We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location with nice views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Haverhill
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location with nice views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at the Harbor Hotel a few years ago and had a great experience. I thought this time maybe it would be nice to stay somewhere else in P-town but after looking at a few different hotels, I decided that the Harbor was still a great deal and a good place for my boyfriend and me to stay for a few days.

The location is awesome. You are far enough away from the crowds, but a short drive into town. The bay views from the front of the restaurant and fire pit are really nice.

Pool was nice, a little chilly, but refreshing. It's also nice to have bar pool side.

The room was large and clean, bathroom tiles/grout could have used a scrub and there was a faint musty odor, but not bad enough to change rooms.

Most of the staff were very pleasant, friendly and knowledgeable. Keith in particular was awesome! I know that it is the beginning of the season and the seasonal staff has just started, I'm sure by the end of the summer they will have the swing of things. But what drove me crazy is that it appeared that they have had little or in some cases NO TRAINING - shame on the management of the hotel. Your waitstaff should know your menu inside and out. At the Friday fish fry our server did not even know that the fish fry was the "special" of the evening and that it was all you can eat.

Our first night we had dinner in the lounge, there were very few other guests there(mid-week). Our bartender/server Bobby was very nice, again, I'm sure some training would help him. What I did not like about that evening was the fact that some drunk guy(who seemed to me to be a regular) was trying to get a guest sitting at the bar to play pool - he was hustling the guy.It was not a good scene and it was uncomfortable. Our poor bartender tried to calm the situation but the drunk guy would not stop. After my boyfriend and I went to the front desk the hotel staff/mgt took care of the situation. That was the only night we saw the "drunk guy".

It was our good fortune to be there while the film festival was going on. The hotel hosted a night,screening two movies and offering a complimentary food buffet.

I am a big believer in service...it's the little things that the hotel and staff do that make your stay memorable - good or bad. The trained staff are great, PLEASE TRAIN THE NEW/SEASONAL staff!
Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAC0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
It was wonderful seeing you again at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! After a day of fun in town, there’s nothing like winding down by sitting by a fire and listening to the tide roll in. It’s great that our location added convenience to your trip. We do provide our new employees with plenty of training and we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced in our lounge. Your comments have been reviewed with our dining team in order to make improvements. We appreciate your detailed feedback on your recent stay and we hope that you’ll return again in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    280
    153
    51
    43
See reviews for
248
319
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Although the other couple we were traveling with had stayed here before and liked it, I always like to form my own opinions. Even though it's a 1960's property it has been updated nicely. The décor is sleek and modern with clean lines and pops of color. We had a second story room which was located overlooking the pool area. Unfortunately the night we were there, there were some rowdy people outside who kept us awake until 3AM! Thought management should have pulled the plug earlier. The room was spotless and everything was in good working order! The staff was pleasant and very accommodating when we asked for a late checkout on Sunday as we wanted to sit by the pool and sunbathe for a couple of hours before heading to the beach. The only complaint I have is they really should invest in new pool towels. The current ones are nothing more than oversized hand towels! For a 3 star hotel, this gets 4 stars for their service and cleanliness! Would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weenie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We can’t wait to see you again at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the decor of our facility and soaking up the sun by our pool. We apologize for any noise disturbances you encountered on your stay; if you are to have a noisy neighbor on your next stay, please let us know ASAP so that we can take care of the situation. Your insight is truly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My sister found this hotel after much research and arranged with Michael to get a bunch of rooms for a wedding we were attending locally. Our whole family came up and it was the perfect place to stay with family and enjoy the wedding. The rooms were clean, we loved the sand and picnic tables outside our room - a great place to gather over morning coffee. Keith treated our large party on Friday night royally, despite having another HUGE rehearsal dinner there and the fish fry, and was like family by the end of the weeked. We LOVED the firepit and the rest of the staff was very kind and considerate. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: If you're poolside, there will be noise. Luckily we were a large party who made plenty of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
A wedding is such a joyous occasion to celebrate and we’re honored to have been a part of it! Each and every person that walks through our doors is important to us and it’s wonderful to learn that members of our staff felt like family and that the whole wedding party received exceptional service. Before and after a ceremony, it’s wonderful to be able to gather and connect with friends and family and we’re glad that you all enjoyed spending time by our fire pit and having coffee together outside. It was a pleasuring serving you all this weekend and we hope we’ll have another opportunity to welcome you all back on site. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a cute, clean, FUN place to stay in Provincetown! My rather large and fun loving family (ages 22 to 60) was in town for a wedding and we all stayed at the Harbor Hotel. It couldn't have been more perfect or fun for us. The front desk staff at check-in was so welcoming and helpful. When our party of about 20 showed up for dinner in The Whaler Lounge they happily accommodated us all. (Try the Bacon Mac & Cheese. It is yummy!) We met Keith...The Man, The Myth, The Legend, The best bartender/server ever! Keith took great care of us all weekend. I loved all of the gathering areas around the hotel. We had a boardwalk/beach/patio area outside our courtyard rooms where we could congregate for coffee in the morning, Cabana Bar in the pool, and then there is that fabulous Fire Pit where we all gathered in the evening. Thanks for making our stay in P-town so enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for joining us and for your lovely review of the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! We’re happy to hear that our staff was such a wonderful part of your stay and we’ll be sure to share your comments with our desk staff and Keith; they will certainly put a smile on their faces. A wedding is the perfect time to catch up with family members and we’re glad that you all enjoyed spending time in our Whaler Lounge and by the fire pit and pool. It would be great to see you again!

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,077 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,578 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I brought a group here on the weekend before Memorial Day and chose this sleek and modern hotel because it would be easy to park a motor coach. The hotel is just out of town, perhaps a 20 minute walk, and it's on the trolley that runs to town regularly in season. The ocean is just across the street from the entrance. A fire pit out front is a great place to enjoy a drink and good company.

I was assigned to suite #300, a spacious and comfortable pair of rooms with dressing area and two baths. This room has a pool view. Furnishings and decor are retro and smack of the sixties - absolutely charming. Two sliding doors leading to a small wooden deck, bright lighting, poured terrazzo flooring with sisal rugs. One room had sofa, chairs, table and four dining chairs, and flat screen TV. The other was equipped with a king bed, lounge, small tables, and flat screen TV. Bath was small, but well-equipped. Dressing room is a plus..lots of storage space. All done in blonde-toned wood with accents of turquoise, orange, lime. One room had a kitchenette with coffee maker.

The hotel itself has a nice spacious bar with fun people. Keith on the bar is great...and Bobby assists. The bar is friendly and fun. On Fridays, the bar and adjacent restaurant hosts an all-you-can eat fish fry. Very good for the price. Staff is friendly and nice...Armand on the desk at night is the best.

I love this hotel; I'd book it anytime.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Your descriptive review of the Harbor Hotel Provincetown is truly appreciated. We’re happy to hear how much you enjoyed our suite-style accommodations and decor. In addition to providing comfort and relaxation, we aim to give our guests a fun experience, and it sounds like you had a blast spending time in our Whaler Lounge. We’ll be sure to share your comments with the employees you specifically mentioned; they’ll be excited to hear them! We would love to have you back the next time you’re in Provincetown.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our room had 2 queen size beds and 1 bathroom. The room was used only for sleeping and not lounging around. We had a room in the back and it was very quiet. The hotel is a 10 minute drive from downtown Provincetown. Plenty of Parkin in front and back of hotel. The front desk was helpful with restaurant recommendations. There is a tiny beachfront across the Main Street in front of the hotel. Probably couldn't use for laying out and relaxing, but nice view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown with us. We’re glad that our hotel was a peaceful retreat on your vacation. There is so much to see and do in town, and it’s great that the suggestions from our staff added to your trip. We would love to be your hotel of choice in the Provincetown area.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is absolutely fantastic for a fun and affordable stay in P-Town. It's right across from the beach, and about a 20-30 min walk (or 5 min drive) to the center of Commercial street (where a lot of the food and fun is!) This hotel is a lot more affordable than many other offerings in P-Town, and it doesn't skimp on quality either! Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel also has a lot going on if you don't feel like leaving the property for a bit. There's a large pool with a bar area (Keith, the bartender there is fabulous! He is a fun ball of sunshine and makes great drinks to boot!) You can also have food delivered to you at the pool, I highly recommend the Toll-House chocolate chip cookie, big soft cookie for two bucks, absolutely delicious. When the sun goes down there is a big fire pit with chairs all around so that guests can sit by the fire and stay warm. Cuddle up by the warm fire with a glass of wine and watch the stars, it's amazing. This place is no luxury villa, but you definitely get what you pay for and then some.

Side Note- The FREE wifi here is amazing! My travel companion was able to watch Netflix on his tablet with ease and no delays.

Food- Only tried the cookie, which was out of this world (ended up ordering 6 to take home with us on our last day). Whaler lounge (restaurant they have on-site) had a very delicious sounding menu, and we were disappointed we didn't have time to try it for ourselves...so I can't say anything for that.

Service- Now this is really where the hotel is a true hit. Everyone at the hotel is very nice and accommodating, I did not come in contact with one rude staff member during my stay. Highlights were definitely two lovely fellows by the names of Keith and Armand, they provided great service and were full of insightful tips for having a good time in P-Town. They truly made our stay both special and enjoyable.

Cleanliness- This was important! I couldn't complain, everything was neat and clean. Housekeeping was spot on every day.

Atmosphere- Fun and friendly.

The reason this gets 4 stars and not 5 is because I don't believe in perfect scores, but this place comes quite close! So happy I chose it, will certainly return on my next trip to Cape Cod.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We’re looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Cape! It’s wonderful to hear that you had a marvelous time exploring Commercial Street and relaxing at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. A cocktail by the pool and a warm fire at night are both great ways to unwind when you have some downtime while you’re traveling. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our freshly-baked cookies so much that you took some home with you, and we hope you’ll have an opportunity to try our other dishes at the Whaler Lounge on your next stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.7 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#7 of 14 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Property: Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Address: 698 Commercial St, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657-1761 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.5 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing