We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Nearby Hotels
Surfside Hotel & Suites(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Colony Inn(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seaglass Inn & Spa(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brass Key Guesthouse(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Masthead Resort(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Crowne Pointe Hist
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boatslip Resort(Provincetown)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
456
360
199
66
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
360
199
66
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitcabana barbay view roomevery half hourp townholiday innshuttle buslow tidepool sideclean roomsnice poolcape cod bayoff seasonwalk into towncontinental breakfastcommercial streetcan't wait to go back
Filter
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My six year old son and I stayed there for a night over the Thanksgiving weekend.

First, the bad-
i) I booked through Expedia and after booking was told they had overbooked and could not honor our room request. After calling Expedia they sorted it out and gave us an upgrade, which was good, but the process was a little stressful and aggravating. Don't know if it was the fault of Expedia or the hotel.
ii) we went to check-in around 1pm and was told it was too early, come back later. We had plans with friends at a neighboring town, around 15 miles away and so didn't come back until around 11pm. The front door was locked and no one was at the desk. There was a sign with a number to call for late arrivals. I called and it rang about 15 times before I gave up and went back to our friends' who were happily able to have us crash on their floor.

iii) Upon returning the next day they sorted out the situation, but first I had to endure the receptionist taking 10 minutes just to find our name, and then tell us the room was not ready even though it was 6pm. She got the manager when I explained the situation but that took around 15 minutes. The manager tried to explain their policy of late arrivals and how the Expedia website explains this, etc etc. and it felt like I was being blamed for them not doing their job. They seemed very disorganized, chaotic and confused, and not eager to please.
It was an extremely aggravating experience.

iv) Though it has been refurbished, it still is a motel on the outside, with that motel parking lot look and feel and kinda seedy.

The good news-
i) The location is fantastic, right by a beautiful bay on the edge of town. If you can get a room with a view of the bay it is well worth it.
ii) They have a very nice fire pit where it is a pleasure to sit at and watch the water and the sunset, night sky, just about anything.
iii) The rooms were re-done in a very nice Miami Beach kind of contemporary pastel vibe.
iv) They upgraded us to a two room suite which was very nice.

Soo- if you make sure not to arrive late and don't need anything special from the staff and understand it still is really at heart a motel, you should have a nice stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view of the bay.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Gilhoop S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

There’s no better way to stay in Provincetown than with a beautiful view of Cape Cod’s waters. Although we’re happy that you enjoyed our beachfront location, it’s unfortunate that other aspects of your stay weren’t as satisfying. Check-in begins at 3 PM and while we do our best to accommodate early arrivals, we cannot guarantee them. We sincerely apologize for the situation you encountered upon your return and we will look into what happened regarding your call. For future stays, you can always request a late check-in to ensure assistance at your convenience. It sounds like we were able to make things right and we’re glad that you enjoyed your suite. We take the concerns of our guests very seriously and we appreciate you sharing them with us. It is our hope that you’ll return again in the future for a much-improved stay.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Provincetown is GREAT in November. Good eating, NO CROWDS, free parking everywhere, good shopping, had much to do, weather was what I expected it to be. This surprises everyone who has never been there in November and no one who has. The HARBOR HOTEL was a very important part of my stay. I arrived when they were having a special and paid a lot less than I expected and a lot less than in the summer. I stayed in the back and it was quiet and the room was great. Every staff member was top of the line. I had seven excellent nights of sleep. I plan to stay there again when I visit the Lower Cape in November 2014.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back, closest to Rt 6, have least traffic and most private balconies/patios. The patio was an important part of my room enjoyment.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Autumn is indeed a wonderful time to visit Downtown Provincetown! We’re thrilled that your time with us was positive in every way. When you’re traveling, it’s always nice to catch up on some sleep and it sounds like you enjoyed a week of quality rest and relaxation! We’re grateful for your kind review and we’re looking forward to seeing you again at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

we stay at the harbor hotel at least once a year,and its always nice to see the changes they have made over the year,this year none that i could see,but i guess all of the back buildings are going to be re-done,which is great seeiing they were alittle worn since our last visit but still clean and comfortable..will be great to stay again next year

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are hard to beat and worth the extra money
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! It’s great to hear that we have provided you another pleasant experience. The comfort of our guests is a top priority and it sounds like we succeeded in providing you that. We can’t wait to have you back next year.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

we were upgraded to a waterfront room, beautiful view of Provincetown Harbor. clean, quite, comfortable beds, friendly staff - would recommend and would stay again. continental breakfast in the lobby, free Wi-Fi, which as fast and easy to connect to, in-room frig and microwave, Keurig coffee maker

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Our oceanfront views give you a front row seat to watch boats, beautiful sunsets, and tides rolling in! We’re delighted to discover that the Harbor Hotel Provincetown provided you a peaceful getaway. Thank you for your warm review of our location and we would love to have you back soon!

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were unable to stay in our usual rental, as the property was freezing and dark, due to a power outage caused by a wind storm. I called Harbor Hotel, as it was close by. I was told they were closing the front desk in 10 minutes, but they would wait for us to get there. We were given a very nice clean, warm, attractive room. We were very pleased to stay here. There even is a breakfast included in the reasonable price. We recommend Harbor Hotel to anyone looking for a decent and affordable place to stay in Provincetown.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

At the Harbor Hotel Provincetown, we’re always willing to do what we can to provide our guests with an exemplary experience. Every person who walks through our doors is important to us and it’s wonderful that we were able to make up for an unfortunate situation that occurred at another hotel. We’re thrilled that we were able to keep you cozy during your time with us. Thank you very much for sharing your experience! Come visit us again the next time you’re in Provincetown.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews