We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was married at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I were married at the Harbor Hotel on Oct. 13, 2012. Our ceremony and reception were on-site. It was a fantastic weekend, and I was extremely pleased.

Pros -

The redesign is very cool. Funky furniture, fixtures, and colors combined with Cape Cod-like beach touches, yet somehow it doesn't clash.

The food is excellent in the Harbor Lounge. There were two wedding components my husband and I were fixated on - the DJ and the food. Both turned out wonderfully.

The rooms are comfortable, and bright. Personally, I like it when the sink is outside the bathroom. Convenient! We had a suite, so the living room area was nicely decorated and comfy.

Location. You're about a mile from the heart of Commercial Street. So you're not stuck in a noisy buzz but you're close enough to walk or pedi-cab (or drive) to where the action is.

The Harbor Lounge. It transforms into a quiet restaurant/cocktail lounge into a rollickin' bar scene on weekend nights. The hubby and I went to bed early the night before the wedding but most of my family (most of the guests stayed at the hotel with us) stayed up all night partying and dancing to the live band.

Price. Compared to other places in P-Town (not including the Boatslip), it's a bit cheaper to stay at. Although, it's growing in popularity so who knows where the rates are headed.

The management. Don Avigne was our wedding planner and he also runs the place. He was EXCELLENT. The dude bent over backwards to accommodate us. From making sure that babysitters received FREE meals in their rooms during the reception to dealing with my husband (who can be rough when it comes to spending a ton of money and getting exactly what he wants), Don was amazing.

This is the real world, so there are some cons:

The staff. Not everyone! But we endured more than a few staff members at the front desk who were either A) unnecessarily cranky to us and our guests and B) a little...flaky? There were a couple of communication issues with the staff when it came to pricing and special rates. We totally understand it's a new facility with the remodel and everyone's learning as they go, but occasionally our confidence was tested. We also understand that a couple getting married tend to be trying. But we also heard from guests AFTER the wedding about cranky front desk people. We experienced one after the wedding ourselves when we had some questions about our charges. But Don was wonderful and so were other staff we dealt with.

The bathrooms in the rooms. It's actually kind of funny. The rooms are totally re-done and very pleasant, but you open the door to the bathrooms and it's 1985. We assumed the remodel didn't make it that far and they had to open on time? Cleanliness wasn't an issue at all, it was just...they looked very old.

To wrap it up, I would give Harbor Hotel Provincetown a solid B+ edging on A-. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: The harborview rooms cost a little extra but the view is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasereraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for choosing the Harbor Hotel Provincetown to be a major part of one of the most important days in your life! We’re thrilled to hear that we provided both you and your guests an enjoyable special day. Although your event was flawless, we do apologize that you experienced some communication issues with some of our staff members. Your comments are greatly appreciated by us and we’ll be sure to share your compliments regarding the staff member you specifically mentioned; I’m sure they will make his day! We hope that you’ll consider staying with us again soon, perhaps for an anniversary visit!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager

Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

869 - 875 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Free continental bkfst in the morning was a plus. The staff is friendly, personable, and very helpful. The fire pit at night was fantastic and relaxing overlooking the ocean and the stars. It was great to use their bikes to get into town or beach. The pool was very nice and the lunch was great. They had a movie on the big screen with free popcorn. Nice family oriented atmosphere.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms overlooking the pool and the higher rooms had a balcony so you could drape your to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Sitting fireside looking at the stars is an incredible way to spend an evening at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We’re happy that you were able to take advantage of the amenities we offered and had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It would be our pleasure to have you as a guest again!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager

Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just a one night stay. Great view of the ocean in a 50's style redone motel. A little over priced for what you get but that's probably the deal in that area. Pool area ok but could use some cleaning up.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor away from office area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

While we’re glad that your stay with us was satisfactory, we wish that it was more than just that. Our guests’ opinions are very important to us and we’ll be sure to take yours into consideration regarding our pool area. We hope that we will be able to provide you with a stay in the future that is more than just ordinary.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager

Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Harbor Hotel. We found the staff pleasant and the room attractive and clean, although the toilet was a bit unsteady. Pillows were way too soft and firmer ones were not available. Free wi-fi was available throughout the property. We enjoyed the free cold breakfast our first morning, but the fresh fruit salad was sour our second morning. Our waterfront room had a wonderful view of the bay just across the road from the hotel. We did not use the large pool. The hotel is a mile or so from the bustle of downtown Provincetown, but there is a shuttle bus that runs every half hour until midnight to and from the center of downtown (fare is $2/$1 for seniors).

Room Tip: If you like a firm pillow, bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

The shuttle is such a great way to head to the center of town and we’re glad you were able to take advantage of it! Thank you for sharing your experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown with us. Although we’re happy that you had a pleasurable stay, we do apologize that you experienced some minor issues with your room and for the fruit salad. We would love to have you back again soon.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Harbor Hotel made us feel welcome from the moment we got to the front desk. Peter McHenry, Customer Service Manager welcomed us with a smile and handshake. We had a courtyard suite which was very clean, a king size bed and all the bells and whistles including a flat screen TV. Other than customer service, which was outstanding and is one of my top priorities in a hotel, the Harbor Hotel also has a cozy firepit to sit around at night and watch the stars over the water. The shuttle to P-Town stops right in front of the hotel for easy and cheap travel into P-Town. If you are visiting P-Town for the first time, this hotel is far enough from town to get away from the crowds that can be a bit overwhelming this time of year but is definitely close enough to be part of the excitement of P-Town. I'd go back right now if I could.

Room Tip: Bay rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msscr1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

We wish that we could have you back at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown now as well! Hopefully you’ll have an opportunity to return again soon. It’s wonderful that your overall experience was so incredible and that you really enjoyed your time with us. Your compliments are greatly appreciated by us and we will share them with the staff member you specifically mentioned; he will definitely be happy to hear that he was such a positive part of your stay!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and it will be the last time. Very disappointed in how STARK our room was. It had a medicinal odor to it, there was rust in the shower, behind the toilet and the mirror on the bathroom door was pitted, showing its age. The floors are not carpeted, I analyzed the floor before & after housekeeping and no surprise - they DID NOT mop! We had a quick dinner downstairs in their restaurant and the service was terrible. The restrooms in the lobby were not kept and there was a half eaten container of yogurt sitting outside our window sill for 2 nights -housekeeping walked by it and never disposed of it. Highly disappointed, dirty and not updated - I would not recommend this hotel to family or friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newportgir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

We’re upset to hear that your stay was not what you hoped for. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff works diligently to ensure that our accommodations are exceptional and clearly we missed the mark with you. We sincerely apologize for the condition of your room. Your feedback is very important to us, so we will share your comments with our staff in order to improve. Please consider staying with us again so we can show you how fantastic our hotel really is.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This past weekend I had the pleasure of staying at the Harbor Hotel in Provincetown. Initially we were only planning on staying one night and had booked a courtyard suite. The staff at the front desk was pleasant and Peter McHenry, the Guest Service Manager, could not had been friendlier and made us feel right at home. When we got to our room it was exactly as shown on their website. The room was immaculately clean, bright and welcoming. The fire pit was a great place to relax next to and reflect on the day with my wife.

We enjoyed the hotel so much we extend our time there and switched to a Bay View room. This was a standard room with two double beds, but as with the suite, the room was clean and well appointed. There was a blues band playing at the bar that evening that rounded off our stay in Provincetown. Although this was our first time staying at this hotel, you can be certain it will not be our last.
Thank you Harbor Hotel staff for your warmth and friendliness, see you soon….

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

The fact that you extended your stay at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown is an incredible thing for us to hear! Our staff is always happy to assist our guests and it’s great to hear that interacting with them was a highlight on your stay. We’ll be sure to share your comments with the staff member you specifically mentioned; I’m sure your kind words will make his day! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It would be wonderful to have you as a guest again!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager

Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
926 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
701 reviews
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Address: 698 Commercial St, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657-1761 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range: £90 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.5 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing