciated the large shower with multiple shower heads and an air conditioner that was adjustable to just the right temp we wanted. The cleaning staff actually makes two round - once in the morning and again for turn down service, which included bringing new towels and a bit of a spruce up. I don't often tip cleaning staff as I think it is part of the whole package, but I was glad to give their cleaning staff a well deserved tip. The grounds are spectacular and privately gated. There are all sorts of nooks and crannies to sit in the sun or shade, common rooms and decks for relaxing and reading a book. The gardens are gorgeous and well maintained. There is a heated pool and very large hot tub and bar service! Most of the rooms face the pool and hot tub and we were a bit worried about noise at night. This was not a problem at all during our stay. In fact, it was very quiet and made for peaceful sleep. There is an afternoon social hour with wine, beer and cheese, vegetables and dips -a great way to meet your fellow travelers and the staff. Rick, who we understand is new, was fantastic! He checked us in efficiently, gave us the grand tour and was a great host at social hour! We think he is perfect for this job!

The only small disappointment is that breakfast does not offer hot items, such as pancakes, French toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, etc. It is plentiful with a variety of fresh fruits, yogurts, cereals, fresh pastries and mini quiches. But we have stayed at other Inns at a far cheaper price point that offer deliciously hot breakfasts and rotating menus so that if you are staying all week, you have some variety. One good and unusual thing about breakfast is that it is open until 11am for late risers.

We look forward to our return to the Brass Key and would highly recommend a stay here to others!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AisleSeatPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your review we look forward to having you and your special 4 legged family member stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    58
    9
    6
    9
See reviews for
10
200
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

When I made my reservation for the Brass Key, I mistakenly reserved two rooms, online…entirely my fault. When I received email confirmation the next day for both rooms, I realized my mistake, and contacted the Brass Key. They immediately canceled one for me with no hassle. That set the tone for a great stay there. The pool areas are beautiful. The breakfast and happy hour are very nice, and the rooms are great! They treat guests very well. I'll be back.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ArlJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thanks for your review. We are all human, we all make mistakes. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms (by choice...the price was great!), and everything we needed was there! No bath, but the large hot tubs steps from our door was WAY better anyways. Grounds are impeccable and expansive. Staff are friendly and plentiful. Two friendly cats roam the property - bonus points. Location is about as good as it gets - near all the good places on Commercial without the 1am noise.

We especially enjoyed the free loaner dvd collection (great for the rainy days, of which there were many on this soggy Memorial Day weekend) and the free wine & cheese hour (which was a really fun way to socialize with the other guests...and get hammered).

The sister property across the street has a nice spa and EXCELLENT dining...but you can stay at the Brass Key for lower prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

The staff was awesome and thr Location ideal, but the room was awfully small, especially for the price! Breakfast was plentiful and the coffee was perfect and ready for early risers. I did however enjoy the stay very much

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edith q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience. We greatly appreciate your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My husband and I chose this bed and breakfast for our honeymoon soley on tripadvisor reviews and WE LOVED IT!!!!! The room was gorgeous and immaculately clean and the service was the best we've ever had. There was nothing the staff wouldn't have done to make our stay perfect! We still talk about it now and can't wait to go back!!! Best..place...ever!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
We are so happy you had a great time. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We greatly appreciate it. We can't wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Kevin and I decided to get married and stay at the Brass Key. I would have to say that was one of the best decisions we ever made. The staff was will to do anything they could to make our week wonderful. the property is truly a get away from our hectic lives. We stayed in the penthouse suite which we fell in love with, there is something about taking a shower in the huge glass shower and looking out the windows and seeing a lighthouse off in the distance that is so relaxing. As far as our wedding a huge thank you to Michelle Orsman was the best she insured us that there would be no issues and there was not she was very helpful in all aspects on where to take photos, the ceremony, and helping us plan our reception dinner. We can not thank the staff of the Brass Key and the Crowne Pointe more for making our week and our wedding amazing. Ok now about the other amenities the breakfast in the mornings was great. The wine and cheese cocktail hour had a great assortment of wines, cheeses, and beer. the grounds of the guest house were great and always clean. We are already planning a trip back and the Brass Key will be our first choice. Thanks again to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Guys it was an honor to host you for your most special day. We look forward to seeing you for many many anniversary's to come! You were both an absolute pleasure.

Congratulations and take care till we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hero, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We splurged and stayed in the Penthouse Suite for 3 nights, during off season and during the week, so this helped defray the costs, even though it was still pricey. It was well worth every penny. From the gorgeous views to the private deck..and the tub.. oh how I love that tub. I think I took 4 baths in 3 days. The kitchen is fully functional and we took advantage of it. The bed was super comfy, we slept great the whole time we were there. Its also really solid ;).
The staff is amazing and really helpful. The grounds are gorgeous and well kept. The breakfast was fine, nothing incredibly delicious, but fresh fruit every day, and a little baked good, cereals, yogurt and toast.
The only slight recommendation I would make is to change the bedding. I love getting into gorgeous sheets with a nice down comforter and a high quality duvet cover, but this bed just didn't have it. The bedding was from JC Penney's, and was made of faux micro suede materials; all the decorative pillows and comforter. It just didn't feel nice to get into. I would really expect more from such a high quality place. Why skimp on the bedding when everything else is of such high quality. It didn't make sense. Also a full length mirror would be nice.
These things were not deal breakers by any means and we would go back in a heart beat.

Did I mention the views, because that was one of the biggest wowzers for us. You have views everywhere you go or sit, even in the shower, even in the little toilet room, which has a television also.
It was a very special time for us, since we got engaged while staying here.
It was so romantic and will always be remembered with the greatest affinity. We loved it!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay in the Penthouse Suite, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoshigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
1.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.1 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
646 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Key Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Key Guesthouse

Property: Brass Key Guesthouse
Address: 67 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1354
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brass Key Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier Provincetown inn, only a minute's walk to all the action on Commercial Street. Our B&B in Provincetown features extraordinary rooms and suites, a gracious staff, spa services, breakfast, wine social & so much more. 9 historically detailed buildings enclose the terraced courtyard, boasting a heated infinity pool, cabana and English garden, that rivals all other Provincetown hotels. Our Cape Cod bed and breakfast now features the new Shipwreck Lounge open for drinks daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brass Key Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Key Guesthouse Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing