We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most incredible views”
Review of Masthead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Masthead Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Most incredible views”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I just came back from staying 5 days at this great hotel, my partner and I left Boston looking for a place to relax and we couldn't be happier from choosing the masthead.
We stayed at room 35(Richards), its a beautiful cottage, old classic style with 3 bedrooms, facing the ocean, the views are breathtaking, the sound of the water at night and the breeze coming from our window was just magical.
House keeping was great as well as maintenance, we had an issue with our fridge and ten minutes after our called it was fixed.
Special thanks to Mr Ciluzzi for all his kindness. We will for sure be back to this ptown gem.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tapas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    40
    16
    23
    15
See reviews for
74
78
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hyannis, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Charming cottages with a real Cape Cod quaintness. Step out the door to a quiet beach that becomes broad flats at low tide, ideal for a romantic stroll or brisque walk (make sure you know the tide schedule!) Who needs fancy amenities with such natural beauty? Spotlessly clean and equiped with all necessities, only a walk from downtown which is chock full of fabulous eateries for all tastes and some very unique shopping. Try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Let's be honest, I didn't expect the Ritz but for $325 a night, I didn't expect the below par accommodations. I did expect to have someone on-site and available with any issues but for 95% of the time we were there, there wasn't anyone.

The person I booked with also greeted us and she was great. That is where the friendliness/helpfulness ended.

The view is nice from the dock but the cottage we had was recessed back from the others with the nice, big picture windows on the 2nd floor so we didn't have as nice a view. When I saw the differences in the cottages, I was shocked that we paid the same price as the other, seemingly nicer ones.

We had a closed in porch and then a studio with a queen bed, fold out couch and roll away bed. All were hard as a rock and not comfortable at all. My sister had to sleep with the cushions from the couch laid on top of the mattress in order to get even remotely comfortable without having metal in her back. Note that there was a TON of furniture everywhere. I like open space and felt so claustrophobic with all of the chairs, tables, lights, desks, knick knacks.

Overall I guess you could say it was clean but because it was so old and rather muggy, it didn't totally feel it. The bathroom is very small and I didn't shower because I forgot my shower shoes. Even if I had them, not sure I would have used it anyway because the hot water lasted for about 5 minutes after about 10 minutes of warming up.

Scary fact #1: they have stanchions across the entire ceiling to support the second floor. YIKES!

Scare fact #2: they have extensions rigged up and hanging everywhere to get power to some of the lights. DOUBLE YIKES!

Now, when you're in PTown you spend most of your time hanging out downtown, shopping, eating, seeing shows, spa'ing, or whatever so, luckily, we didn't spend a lot of time there. I do have to do some work occasionally over he weekend but could not get any wi-fi and was told "oh, 'he' left at 4 but I'll try to reach him" in that "there's no way I'm going to even try to help you" kind of tone.

We had a little kitchen and everything in there was fine.

All in all, there were not a lot of positives. There is nowhere to socialize with other guests, no place other than your own kitchen to get coffee, which was gross and only had powdered milk provided.

Believe me, I am not high maintenance and can get by on essentials but this place didn't meet them.

I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't go. But there is a great restaurant right near there called Sal's. it's fantasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BettyRoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstable, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This cottage resort all of what you want to enjoy at a beachfront vacation. Charming cottages, clean and neat with the classic feel of Provincetown. Listen to the water as it laps against the sand and lulls you to sleep. Enjoy the waterfront deck and watch the boats and gulls skim across the water. A true classic.

Room Tip: Try one of the free standing cottages. 2-3 bedrooms right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great location, charming, right on the water. Staff very nice. Has all the necessities and very quaint. You get a real since of the area with this place. Smallish cottages, but perfect for two people. The deck and chairs very comfortable and right on the water. Great light especially early morning and dusk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naisee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I just returned from my 7th visit to the Masthead; I was drawn to it the previous summer when looking around the West End waterfront for a new place to try. I peeked into the property and saw the expansive deck which overlooks the bay and I was sold. Fabulous location for any beach lover, especially, for me, for the access to early morning walks in low tide (almost made it to the other side of the bay one morning, until I worried about how fast the tide was coming in!). The staff is very accomodating and pleasant. I wish I was still there...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Got here at night after the office closed. Stumbled in the dark with heavy bags searching for my expensive waterfront room. When I finally located the front door the interior was pitch black. Too much trouble to leave one light on? Next morning the phone rang bright and early telling me to come down to the office and pay the balance of my bill (!) Masthead could stand a crash course in "welcoming friendliness". I stayed in the "Enrico Caruso" Cottage right on the water. Pricey, lovely location - but why build a storage corral directly in front of the waterfront porch? Sitting in the deck chair you face a plywood wall instead of the glorious bay? The location is far out on the West End - tranquil and serene, but a bit of a hike into the heart of Commercial St. (Renting a bike makes it effortless however.) Kitchen utensils were spotty; non functioning can opener, dirty salad bowl under sink, fridge dripped water on food. After preparing a meal for four I carefully washed all crockery and placed on a bath towel (no drainer) to dry. Housekeeper brought new towels but studiously avoided putting the dishes away. Asked for help opening my room safe. Never materialized. All in all, beautiful location on the water, well-tended grounds and asleep-at-the-wheel management.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanAntonioBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
2.2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
960 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.1 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masthead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masthead Resort

Property: Masthead Resort
Address: 31-41 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masthead Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Masthead offers distinctive accommodations in an authentic Cape Cod setting. 450 Foot Private Beach. Sun Deck On The Water, Boardwalk, Spacious Lawns, Beautifully Landscaped Grounds, Comfortable Lounging Chairs, Central Heat, Within walking distance of fine restaurants, coffee shops and center of Town. The restful beauty and quiet of our grounds and lovely gardens bordering the boardwalk and sundeck provide a favorite rendezvous for guests who lounge and enjoy the beautiful vista of Provincetown Bay and miles of ever-changing Cape scenery. The Bay is a haven for sailing and water-skiing. Golf & tennis are nearby. Art classes and Art galleries are only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Masthead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masthead Hotel Provincetown
Masthead Motel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing