We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The brass is not as shiny as it once was - but still generally good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brass Key Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed for a little more than a week in mid-September. Much of the property needs an update. The same interior décor, fit, and finishes are pretty much as they have been for some time now (>15 years I would say). We stayed in the original section, and the carpets, paint, paisley wallpaper, bed linen, moldings, furniture, bathroom fixtures etc. need to be refreshed – and soon. The breakfast was ok, but the evening drinks included CHEAP wine and a few beer selections. The same CHEAP light food/snacks were offered every evening: crackers, raw veggies, chips, and salsa. If you’re going to put out such low-end stuff, at least vary it a bit over the course of 9 days. The other issue concerns the pool. The heater is shut off in mid-September, and it was COLD! Lots of guests were commenting that it should be the other way around. Turn off the heater in the warmth of summer, and turn it on come this time of year when it chills down. A money saving decision I guess. The good points include the staff (particularly liked Juan), the Shipwreck Lounge concept and bar staff, the housekeeping services (apart from the long black hair I found in the sink upon check-in), high-quality toiletries, and of course the great location in the middle of it all. I stayed here when Michael M opened the place 20ish years ago (and several more times since then), and it’s a far cry from the luxury establishment it used be. But nonetheless we enjoyed the place in general and would still recommend it. However, I will explore other options for my next visit, something I would not have done in years past. I hope the trio of owners will invest some money to bring the property up to the exceptionally high standard it used to be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoveGrandHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our third visit to Ptown. Normally we stay at the crown pointe inn but we decided to try something new. The brass key was great! A much more relaxed atmosphere and very welcoming. Rick at the front desk was a pleasure to work with as was Juan. Breakfast was very enjoyable and so was the amazing shower in our room. The grounds were very well kept and you can't beat the location. The on site lounge was a great place to meet people. It's a little pricey, but very much worth it. Splurge a little and check it out!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daviddorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is our third time staying at The Brass Key and the second over Labour Day. Its a testament to an establishment that when staying at the same time of the year as previously, most of the same guests were back again, some having stayed every year at the same time for years.

The hotel has a lovely social atmosphere with the various Cape Cod buildings that make up the properties surrounding the pool area.

The rooms are neat and a good size with each having a slightly different theme and feel. The rooms are well maintained during your stay and the hotel is centrally located for all the hot spots of Ptown without being on the main drag, so its fairly peaceful.

The breakfast which is included in the rate is an extended continental breakfast and there is also complimentary wine, beer and snacks in the early evening which is very social.


Across the road from the Brass Key is the Crowne Point forming part of the same company and there is a very good spa with varied treatments available which you can conveniently sign to your room at the Brass Key.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful which is why I am not surprised that there are so many repeat guests, after all, this is a guest house that feels just a bit like home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

great staff throughout the complex - we had bungalow 112 which was on it's own and more private - nice whirlpool bath in it and good bed. Free wine and cheese at 5 every day was good place to meet other guests. The bar at night was also good and the barman looked after us very well. breakfast was enjoyable - i will miss the homemade mini quiches!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenFMeadowbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Located circa 50 meters from the main street with all shops and restaurants. A private parking quite convenient. Warm welcome. Great room with a lot of style. Clean and good service. There is a pool, an outdoor jacuzzi and a spa. Breakfast is served outdoor weather permitting. The hotel is designed like a small village around the pool. Every evening, there is a " apero" offered to all guests including beers and a selection of red and white wines. Pleasant. Now, you are in Provincetown and you will enjoy the place if you are " open minded" and tolerant ( meaning not taking into consideration who is kissing who). Having said that, this hotel is a prime location.

Room Tip: 102.....next to the pool and where the " apero" is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mannecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for sharing. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have been enjoying this inn for years and it is still just about the best place you can stay anywhere. Yes, it may see a little pricey, but it is worth every cent if you plan on enjoying the amenities. The pool is beautiful and a great place to spend the afternoon. The breakfast, wine in the afternoon, cookies, and more all add up to a great way to spend an afternoon. The inn is beautiful and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff is very pleasant and always glad to help you. The location in town is also perfect. Close to everything you want to see. If you are unsure about staying here, don't be. Also, this inn seems to get a very good class of guests.

Room Tip: There probably is not one bad room. Don't worry about a view since the inn is a block away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan46826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you so much we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Great location and a nice property. The rooms can be on the cozy side, but everything that you need is there. Also, the outdoor patio area is private and relaxing. The staff was exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.1 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
688 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
925 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Key Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Key Guesthouse

Address: 67 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1354
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Price Range: £145 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brass Key Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier Provincetown inn, only a minute's walk to all the action on Commercial Street. Our B&B in Provincetown features extraordinary rooms and suites, a gracious staff, spa services, breakfast, wine social & so much more. 9 historically detailed buildings enclose the terraced courtyard, boasting a heated infinity pool, cabana and English garden, that rivals all other Provincetown hotels. Our Cape Cod bed and breakfast now features the new Shipwreck Lounge open for drinks daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Brass Key Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Key Guesthouse Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing