We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We ended up at the Harbor Hotel through an Expedia search for an affordable place in PTown. With great caution, I booked at room for $199 night, unsure if it would be a good experience because I have seen the place over the years and it used to be kind of dumpy. I read that they'd done an extensive reno, so I thought - why not?!

First, the location is excellent. Right on the water right outside the town. Parking is plentiful and free.

When we arrived, my 13 yr old son said, " Uh, what have you done, Mom? This place looks sketchy..." I have to say, the exterior is still old looking - but to my eye it is just the right "old" to make it retro. The lobby is funky and furnished well - way nicer than you'd expect upon first impressions.

I had booked a room with two queen beds and our first room was a ground floor exterior room. We opened the door and were hit by a very strong cigarette odor, so I went to the desk to ask for a non-smoking room. They told me the facility is all non-smoking and that they'd check out the smell and bill the previous guests a surcharge. The two men at the desk were WONDERFUL. Not only did they switch our room, but they upgraded us to a second floor, pool-view room. Really nice, helpful guys.

The room was large and had great light. We had a large balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool. The furnishings were modern and simple. The beds and pillows were very comfortable.

The pool area is great. There's a cabana bar, though we didn't spend enough time there to try it.

This is a very family-friendly place.

The renovations at the hotel are pretty superficial, though. Furnishings and paint are fresh and new but the skeleton of the place really needs work. The sliding door to our balcony did not work; with lots of effort we were able to open it enough for us to slip through sideways. The screen door had holes, so we were assaulted by mosquitoes on a daily basis, particularly bad at night. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic, but the bathroom really needs a tlc facelift. Think avocado tiles and a gold-flecked formica vanity. The carpets throughout the property were pretty yucky. It is all clean but old.

None of this bothered us and we felt the $199 price was a decent value. We had a great time and tried to extend our stay by one night, but the price would have jumped to $500 for the night! There is no way I would ever consider spending $500 for this place, but we would return for the $199 price.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Your perspective on your recent stay at the Harbor Hotel is greatly appreciated. We’re glad that both you and our son enjoyed spending time by our pool, along with the view of it from your upgraded room. We do regret that you encountered a challenging sliding door, we will be sure to have the maintenance department check to ensure an easy slide. Please know that we are working hard to continuously improve our facility and we hope that you will visit us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
There are newer reviews for Harbor Hotel Provincetown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I had a great stay at the Harbor Hotel! The front desk team is very polite and took great care of us especially Matt (Rufus)! Matt gave us great recommendations on where to go and what to do. I love this hotel and beautiful town!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Your praise for our staff is greatly appreciated! We’re pleased to discover that you had a wonderful time exploring our beautiful town. We’ll be sure to share your comments with the employee specifically mentioned; he will be happy to hear that his suggestions added to your stay. It would be a pleasure to serve you again at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The location is devine with the water litterally across the street. They are also dog friendly. For just $2, less than 2 mile bus ride away is the heart of Commercial Street P-Town. Great for couples, families, weddings and solo. Keith and his restaurant staff were beyond amazing, helpful, hard-working, warming and the best of help and service.
Keith was wonderful and went above and beyond for a family wedding that was held there this past weekend. The owner wasn't around during the busy times and events. The food and beverage manager wasn't the most pleasant or helpful and left out details that he was in charge off. Some employees there should most defiantly be promoted. It would be nicer if housekeeping was on a better consistent schedule.
The pool was great with a outside bar, pool-side service and pumping music! Great atmosphere! The fire pit in front of the hotel was used by us every night and a wonderful addition to the hotel. The Drag Show Brunch on Sunday was hilarious and great for the ones who don't get offended easily, not suitable for kids ;). If you go, tell Keith who wears many hats there, that Brittany from VA said hi and you will not be disappointed!
I totally recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Poolside is great for families and bay view is breathtaking.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brittany D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your recommendation of the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! A wedding is a joyous occasion to celebrate and we’re happy to learn that you had a wonderful time celebrating and spending leisure time by our pool. It’s also great that you had an opportunity to explore the center of town on your stay. To keep up with the busy season, we have hired additional team members, and they are working hard to grow with us. We hope that you will have an opportunity to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had an amazing time at the Harbor Hotel in Provincetown recently and the view couldn't be beat. I was lucky enough to get a room on the second floor with a sweeping view of the ocean. Upon checking in the attendant, Shannon, was only to happy to help with my request of a the ocean view.
She was very helpful with places to eat and general information about the hotel and town.

I rented a bike for the week which I was able to keep locked up on the provided bike rack in the front of the hotel. The pool was perfect for end of day quick dips after a day spent on the beach.

The hotel is on the shuttle bus line that whisks you right into town in a matter of minutes. Will go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We can’t wait to see you again at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! Waking up to a view of the water is the perfect way to begin your day, and we’re glad you enjoyed the scenery of the Cape Cod National Seashore by bike as well. It’s also great that you took advantage of the seasonal shuttle from our hotel. Your review is greatly appreciated. I will be sure to share you kind words with Shannon!

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I reserved a suite that faced the ocean. The view was great! Love the styling in the room. The pocket doors between rooms are a nice touch! The linens were all clean, fresh and comfortable. Nice surprise to have 2 bathrooms! Although the suite had been nicely renovated, the bathrooms are still outdated. A couple loose tiles in the shower, very small bathroom, but clean and working well. It's a nice walk into Provincetown center from the hotel, but the bus is reliable and entertaining if you don't want to walk! We didn't try the beach across the street, but that looked nice. Have to look out for high tide because the beach all but disappears then. We awoke several times dying the night due to other noisy guests. Sound proofing in the rooms isn't ideal, although street noise was never an issue. Pool and pool bar are fantastic! All the staff were helpful, friendly and very responsive. The fire pit out front is inviting, although when we sat right near it, it was a bit hot for us and we could smell fuel. Not sure if maybe they had just refueled... It was great to sit at the deck area, have a cocktail, and enjoy the cool evening breezes off the ocean. I would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tbk718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We’re pleased to discover that you enjoyed the look and feel of our stylish accommodations. Relaxing by the pool with a cocktail in hand is the perfect way to spend a hot summer day! We apologize about any noise disturbances you encountered on your stay and you can always give us a call while you’re here to report such instances, and we’ll be happy to take care of it. We’re looking forward to having you back.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We come back to this hotel again and again since it's compete renovation in 2010/2011. Super clean and the price is right. Excellent location and the views that can't be beat. The fire pit at night and the free hot breakfast to get you going make this place a keeper. Plenty of free parking and a shuttle to downtown every 30 minutes.

Room Tip: 2 story hotel so make sure to request first floor if stairs are an issue.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We’re so grateful for your glowing review of the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! Learning that we’re one of your favorite hotels in town is an incredible compliment to receive. Spending time by the ocean is so relaxing and we’re glad that you enjoyed our water views and beach fire pits. We hope you’ll come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

this place is poorly run only good point is bartender drag karaoke really with my kids that's just not right I know im in provincetown but in a hotel breakfast stay at cape colony inn much better or seaglass inn

Room Tip: stay away seaglass inn or cape colony inn
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank capeguy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

While we’re glad that one of our bartenders provided you with great service, it’s disheartening to discover that your stay with us was not everything it should have been. We do cater to the LGBT community in our area and do provide a comprehensive list of hotel events on our online calendar so you can bypass them if they make you feel uncomfortable. We aim to provide a friendly atmosphere for all of our guests and we apologize if your family did not experience this. Please consider giving our hotel another chance and allow us to show you the great experience we’re known for. Thank you for sharing your concerns.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
240 reviews
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
2.3 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
659 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Address: 698 Commercial St, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657-1761 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range: £79 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.5 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing