We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Charm”
Review of John Randall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John Randall House
Ranked #22 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Location and Charm”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

So many great aspects. Location is probably #1. On Bradford, but one block from the top of the MacMillan pier. Only a few minutes walk from the galleries of the East End or all the fun heading west on Commercial. The home is beautifully decorated with a truly eclectic collection of art. The enclosed front porch is a nice place to have a snack, a read or to have breakfast. Breakfast is continental plus, including proteins, like eggs and yogurt, in addition to a variety of pastries. Then there are the rooms. I checked into Room 10 for my first night. It is on the third (top) floor with a shared bath and no air conditioning. It included a large box fan which cooled the room nicely. I would say this room is best for 1 person, given its size, but it is fine for a couple if you don’t plan on using for more than changing and sleeping. I then moved to room 5 on the second floor which also has a shared bath, but includes a window unit air condition. This room is next to the bathroom, which had me a little worried about noise, but with the ceiling fan and air conditioning on, you couldn’t hear anything. This room is definitely big enough for two and the related luggage you probably will have. Beds in both rooms were very comfortable and I didn’t have any trouble sleeping, which is uncommon for me. Now, on to the shared bathrooms. Both were very clean and it was only an issue getting access one time in my four and a half day stay. And when it was, I just went to the third floor shared bath. Towels are ample. Parking is provided, although limited. It is a short walk to get from the parking, which is in the back of the property, on another street to the entrance of the B&B. The owners were flexible about booking different rooms and were responsive to any questions and issues. In summary, this is an excellent place to use as base camp for Provincetown – whether it is to just explore or for one of the theme weeks so common throughout the summer.

Room Tip: From what I can tell, all are good. I would probably avoid rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keninCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Owner at John Randall House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review! The points you made about the artwork, bathrooms, parking and continental breakfast were all aspects which our team has worked diligently on for the last few years. It is nice to see that it is noticed. I will be sure to make sure the staff gets a copy of this review to see that their hard work is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    32
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
68
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I love this Inn, the owners are lovely, the house is unique. The rooms are clean and cozy, nice mattresses and linen. Walking distance to everything and parking is included. Very nice continental breakfast. This was my second stay and plan to return next summer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ampjc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Came here with a LivingSocial voucher, stayed for just one night. Very hospitable staff, great breakfast, nice room. We appreciated the accommodation of early check-in and allowing us to park for several hours past our check-out time while we went on a whale watch and had lunch after. We hope to be back next summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank PVDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had the room #1, which included the full provate bathroom, and it was great! The place is clean, decorated with taste, the staff is friendly and accomodating. This place is only a block away from Commercial St, where all the action takes place, and is very easy to come back if you need to. We liked it a lot and recommend it for anyone who wishes to spend some good time near downtown Ptown!

Room Tip: Room #1 on the first floor has full private bathroom. But if you wish to stay away from the patio a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Enjoyed the larger room with private bath. Nice porch to sit on and the staff are all very nice and helpful. There continental breakfast included hard boiled eggs also so my friend, on a special diet, was able to have a full meal! Location is excellent! Love staying here. Very peaceful in June. Deal also included a bottle of wine which was very good. I was able to stroll along the streets of Ptown and stop in anytime due to it's location.

Room Tip: I like the private baths. One on first floor is bigger and bath is very large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I booked this B&B through a Living Social Voucher. I could not have been happier, or better taken care of. All my questions were answered, in regard, to restaurants, beaches, antique and consignment shops, etc. I stayed in Room #1. HUGE room and a gigantic bathroom. Everything was spotless, clean and crisp. The continental breakfast was fresh and delicious. The fridge is larger than mini, the towels and sheets of a high quality and the Inn itself is well appointed. Tim, Don, and Juan (the only three I really interacted with) were sweet, funny, welcoming and great hosts. I am absolutely coming back this Summer with or without another voucher. Don't miss this P town gem. Room #1 is directly across from where the owners prepare breakfast, so you will hear a bit of rattling from the private door being open and closed in the morning, but nothing to complain about. I only mention it, in case you are someone who is a very light sleeper. Even without a voucher, the price is right. The hustle and bustle of town is only a 2 minute walk away. I loved it here.

Room Tip: Room #1 is HUGE as well as the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceyjean1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Small but clean room with private bath, nice sitting area with music on front porch, interesting artwork in the common areas, and a bulls-eye location in Provincetown. While there's no pool, fitness area, or similar high-end amenities, John Randall House is a value-oriented alternative for those who can live without. Honor-system fridge ($0.50) with bottled water, soda, etc., and free beach towels. Walking distance to town beach, and virtually everything else in town. Don, Jeff, and the entire staff are wonderful. Nice selection of cereal, fruit, pastries, and yogurt for breakfast. Natural (i.e. expensive) food/sundries market across the street, but a less pricey alternative one block in the other direction. Would definitely recommend JR House!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 (first floor), 7 and 8 (second floor), are at the front of the building, and therefore get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdprov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#11 of 62 in Provincetown
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#9 of 62 in Provincetown
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lotus Guest House
Lotus Guest House
#25 of 62 in Provincetown
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Albert Guest House
Prince Albert Guest House
#13 of 62 in Provincetown
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tucker Inn
Tucker Inn
#36 of 62 in Provincetown
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Randall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Randall House

Property: John Randall House
Address: 140 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — John Randall House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the thick of downtown Provincetown, just one block off Commercial Street, The John Randall House delivers a boutique experience in the heart of Cape Cod. Part art gallery, part bed and breakfast, this Victorian-style inn features contemporary paintings by local and national artists alongside stylish furnishings. What really sets this hilltop inn apart is its newly installed outdoor deck with views of the tallest all-granite structure in the United States, the Provincetown Monument, which commemorates the history of the Mayflower Pilgrims. Each of the ten rooms is equipped with a queen bed, cable TV, a refrigerator, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Stroll down to the veranda in the morning for a continental breakfast of homemade baked goods, fresh seasonal fruit, hot and cold cereals, milk, and juices. ( Once you've eaten your fill, head out to see Provincetown's finest features-what Lonely Planet describes as "untamed coastline and vast beaches" begging to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your John Randall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing