We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in the center of P'town”
Review of John Randall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John Randall House
Ranked #24 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the center of P'town”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Small but clean room with private bath, nice sitting area with music on front porch, interesting artwork in the common areas, and a bulls-eye location in Provincetown. While there's no pool, fitness area, or similar high-end amenities, John Randall House is a value-oriented alternative for those who can live without. Honor-system fridge ($0.50) with bottled water, soda, etc., and free beach towels. Walking distance to town beach, and virtually everything else in town. Don, Jeff, and the entire staff are wonderful. Nice selection of cereal, fruit, pastries, and yogurt for breakfast. Natural (i.e. expensive) food/sundries market across the street, but a less pricey alternative one block in the other direction. Would definitely recommend JR House!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 (first floor), 7 and 8 (second floor), are at the front of the building, and therefore get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdprov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    30
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
65
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great location; great breakfast; great towels; great staff! They were also hospitable in another way: My ferry to Boston, for my return flight to Los Angeles, wasn't until 4:00 and since they didn't have an immediate guest for my room, they let me come back for a pre-trip nap extending the check out time of 11:00. This was very kind and made my trip especially easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Randall H, Owner at John Randall House, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review! We hope you made it home safely and when your next in Provincetown will visit us. Tim says thanks for the kudos regarding the breakfast, he does a fantastic job making sure that he reviews the guests needs before preparing the baked goods for the morning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I only spent one night at the John Randell house and it was enough to make us want to go back for a much needed longer stay. The owners are really nice and welcoming. We stayed in room #2, it was a good size room with a private bath. It also had a small sitting area, fridge, tv, everything that you would need. The house was pleasantly decorated with paintings and little cute trinkets the porch was very inviting we ate breakfast on it. The most important thing that everything was very very clean. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have private baths. I wish they had shades instead of blinds. Our room was in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orien499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Randall H, Owner at John Randall House, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks so much for calling us "The cutest B&B"! Over the past two years we have made an effort to redecorate the house so that every guest feels at home and comfortable. We are so excited to be able to display our art collection and trinkets we have picked up over the years from many places! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I had some business to attend in Provincetown and decided to make a weekend out of it with our friends. This place felt like home. The owner, the staff were incredible. We couldn't have asked for better service. The scones and cakes were homemade and absolutely delicious. The convenience to downtown was great. We were able to walk everywhere. If your looking for the clean, friendly and wonderful place to stay.. Look no further. This is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Randall H, Owner at John Randall House, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
It has taken a few tries, but we finally have two co-workers on staff that love the house as much as we do. Patrick is amazing when it comes to detailed cleaning (if the purchase of all new sheets and pillows after 1 year of use is any indication) and Juan has been invaluable when it comes to turning the grounds into a ever blooming and growing oasis! There is more to come on both fronts and we hope you visit again to see and experience them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The art in the B&B is both stimulating and soothing at the same time and the staff and owners were very friendly and extremely accommodating. The house is in an excellent location to quickly enjoy downtown or take a few minutes and you have the breathtaking view of the dunes. I highly recommend the John Randall House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked this through Living Social. although the discount rate had expired, the staff was good about honoring the payment we'd made, as well as the fruit baskets per room. Decor was superb, as was staff. Very quiet. Rooms were nicely appointed. Our friends ended up in the pet-friendly room, which smelled like dog. Continental breakfast was nice. Veey conveniently located near Commercial Street and across from a natural food market. I would return, but not to Room 3.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed here for a quiet long weekend to relax. The artistic decor throughout the house is amazing; the pictures really don't do it justice. I stayed on the 2nd floor in a room with a shared bathroom and it was perfect. There were plenty of extra towels / soap / shampoo in the bathroom. The room was clean, comfortable, had a mini fridge and comfy bed. The porch was lovely too! I wish I had more time to take advantage of it. Breakfast is a normal continental spread, but I took advantage of the various cafes in Provincetown.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayseeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#12 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Albert Guest House
Prince Albert Guest House
#13 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lotus Guest House
Lotus Guest House
#27 of 62 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#11 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eben House
Eben House
#15 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Randall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Randall House

Property: John Randall House
Address: 140 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — John Randall House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the thick of downtown Provincetown, just one block off Commercial Street, The John Randall House delivers a boutique experience in the heart of Cape Cod. Part art gallery, part bed and breakfast, this Victorian-style inn features contemporary paintings by local and national artists alongside stylish furnishings. What really sets this hilltop inn apart is its newly installed outdoor deck with views of the tallest all-granite structure in the United States, the Provincetown Monument, which commemorates the history of the Mayflower Pilgrims. Each of the ten rooms is equipped with a queen bed, cable TV, a refrigerator, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Stroll down to the veranda in the morning for a continental breakfast of homemade baked goods, fresh seasonal fruit, hot and cold cereals, milk, and juices. (Twice a week, guests are treated to made-to-order waffles.) Once you've eaten your fill, head out to see Provincetown's finest features-what Lonely Planet describes as "untamed coastline and vast beaches" begging to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your John Randall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing