We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The PTown Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of John Randall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John Randall House
Ranked #24 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The PTown Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

After staying at the John Randell House I have found a new place to call home. Love the energy of the place and the people who keep it running. I felt as if I was back in the South and all my friends came to visit. Who know the hometown feeling came so far North. Can't wait to get back !!!

Thank you all,
Cornell M.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    30
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
65
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Had a wonderful time for the Halloween Weekend. A very homey atmossphere and wondeful morning breakfast with homemade goodies! Its close enough to the main part of town and an easy walk home in the afternoon or evening. The room was comfortable and cozy as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We loved the John Randall House. My mother and I stayed here for Columbus Day weekend. They let us check in and check out late and were accommodating to all our needs - even a greatly needed bottle of red! Breakfast is in the sun room/porch area. It was nice to have them to talk to and get advice for local resturants and activities. These people are very kind. It's so much nicer than staying at a hotel where you don't feel at home. Its a beautiful old home with rooms that are warmly furnished. I'd come back here, again and again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren county
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Lovely home near the center of town. Close to everything and only 1 block from Commercial St.
I was up for the Tennessee Williams Festival and being in the center of all the venues was very helpful! Definitely coming back! Thanks.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mrl369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

The John Randall House offers a sense of home away from home. From the comy wrap around porch, where you can people watch, while having your morning cup of coffee, to curlying up in front of a fire, feeling cozy, after a long evening on the town, it is a wonderful place, where you can feel like you are in the middle of it all, or be away from it all in a beautiful room with a view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor, are quiet & sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I just returned from a one night stay the JRH and we had a lovely visit. The rooms are small as advertised but spotless and nicely decorated. We had a private bath,again small but very adequate. It was close to downtown which was very convenient. The best part of our trip was our dashingly handsome(as he would like to be remembered:)host Bob. We had just gotten off the first fast ferry from Boston after a particularly rough crossing and it was such a relief to be able to check in early and put our heads on a pillow for an hour before we headed out for the day. When Bob learned we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary, he made some great suggestions for dinner and made a reservation for us too. We took his suggestion and meandered down the West End and out to the breakwater. Continental breakfast fare that was adequate. Hot entree was breakfast pizza which was terrific.
The other great thing was we were only able to get away for one night and many establishments require 2 night minimums even after Labor day. Thankfully the JRH is amenable to one night weekend stays after Labor day. I would definitely return and recommend the JRH!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lisac1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

The location is great, right next to the heart of the town. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. And the price couldn't be beat! We certainly enjoyed the charm associated with this little bed and breakfast type arrangement.

The morning breakfast was great too!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#10 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Albert Guest House
Prince Albert Guest House
#14 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lotus Guest House
Lotus Guest House
#29 of 62 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#11 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eben House
Eben House
#15 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Randall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Randall House

Property: John Randall House
Address: 140 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — John Randall House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the thick of downtown Provincetown, just one block off Commercial Street, The John Randall House delivers a boutique experience in the heart of Cape Cod. Part art gallery, part bed and breakfast, this Victorian-style inn features contemporary paintings by local and national artists alongside stylish furnishings. What really sets this hilltop inn apart is its newly installed outdoor deck with views of the tallest all-granite structure in the United States, the Provincetown Monument, which commemorates the history of the Mayflower Pilgrims. Each of the ten rooms is equipped with a queen bed, cable TV, a refrigerator, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Stroll down to the veranda in the morning for a continental breakfast of homemade baked goods, fresh seasonal fruit, hot and cold cereals, milk, and juices. (Twice a week, guests are treated to made-to-order waffles.) Once you've eaten your fill, head out to see Provincetown's finest features-what Lonely Planet describes as "untamed coastline and vast beaches" begging to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your John Randall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing