We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great accomadations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great accomadations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I have stayed at this property for many years when it was the Cape Inn. It has been updated very nicely with sleek design furniture, great bedding(very comfortable pillows. slept like a baby ). The price was very reasonable and included a continental breakfast. Our room was very clean, and had luxurious towels. The cement flooring left something to be desired , but i am sure it provided easier cleaning with so much sand coming into the rooms. We noticed our toilet seat was very loose and the problem was corrected the next day. Our phone did not work the entire time we were there and only got corrected the day we were checking out. Overall, the room , staff, food and rates were very convenient, and helpful. The shuttle to town stops directly in front of the lobby parkin lot. very convenient. The changes that were done make the hotel a much cherrier and brighter place. I will defintiely come back next year.

Room Tip: If you are looking to be whirled away with amenities , then look somewhere else, however if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mchughbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
We’re thrilled to welcome any former guests of the Cape Inn and hope that our efforts to make the Harbor Hotel Provincetown a welcome retreat continue to impress. Thank you for reaching out to us the moment there were potential issues in your guest room, as it was our pleasure to quickly remedy those within our control. You are correct, our location by the beach make cement floors the most efficient for cleanliness and maintenance. Thank you for your review and we’re already looking forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    280
    153
    51
    43
See reviews for
248
319
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I have stayed at this property many times under it's former names. This property has been run down for the last 10 years. Once a former Holiday Inn, it lost its "flag" due to poor standards and became the Cape View Inn, which offered even lower standards.

The new owners have done a wonderful update to the property. Upon entering the lobby it looks clean, fresh and inviting. The lobby is very open and offers many seating options for socialization.

The outside appearance is clean. It's a motor hotel style facility where you can pull up directly to some rooms on the outside. The property is directly across from Cape Cod bay and there is public transportation in front of the hotel which, for $2.00, will take you 10 minutes into downtown Provincetown. This is a great benefit as parking in Provincetown is expensive and hard to find in the summer. The bus runs every 30 minutes till midnight. In the front, next to the main entrance they have created a small beach type of area with wooden style beach chairs and a gas fire pit. This was a most popular area in the early evening for guest as you could sit by the fire and also have cocktail service.

The rooms are all updated, not renovated, but just updated. Fresh paint, new furnishings, new lighting, flat screen TV's etc... Still I was shocked to see the old 1980's window Heater & A/C units. They are very ugly and noisy, especially when the A/C condenser kicks in at 2:00 AM! The tub/shower and tile are all old and from what appears to be the original Holiday Inn. Very, very unattractive with mold and dirt. Not inviting. The new shower curtain was pulled closed to hid it till I discovered it in the late evening when going to shower. The walls are not insulated between rooms as I heard my neighbors arguing and got "every word" of their conversation. The floors are not carpeted. They are a cement painted style. It looks nice, and I guess is in line with the beach feeling they are trying to present, but it does look "cold" upon entering. There was a refrigerator in the room, but it was not level and seemed to never be cold, just cool. The bathroom linens are wonderful. Very thick towels. The bathroom amenities, soaps and shampoos are also excellent! The room was clean as were all the linens. This was the most important thing to me.

The door to the room is not square and does not afford a safety chain. So I had to constantly push and pull the door to ensure it was closed tightly. While there is an updated key card reader for locking the door, there still should be a safety chain. Also my room did not have a peep hole.

There is an outdoor pool and bar. It was ok, but nothing special to mention. It's ok if you have a family and just want a pool for the kids. Most of the grass area was not being watered and was brown.

The continental breakfast was served in the lobby. It was very basic, which is all one needs. Cold cereals, some bagels, muffins etc... however... I was not impressed with the employees working in this part of the hotel. I was horrified to witnessed one member of the staff reach into the fruit bowl and take a piece of fruit with her bare hands and put it into her mouth! Needless to say I did not have any fruit as she was, moments before, wiping tables with a rag and some cleaner and was not wearing gloves. So she contaminated all the contents of the fruit bowl!

I was very disappointed to see this property using plastic, throw-a-way plates, cups and silverware. This area is known for being sensitive to the environment and here tons of waste is being produced needlessly. I am sure they have commercial dish washers and real plates, cups etc...should be provided. Even more disturbing was there was no recycling program for the plastic items, everything was being thrown in the garbage. When I asked at the front desk about a recycling program, they looked at me like I was crazy.

The price of my room, $212.00 a night, I felt was a bit steep for being several miles out of downtown Provincetown. Also when charging this amount of money, even for a seasonal resort town, I expect certain things like real dishes, silverware and name brand items such as Starbucks Coffee etc.... not what they were serving, which was not too good! The following night I was literally in the center of town and paid $160.00 and it included a cooked breakfast. They have made a good attempt at updating this property but more attention to details are needed. However again, I want to point out that the room was clean. I would only stay here again, if nothing else in town is available. (hopefully by then they will have conducted a sanitation course for the breakfast bar employees!)

Room Tip: This is a motor hotel style property. If you have a room in the courtyard, you will have a lot of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to go into such detail about your recent stay at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. While it seems that there were many areas of your stay that were enjoyable, we are disappointed to learn that certain aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations. Along with our recent and ongoing renovations, we are continually seeking ways to improve our guest’s experiences, so your suggestions and helpful descriptions are truly appreciated. We will absolutely re-emphasize with our staff the necessity of utmost care and concern when it comes to cleanliness and food service. Thank you again, for your attention to detail and for reaching out to us after your stay. We would hope to be able to regain your confidence and welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My partner & I spent an amazing time @ the Harbor Hotel in Provincetown, MA. First the prices for the rooms left us concerned about the quality of the room. However, the rooms were sleek, modern and clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and the pillows were like little clouds.

We were concerned about the bathroom which could've been cleaner as there was something gross on the wall which seemed to be never noticed by the housekeeping staff. But, we also did not mention out concern regarding the bathroom. However, when there was a problem with our toilet the problem was resolved before we came back from a day of shopping.

The main thing we were so impressed by was the good natured staff. Everyone from the housekeeping team, front desk and maintenance was EXTREMELY FRIENDLY. There were so man "hello's", "good nights", "is there anything I can help you with" throughout the weekend!

Would I recommend this place to someone else. The answer is I absolutely would!

Great stay that exceeded our expectation!!!

Room Tip: Cleaner Bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
It’s a pleasure to learn how much you enjoyed your time here at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. Your kind words about our staff have been shared with each and every one of them and we know it made their day! We do regret to see that your bathroom was not as you expected and we have enlisted our Housekeeping Manager to find a solution to this problem. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

For the second year in a row we spent a weekend at the Harbor Hotel. The rooms have been updated with modern linen furnishings and bright colors. The bathrooms are a bit dated, but I look at this place as somewhere clean and fun that you can be comfortable while not on the beach or enjoying a good time in town. They have a firepit with ample seating so that you can enjoy a low key evening if you so choose. The pool is large and they have a cabana bar at the pool - which makes life grand!

Have a dog? They are pet friendly, which is great because P-town is such a dog loving town. Bring Fido along for the trip!

They provide your standard cable and mini-fridge in the room. There is also a complimentary breakfast. The staff is super nice - we highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner of a building. Downstairs is good, but if you have to get upstairs make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisetodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
It’s wonderful to hear that your second stay with us so enjoyable! We hope this experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown is one of many to come. Thank you so much for your kind recommendation and for mentioning so many of the amenities that make our hotel so enjoyable. Your positive comments are truly appreciated and we’re already looking forward to next year when we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Harbor Hotel is cute, colorful and recently refurbished. But do not expect luxury - this is a clean, basic motel. The rooms, while comfortable, had a certain Ikea feel to them. Sparse, basic, but very clean. Design throughout is bright but lacking in refinement. Many areas seemed incomplete.

Upon checking in we were given our key only to go in an already occupied room with an unkempt bed. Very strange as this was the second time this happened on out trip at 2 separate hotels!

Harbor Hotel is far removed from Provincetown center but parking in PTown is a nightmare so use of the Hotel's bikes or expect a 30 minute walk.

Decent sized pool area. Would have liked towel service and a bit more 'ambiance'. Perhaps some music or a better bar menu?

The rates can sometimes top off at 250+ on weekends and for us, there is no way to justify that pricing. This is however, one of your only options should you find yourslf in PTown and not into frilly b&b's. Continental breakfast is however included in the rate: cereal, toast, pastries, fruit salad, juices and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genevieve1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown with us. Being removed from the hustle and bustle of downtown Provincetown is something that many of our guests appreciate and come to us in order to have a quieter location. One of the amenities available to our guests is the convenient shuttle that picks you up right in front of our hotel every half hour, from 7 AM to Midnight during the summer season, and we also appreciate you mentioning our complimentary bikes. We do hope to be able to welcome you back for another stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

As other reviewers noted, this isn't the Four Seasons, etc. THANKFULLY! I love that they have retained the 60's feel throughout. WiFi in the lobby only? Well, aside from having some work to attend to, not an issue at all! Who comes to Provincetown to sit around and check Facebook anyway? I had a gallery opening up the street, so my daughter, her friend and I shared a comfy, clean room overlooking the pool. A very short drive to P'town center, or just chill in the shaded outdoor lounging area, by the pool, or by the wonderful fire pit in the evening. Will be back!

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool & its busy bar. Bar closes at 5, so it had quieted down by early evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Congratulations on your gallery opening and thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We’re very pleased to hear that you and your daughter will be returning and we appreciate you mentioning our wonderful fire pit area. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

My wife and daughter spent 3 lovely days and nights at the Harbor Hotel. The staff were excellent, could not do enough (Esp Chris) and we really enjoyed ourselves. Some of the other reviews have pointed out that this was a former "old style Motel" but not any more. Considerable effort has clearly taken place to make this a great place to stay at the quiet end of the town. It is only a 15 min walk into the centre of things in Provincetown and the bus stops right outside running to and from the centre every 30 mins. The beach is very accessible and the rooms clean and bright with good beds and bedding. Aircon was a little "industrial" and there was not much variation in the breakfast. Definitely a place we'd both return to and recommend!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach are a little noisier if you like to sleep in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to contribute such a fantastic review and for entrusting the care of your family to the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We sincerely appreciate learning that you enjoyed the wonderful service provided by our staff and have noticed our ongoing efforts to make our hotel a relaxing retreat. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back for another exceptional stay in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
20.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.7 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#7 of 14 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Property: Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Address: 698 Commercial St, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657-1761 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.5 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing