We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of John Randall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John Randall House
Ranked #25 of 63 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed here for a quiet long weekend to relax. The artistic decor throughout the house is amazing; the pictures really don't do it justice. I stayed on the 2nd floor in a room with a shared bathroom and it was perfect. There were plenty of extra towels / soap / shampoo in the bathroom. The room was clean, comfortable, had a mini fridge and comfy bed. The porch was lovely too! I wish I had more time to take advantage of it. Breakfast is a normal continental spread, but I took advantage of the various cafes in Provincetown.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayseeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    30
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
65
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at this B&B on a nice weekend in September and found the place just what I was looking for. The house is well decorated with lovely African-inspired art and my room was charming and clean. I shared the well done bathroom with one other woman whom I never actually saw. The owners are very low key and unobtrusive; I liked that but it might be a potential minus if you need a lot of handholding (John the owner did provide me a good tip on dinner, bike shop, the tower etc though). The location was great, just one block away from the action on commercial street. My only negative comment was that it would have been a nice touch to have coffee for early risers as the continental breakfast isnt served til 8:30am. Also, for such a nice inn with all the artistic decor, I was thinking the breakfast would have been a little more inspired/creative.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanfromSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Good value for the money, great location in walking distance to food, shopping and all the action.
The room was on the 3rd floor - rather small but comfortable. No AC but ventilated enough with the window. Fans are available but we did not need them. Other floors have AC units. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yefim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Enjoyed my stay here. My room was on the top floor and luckily it was not hot for my visit. I had two fans and a shared bath with just one other guest on that floor which was great. I loved the view out the bathroom window to the back of Provincetown beyond, it was beautiful. The house was clean, well organized with some nice comfortable touches to the decor. I loved the old wooden staircase and original details to the house. Parking was very easy too, they have plenty of spaces for cars out back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endicott5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

John Randall House is more than meets the eye - especially if you are booking your reservation from looking at the website.

First of all, the pictures of the rooms don't do them justice (they should really invest in better photos). I had booked a room on the second floor, but upon check in, was told that I was being placed in a larger room on the first floor. I had no problems with that. The room was spacious - definitely not claustrophobic like many b&b's can seem. Traditional furnishings - 4 poster bed, sitting chair, large scale modern artwork on the wall that somehow didn't seem out of place hung on the Federalist Blue wall, modest bureau, decent sized closet that also had a fridge

The bathroom was large and well lit, but could definitely use an update. The toilet is new - one of the more efficient ones - and there was a ledge above the vanity that ran the length of the large mirror on the wall which easily held my mess of toiletries. The shower had a rain shower head in it, which I found lovely but definitely didn't have the water pressure some people might be accustomed to. There was also a second bureau in the bathroom. The hairdryer looked like it was from 1989 - but still did the trick.

The common spaces were comfortable - particularly the large porch that had plenty of comfortable seating.

There were plenty of channels on the TV and WiFi was reliable.

Breakfast was standard continental fair.

Location is great - there are two fantastic local markets and a Tedeschi's within a stone's throw. It is within just a couple blocks of the center of town.

Parking was easy. I drive a large conversion van which has been an issue in the past parking at Provincetown inns, but wasn't an issue on this visit. Don was gracious enough to allow me to keep the van parked on my check out day so I could enjoy the beach.

I would stay here again, and I would recommend John Randall House to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansoleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Dropped by for a quick visit during the Girls' Splash Absolute Vodka Stroll, and the hosts put on an amazing spread of food, and great hospitality. I'm certain they are equally great with their inn guests!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zacatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was my second stay at John Randall House. Don and Tim are wonderful hosts and once again made me feel very welcome. This B&B is in a great location near the wharf and Commercial Street. You can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carritos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#12 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Albert Guest House
Prince Albert Guest House
#14 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lotus Guest House
Lotus Guest House
#29 of 63 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#15 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eben House
Eben House
#17 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Randall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Randall House

Property: John Randall House
Address: 140 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — John Randall House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the thick of downtown Provincetown, just one block off Commercial Street, The John Randall House delivers a boutique experience in the heart of Cape Cod. Part art gallery, part bed and breakfast, this Victorian-style inn features contemporary paintings by local and national artists alongside stylish furnishings. What really sets this hilltop inn apart is its newly installed outdoor deck with views of the tallest all-granite structure in the United States, the Provincetown Monument, which commemorates the history of the Mayflower Pilgrims. Each of the ten rooms is equipped with a queen bed, cable TV, a refrigerator, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Stroll down to the veranda in the morning for a continental breakfast of homemade baked goods, fresh seasonal fruit, hot and cold cereals, milk, and juices. (Twice a week, guests are treated to made-to-order waffles.) Once you've eaten your fill, head out to see Provincetown's finest features-what Lonely Planet describes as "untamed coastline and vast beaches" begging to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your John Randall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing