We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“16th visit even better than the 1st”
Review of Masthead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Masthead Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have stayed in Cottage 33, a converted boat house, usually for a week in early October, for 16 times. We missed 2012 but returned the last week in September 2013. It was a joy to find thoughtful changes in the Cottage, with the grounds and harborside deck in perfect shape.Valerie Ciluzzi's creative flower plantings were found unfailingly to delight. Detailed care by manager Wendy and assistant Steven was evident. As for location, it is perfect for enjoying from spectular sunrise to night, the ever changing tides, migrating birds in fall, and harbor life. A place peacefully to reflect and enjoy being human and alive. We enjoyed our stay even better than the first. We hope to return again in 2014. The Masthead is the gift of hands-on labor of love over 54 years of WWII 10th Mountain Division veteran, founder-owner John J. Ciluzzi, now 88. Thousands of us who have enjoyed our stay there owe him, his family, and workers a debt of gratitude..

Glenn and Glenda Paige
Honolulu

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDPaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very convenient location... A quiet part of ptown.. A short walk to the center of it all.
We stayed in one of the efficiencies which had a small kitchen with a small fridge, dishes, utensils, etc which was very convenient.
The deck is right on the water where you can enjoy the gorgeous sunrise.
The staff is exceptional and right on point.. We arrived early in the morning to try to beat the traffic. Although check in wasn't until 4, we were told to call and check periodically to see if it was ready earlier. The receptionist took that extra step and ended up calling me to let me know our room was ready which was awesome.
My only "complaint" is that the mattress was not very comfortable.. But I acknowledge it could just be not what i am used to. Other than that, immaculate and worth checking out .. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MakeupArtist40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you seek a lovely inn on the harbor, convenient to Provincetown but quietly removed from the bustle, look no further. My wife and I have stayed at The Masthead twice, and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay both times. The rooms open onto a private deck with access to the harbor, and restaurants and shops are just a few blocks down the road. It is also convenient to The Red Inn, our favorite restaurant in town. With comfortable rooms and an accommodating staff, we hope to return for many years to come.

Room Tip: Pick your favorite room from the description - all are pictured and described accurately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDHastings30306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The cottage we stayed in at The Masthead was nice enough - a little run down and musty but clean and a great view. The care by the innkeepers was another story. Points to follow:

1) The four of us had maid service once over the course of three days.

2) On our last day we asked if we could check out a little later than 11AM and were told no. There may have been other guests arriving and we understand that, but even 30 minutes would have been helpful.

3) We were told the cottage came with parking but when we arrived there were only six spaces which is hardly enough to accommodate all guests. We were instructed to either park on the street or at another hotel 5 minutes away. For the entirety of our 3-day stay we never had a parking space and had to walk about 1/2 a mile into town each time we needed the car. The only exception was on the morning of our departure when a spot opened up a few minutes before we were to leave.

4) Upon finally getting the spot at 11AM, we used the space to pack the car and get ready to leave. Regrettably, our car had mechanical problems and would not start again. Instead of offering to help, given that we are not locals, the innkeeper made his annoyance clear and advised us to hurry it up.

5) About an hour later we found a mechanic and we brought him to the hotel where he tried to jump the car with cables. The innkeeper came out of his office to the parking lot and admonished us again to "move this car." I'm not really sure what part of "raised hood, jumper cables and a tow truck" he did not understand but trying to move the car was exactly what we were hoping to do. I honestly think he wanted us to roll it out of the driveway by hand onto a New England street that is so narrow we would immediately be blocking all traffic and still not able to move.

6) Being a little frustrated having run around town looking for a mechanic in 90 degree heat, having not eaten and being late to get on the road for a 7 hour drive, we replied to his "move this car" by reminding him that for the entirety of the stay we've not had any parking. His response was that there is parking on the street we could have used. On what planet is he living? This is a tiny New England beach town with tons of tourists. There are no parking spaces anywhere. We don't think being allowed 2-3 hours in a parking space is unreasonable while we tried to get our car to start.

So, if you like a great view in a musty cottage with mean innkeepers charging $2,200 for three days, The Masthead is the perfect place for you to spend your well-earned vacation. Provincetown is lovely. The Masthead is not.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TripMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Here I sit in landlocked Central Pennsylvania. Our town, Lewisburg, is beautiful. But I am dreaming about last week when we visited the Masthead Resort in Provincetown. It rained a bit...but that didn't stop us from having a wonderful time at the Masthead. It did not rain all the time so we enjoyed the 450 feet of beach...good for swimming or for watching the tide come in and go out. Then there are the deck chairs....and the view of the harbor. I can see three of Cape Cod's lighthouses from the Masthead. And the full moon shimmering on the water. The Masthead's friendly and helpful staff..(Hi Wendy and Steve) And it is always wonderful to see John and Valerie once again. (Our first trip to the Masthead was in 1979......and we come back annually)
If you belong to the AAA, look at your 2012-2013 copy of the Massachusetts, Connecticut and Rhode Island map. The cover page is the Masthead....deck chairs and umbrellas and all.
The accommodations: Clean, comfortable. The Masthead is a traditional resort. Sure they offer free wi-fi.....but if you are looking for glitz and pizzazz.....you may be disappointed. But if you are looking for a comfortable, scenic, bayside and simply enjoyable time for couples and/or families, I rate the Masthead at the top of my list. I ought to know, our family has been coming since 1979. Why go any other place when you've found the place that meets your vacation needs: Comfortable, clean, short walking distance to downtown, beach, history (on foggy mornings you just might catch a glimpse of the Mayflower and the Pilgrims........I'm kidding). Try the Masthead. You'll return.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms......honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck1980_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I just came back from staying 5 days at this great hotel, my partner and I left Boston looking for a place to relax and we couldn't be happier from choosing the masthead.
We stayed at room 35(Richards), its a beautiful cottage, old classic style with 3 bedrooms, facing the ocean, the views are breathtaking, the sound of the water at night and the breeze coming from our window was just magical.
House keeping was great as well as maintenance, we had an issue with our fridge and ten minutes after our called it was fixed.
Special thanks to Mr Ciluzzi for all his kindness. We will for sure be back to this ptown gem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Charming cottages with a real Cape Cod quaintness. Step out the door to a quiet beach that becomes broad flats at low tide, ideal for a romantic stroll or brisque walk (make sure you know the tide schedule!) Who needs fancy amenities with such natural beauty? Spotlessly clean and equiped with all necessities, only a walk from downtown which is chock full of fabulous eateries for all tastes and some very unique shopping. Try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.1 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
2.2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
1,120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masthead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masthead Resort

Address: 31-41 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Provincetown
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range: £67 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masthead Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Masthead offers distinctive accommodations in an authentic Cape Cod setting. 450 Foot Private Beach. Sun Deck On The Water, Boardwalk, Spacious Lawns, Beautifully Landscaped Grounds, Comfortable Lounging Chairs, Central Heat, Within walking distance of fine restaurants, coffee shops and center of Town. The restful beauty and quiet of our grounds and lovely gardens bordering the boardwalk and sundeck provide a favorite rendezvous for guests who lounge and enjoy the beautiful vista of Provincetown Bay and miles of ever-changing Cape scenery. The Bay is a haven for sailing and water-skiing. Golf & tennis are nearby. Art classes and Art galleries are only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Masthead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masthead Hotel Provincetown
Masthead Motel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing