We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Experience!!!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The Inn was quaint and comfortable. We found the staff to be friendly. Our room was kept very clean. The breakfast and dinners were delicious!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmoon103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    119
    43
    33
    20
See reviews for
29
419
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Well, with all of the reviews and hype we were really excited about staying here with our dogs....until we arrived and checked into our room. They call themselves a dog friendly hotel, but our dogs were confined to the room only. They were not allowed in the pool area or common areas. We had a direct line from the parking lot to our room (which was located right infront of the sewer vent); of which we caught the odor of on several occasions (not pleasant). The room had not been updated in years, it smelled musty, felt damp and the shower looked like it was from a hospital/institution (it was one solid plastic, tan and gray, unit that was just put in place).
The staff was friendly, which was nice. However, they told us to inform them when we were leaving with the dogs so that they could clean the room. We let them know and were gone for 2 hours, room not cleaned. Then we let them know again and were gone for an hour, room not cleaned. I let them know for the 3rd time (this time there was someone at the front desk checking in while I was complaining). They had someone over in 10 min.....finally!
They offer a complimentary wine and cheese event every evening at 5, great idea!! We went the first evening. We don't drink, so I am not sure about the wine, but they had a nice selection of CA wines and a few nice beers. We had a glass of sparkling water. The 'cheese' however was cheddar and gouda, cut into squares from a 10 pound block (saw them cutting it in the kitchen). Not very good at all.....why not spend a couple of $ and make it an event worthy of the prices the rooms cost. They also had some simple veggies. The continental bfast was great though. Good selection and nice quality.
I wish I could post pictures, because our room did not look like the ones that they have posted on their website.
Needless to say we will not be coming back to this hotel and will not recommend it to anyone we know, not even my great aunt.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
While we are happy to welcome pets we also need to be considerate of guests that do not have pets with them. Our pet friendly room has a large outdoor porch area and direct outside entrance that is perfect for our furry friends. Not allowing pets by the pool is simply to be respectful of our other guests who do not travel with pets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Wow wow wow! I had an incredible time at the Crowne Pointe Inn. The location is incredible -- a short walk from Commercial Street and all the shops, just around the corner from the beach, and next door to a bike rental place where you can rent bikes to take on a trail around the sand dunes. The hotel is pristine yet humble -- everything is so beautifully arranged and maintained, but everything is also very manageable and personable. The guys who run the place are so sweet and helpful, and all the guests are friendly and down to earth. I had a wonderful time and made some lifelong friends in the short time I spent at the Crowne Pointe. Definitely an incredible experience for anybody who wants a fun, relaxing weekend with lots of potential... Plus that spa.... Magnificent!! A+

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwcat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Have stayed in many guest houses in ptown, but never at the Crowne Pointe. Booked 8 nights for vacation and was looking for some relaxation and pampering. We drove 7 hours to arrive in ptown at 4PM - just past check in time. The hotel is situated along a very busy road, however the internal portion of the yard is private. We were taken to our room and were immediately disappointed. It contained a king bed, as we booked the pamper me three times option, however the bed seemed oversized for the room. The main issue however was the room overlooked the highway. The last thing we wanted was to wake up with the view of trucks. We also enjoy sleeping with the windows open as the fresh ptown air is great – and even though the road gets quiet at night in the morning traffic builds up.

We went down to the desk and said we wanted to be moved. The gentleman at the desk was accommodating and started to look for options. I knew this was the very busy season so we expected we would need to be flexible (move rooms during our stay or opt for a non-king bed for example). As the staff was looking on the PC, the person who checked us in interrupted and aggressively said "we are fully booked for the week". I asked if they can accommodate us - and he assertively repeated "we are fully booked". This was not the reception we wanted after a long drive. We returned to the room and unpacked, the room was fine except some small complaints. It was very sloped, a little beyond charming, and WiFi didn't work. After we settled in I went to the lobby to use my PC and found that during the week many rooms were available. They did have vacancy and were not "fully booked". This was frustrating, but we decided to make the best of it and relax.

We had a nice time as we have friends in ptown, however we didn't end up using the property much. The pool is not big enough for the number of people, we always saw the same people lounging in the pool and it was to small to squeeze in. The deck area is just ok, other hotels have nicer environments. I added some photos so you can see what to expect. We also tried to sleep with the open windows but early in the morning it was very noisy and we had to use the air conditioning.

We will not stay here any longer and for the price I would choose other options. I know this is run by the same people at the Brass Key, which we enjoy. It just puzzles me why it is not run with the same level of service and amenities.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jmcnyc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

So the staff at this hotel is great. And the grounds are pretty, except for the bath-tub-size pool. But if you travel with dogs, you are required to stay in what I am sure is the worst room in the place, Room 201, which smells like mold, is adjacent to the parking lot (because dogs are not actually allowed on the property, and, instead, are allowed only in this one room), and looks Iike it has not been updated since 1984. Also, the bathroom is super institutional-looking. The furniture was constantly damp and mildew-ey. And the cherry: a sewer vent is in front of the room, so you occasionally smell poop.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
Room 201 is our Pet Friendly room. It has direct access to the outside areas of the property, perfect for our pet guests. Crowne Pointe loves pets, however we also need to respect the needs of our other guests who do not wish to be around them. Room 201 is the best of both worlds, its a lovely guest accommodation for those with pets that does not interfere with the experience of our guest who do not have pets with them. Any guests staying with us with pets are informed of the pet policy well in advance of their stay so they understand that the pet must be in the room or on the porch of the room or in the outside areas around the Inn. The guest who wrote this review was upset with the fact that their pet could not be by/in the pool with them during the day. We have had hundreds and hundreds of people stay in the room with no complaints. If you are concerned about our pet friendly room please ask us for more information about it, we would be happy to share it with you and we are sure you would be happy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

There are several great things about this hotel. It sits on top of a hill, is a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, yet an easy walk to the water, and from the outside is a cute collection of smaller buildings. The front desk staff was excellent-friendly and personable. I was also impressed with the cleanliness of our room. The bathroom was spotless. They provide free wine and cheese for an hour every afternoon.

We stayed in a garden room, and one of the drawbacks is it was very dark. You couldn't relax in your room without having to turn on several lights since all the bulbs seemed very low watt. We ended up nicknaming our room 'the crypt'. The AC is one of those window units that makes a racket. The fixtures in the bathroom reminded me of something in professional kitchen...didn't really match the 'decor' which is also a bit dated.

No one offers to help you with your bags when you check in, and there is a series of steps throughout the property...so you have to lug them up and down multiple times.

They market the rooms as being 'pampering' however I didn't feel pampered staying here. For the rate of the hotel I expected much more. For example, the first day there were chocolates on the pillow. In most nice hotels, they will be left every day after the room is made. We only received them the first day. When we had dinner at the hotel they only brought one chocolate with the bill. Two people...one treat? I know it's small...but it's the little things that make a big difference.It just seems cheap.

They include breakfast and adversite that the chef makes something delicious every day. That's true...however there are two choices and if you don't like either of them...then you are left to bread, melted cream cheese and dealing with an overheated industrial toaster. One morning there was a choice between a quiche with ham and a ham omlette (I don't eat meat) I asked if I could just have 2 fried eggs. Mind you...I could see the frying pan and the eggs, but he said "no" - only what's on the dry erase board. Needless to say I didn't feel like my experience as a guest was their priority. If I was at the Greenbrier in WV, the Ritz in DC or the Baccarra in CA (comparable rates) they would have served me eggs with garnish and asked if I needed anything else.

All of these 'little things' added up to an overall negative experience that made us feel we wasted our time, money and vacation on the days spent at this location.

If you are handicapped I wouldn't recommend trying to stay here if you use a wheelchair. The handicapped ramp was steep just for walking, and the parking lot is gravel. If you reserve a room here also carefully read their cancellation policy. It's incredibly restrictive.

Overall, there were some positives, but I would never recommend anyone stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvaHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
All of our rooms include only the highest standards of linens and finishes. Our staff strives to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests when reasonable. The wine and cheese as well as hot breakfast are complimentary with each guest say. Providing these items complimentary is extreemly costly. We attempt to keep the rates as reasonable as possible by keeping costs as low as possible. Providing a "cook to order / complimentary breakfast" would require adjusments to rates. We would rather keep rates as reasonable as possible and offer a high standard, limited number of hot entree's each day that each of our guests can enjoy at no addiitonal costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed 2 nights and already look forward to our next stay. The welome you feel from every member of the staff really sets the tone and spreads to the guests. The inn and grounds are beautiful and immaculate, but they have maintained a feeling of comfort. There are places everywhere (porches, the gardens, etc) to enjoy a book or have a little nap or daydream. But little social spots as well like the wine & cheese served each afternoon by the pool. The food was beyond excellent. And the members of the staff make you feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneKinishkelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
20.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
909 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.8 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa

Property: Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Address: 82 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1369
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our historic 4 Diamond inn in Provincetown, steps to shops, restaurants, galleries, and the beach. A couple of blocks away from world famous whale watching. Our inspired Provincetown lodging includes 40 rooms in 6 historic buildings enveloping a beautiful pool courtyard. Enjoy unforgettable massages and treatments at our award-winning spa or enjoy amazing cuisine at our romantic Pointe Restaurant at our Provincetown hotel. Experience luxurious rooms and suites with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private decks, and wonderful views that rival all other hotels in Provincetown, MA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Pointe Historic Hotel Provincetown
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn And Spa
Crowne Pointe Historic Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing