We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What a great weekend we had. We were immediately taken in by the great design of the hotel, with a pleasing color scheme and welcoming feel. The staff were extremely helpful and check in was a breeze. The room was spotless and had everything you need - fridge and coffee maker; lost of hooks; great shower head with lots of pressure; comfy bed with lots of pillows and, high end bath products. The buffet breakfast was delicious and the coffee was good and hot. The pool was big with lots of room for all the guests, which was a mix of couples, families, and friends getting away for the weekend. The Cabana Bar at the pool served drinks and food with pool side service so you didn't even need to get out of your chair. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front have a great view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebusny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
At the Harbor Hotel Provincetown, we wanted our design to reflect our location on the harbor, our past, and the future, and we’re thrilled that our decor added to your trip. Our goal is to provide our guests with a fun atmosphere while vacationing in Cape Cod, and we’re glad that you enjoyed spending time with refreshments by the pool. We’re grateful for your kind words and we can’t wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    288
    154
    51
    43
See reviews for
255
330
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The minute we arrived we loved the Harbor Hotel, with its retro look and feel. The staff were amazing - so accommodating and friendly.
The room was a suite, so having a bathroom for each of us was a huge bonus!! And even though it faced the pool area, it wasn't too noisy because they have a fence separating them. And theres a patio off the room which was peaceful.
Keith the bartender at the Cabana Bar is a real treat - funny, upbeat, and knows all the great places to eat. The pool was clean, with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas.
The Whaler Lounge gave us Taco Tuesday, with amazing fish tacos and clam chowder, salads. And the bartender (blonde young woman) made the best margarita EVER!

The website said that we would get a complimentary continental breakfast, but when we got there we were told that was from "last year" and that we had to pay $4.95. But they offered brunch for $12.95. We didn't like the bait and switch, but ended up enjoying breakfast anyway. The breakfast was perfect, crispy bacon with scrambled eggs and pancakes done just right.

Getting into town is easy because the bus picks you up right out front every half hour. You can also call a cab, which is $7 per person.

The best part of a long day was hanging out by the fire pit - it faces the harbor and was warm and inviting. Every night we and our friends shared laughs and enjoyed the stars and the sound of the waves on the shore.

We will DEFINATELY be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Evcarrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We’re looking forward to your return to the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! Being located on the coast, we want our guests to experience the best dining the Cape Cod National Sea Shore has to offer, and we’re thrilled that our seafood dishes at the Whaler Lounge exceeded your expectations. After spending the day exploring the heart of town, spending the evening by a fire pit on the beach is the perfect way to unwind. We sincerely apologize about the miscommunication regarding our breakfast buffet. Your thorough review is truly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Ptown tends to be packed in summertime.

Stayed there as every other hotel in Ptwon was fully booked.

The property looks and is run more like a motel than a proper hotel. Huge price tag for value. Attentive, but inexperienced staff. Noisy, charmless and quite off from downtown.

My advise: book something else and do it in advance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Although we don’t have all the details regarding your stay, we would like to take this opportunity to apologize that it was not everything you were expecting. In order to keep up with the busyness of the summer season we have added additional staff members and they are working very hard to grow with us. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us and we hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Its right on the waterfront and it has a pool that reminds you of a 60's palm springs movie. Its a few minute walk from the busy and dense downtown which i thought was a great advantage as it gets very crowded downtown. its a very simple hotel but served its purpose for everything i needed. Its kooky in its design and i would definitely stay there again. Its not the four seasons but its a laid back simple hotel on the water in a beautiful part of the world that is rich in diverse culture and surrounded by the sea. i stayed in room 420 which is on the second floor a little towards the lawn which i thought was the best location because you can see a glimpse of the sea and you can see the pool with being too close to it.

Room Tip: second floor i think is best and towards the lawn. or the sea view rooms are great if its not windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grazmulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown with us. We’re glad that our unique decor was a highlight of your stay. Being located outside the center of town allows our guests to enjoy some of the most scenic views our area has to offer with peace and serenity. We can’t wait to see you again!

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had such a wonderful stay at the Harbor Hotel! (so wonderful in fact that I'm writing my first Trip Advisor review). We reserved a suite for my boyfriend and I and another couple. The rooms were adorable and spotless with terrazzo floors and cool vintage style decor. It really reminded me of the North Miami Beach motels from the 50's. The beds were comfortable and you can not beat the gorgeous view of the water! We took walks into town, checked out the galleries in the east end and hung out at the pool bar with Keith (we LOVE Keith!) I really can't say enough about this place. It will definitely be my first choice to stay next time. Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyandMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We’re delighted to discover that you had such a sensational experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown that you felt the need to share it with everyone! We are so grateful to be your hotel of choice in the area and for your kind words. Our goal was to combine retro and modern flair with sustainable design that highlights our oceanfront location, and we’re thrilled that our decor was one of your favorite parts of your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

To start I reserved a room for six people and there was only one queen bed. The manager told me they did not have rooms with two queens which is completely not true. Then they said they could give me roller beds for $25 each. At this point I was so irritated since I have done the reservation for 6 people! More so to be honest the location is awful and very far from downtown. It is at least a 30-40 min walk. Also the staff, apart from the guy at the pool bar, is not very nice. Overall I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
First and foremost, we sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not everything it should have been. Our hotel is located right on the Provincetown Harbor, and although most guests find our distance from town a bit of a relief from the craziness of downtown, we regret if you were not aware of the this. Please note that only California King beds are offered in rooms with one bed, all other rooms are equipped with two Queen or two Double beds. Our suite style accommodations, however, feature living room areas with couches that fold out into Queen beds. We wish that you had reached out to us directly prior to your arrival, as we would have been happy to assist you in selecting the room that better meet your needs. Please give us another opportunity to regain your trust. Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at an alternate hotel on Saturday night of our Pan Mass Challenge adventure. My husband's 15th PMC and the cheerleaders had more to complain about than the guy riding 192 miles on a bike. The Harbor Hotel had an opening on Sunday night so we switched. It was like going from hell to heaven! Great room/suite that accommodated 5 of us very comfortably. Beautiful decor and the two bathrooms alng with the sliding divider between rooms gave all of us the right amount of privacy. I can't wait until October to make my reservation for next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We’re happy to learn that the Harbor Hotel Provincetown provided your family with a refreshing change of pace during your husband’s challenge travels. The Pan Mass Challenge is an incredible event and providing you and your family with a relaxing refuge was an honor. After such a long biking venture, we’re glad that everyone was able to rest comfortably. We can’t wait to see you for next year’s event!

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#8 of 15 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Property: Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Address: 698 Commercial St, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657-1761 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.5 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing