We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“P town delight!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brass Key Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brass Key Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“P town delight!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

First time staying at the brass key. We normally stay at the crown Pointe but decided to go here this time instead. Very clean,classy and comfy. The service and ambiance is above average. From the pool to the hot tub. Shipwreck lounge as we'll. this place is top notch!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hoppyhopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    58
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
10
188
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This property has a good location, just a short walk to commercial street. That is the best thing it has going for it. We booked a room with a king bed and asked for a quiet location. The bed had a worn and broken mattress, causing both of to wake up with backaches after a night of rolling into the depressed center of the mattress. When we made the desk aware, the attendant, Joe, said he would have boards placed under the mattress that day. He did not follow through, but when we raised the issue with the night staff, they took care of it. Nonetheless, at these prices one shouldn't be given a shoddy mattress. The room had a miniscule bathroom, with no place to even put down a shaving kit. It was moderately noisy in the building where our room was located.
The property serves breakfast each day. Each day it is the same fare, including mini-quiches that are returned daily to the chafing dish as no one eats them. Each morning they set out the same broken conveyer toaster that requires you to put your English muffin or bagel through three times. They know it is broken, numerous guests brought it to their attention but they did nothing about it. Simply put, other than Steve, the staff could care less about anything. They don't keep the place up, and clearly do not take any pride in treating guests well. The daily one hour wine and cheese event is cleared immediately at 6 pm, even though there may be many guests still on the patio socializing. If anything runs out in the hour, they don't bother to replace it. When we checked out, Joe, at the desk didn't even ask how the stay was, nor even say thank you after processing our credit card. I've never experienced this before in a hotel or B&B. The property does feature a pool and large hot tub, which most similar places in P-town do not. Those would be enjoyable if you didn't have to repeatedly ask for pool towels, which are quite worn, rather than having them out there, ready for guests. This place needs a makeover and the staff needs to learn how to attend to the guests.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank WanderingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I've stayed here off and on for several years through different owners. It's nice, but ridiculously expensive. You pay for the pool, which is a great amenity. My room was nice, but because of the way the place is laid out, there is a lot of noise. I had requested specifically a quiet room, but it was so close to the breakfast area you could hear the staff setting up at 7:00 a.m. Then the cocktail hour stared at 5 in the same spot, so no disco nap either. I don't know how people who have rooms near the public bar stand the noise until 1 a.m. Other than that, this probably is the nicest place in Ptown with a pool. The crowd is definitely older.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bar area and the breakfast/cocktail area if you are sensitive to noise. I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My daughter and I recently spent 1 night in Provincetown during a week's holiday in Boston. We chose the Brass Key based on reviews and price and how lucky we were. We arrived at 1100am and were immediately shown to our room which was a very pleasant surprise given that it was so early in the day. The whole place is wonderful, the pool, the all day tea and coffee, the cheese and wine reception, the staff. We thoroughly loved our stay,our only disappointment was that it was for only 1 night. Provincetown was great, fab weather, we rented bikes and cycled around the cape, had great food and were so glad we took the time to explore just a tiny portion of Cape Cod. Would love to return to The Brass Key one day - it really is a little bit of heaven here on Earth. Well done to all involved.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WCLADY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The grounds are beautiful, great breakfast, wine n cheese social and very comfortable rooms. We stayed in the poolside cabana complete with whirlpool tub. We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The cabins are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A group of us come back every summer and enjoy a "Camp BK reunion". We love this place! Sure, the breakfasts could be changed up during the week, but we just have a great time! There are 16 of us that book rooms and each year, our accommodations are made comfortable by our hosts! Frankie at the Pool Bar this year was the best! In the heart of Fabulous Provincetown is this oasis that we call home for 8 days in July. We are centrally located to all that we love in town, and never have to use our car once we get here! The owners know us, we know them, and of course the staff is superb. We really can't imagine a summer without Provincetown at the Brass Key! See you all next year!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vervy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago,illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Having stayed several times through the years, The Brass Key does deliver on its best features: location and pool scene. A complex of several small buildings, it hasn't quite retained the small B &B charm it once had, but has morphed pretty well into it's new position. The small bar in the lobby has become a small "scene", with good drinks and good conversation. Rooms are kept immaculately clean, though housekeeping can be less than malleable. Front desk is fine, though an important package being delivered for my partner was held with the wrong room number ( even though the name should have tipped them off). Only after asking a couple of times did they get it right. The bartender during the day's pool is fantastic . And really, there probably isn't a better situated place in all of PTown. It's not cheap...at all. But if you can afford it, it's worth trying out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doggydoc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.2 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.1 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.8 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
20.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Key Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Key Guesthouse

Property: Brass Key Guesthouse
Address: 67 Bradford St., Provincetown, MA 02657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brass Key Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier Provincetown inn, only a minute's walk to all the action on Commercial Street. Our B&B in Provincetown features extraordinary rooms and suites, a gracious staff, spa services, breakfast, wine social & so much more. 9 historically detailed buildings enclose the terraced courtyard, boasting a heated infinity pool, cabana and English garden, that rivals all other Provincetown hotels. Our Cape Cod bed and breakfast now features the new Shipwreck Lounge open for drinks daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brass Key Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Key Guesthouse Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing