We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely horrible in every sense of the word!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely horrible in every sense of the word!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Although it offers great views, the Provincetown Inn was absolutely AWFUL. I cannot warn you enough about it's terrible front desk staff, musty smell, dilapitated & dirty rooms, ugly murals, lack of charm, rude housekeepers and over-crowded pool.

Had I not been staying there for a friend's wedding, I would have demanded my money back and left as soon as I got there. The AC unit was not working for the first 6 hours and it took 3 calls to the front desk before someone came to check it out. It then took 3 trips to our room to figure out it was as simple as resetting the breaker.

I highly advise looking into other accomodations if you are considering a stay in PTown. What I paid for two nights is more than I've spent on 4-star accommodations and makes my blood boil!

  • Liked — The view, it was incredible.
  • Disliked — Everything but the view.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Potatopancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    163
    76
    51
    45
See reviews for
113
203
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Granted the hotel was old, but it had it's charm. They were in the process of renovating the exterior when we were there. Beds were comfortable and rooms were of a normal motel room size. We were inside the main inn and on the second floor, so we had to walk the stairs, but that wasn't a real chore. Showers were rather small and only one pereson could use it at a time LOL. I was told irons were available at the desk, but I didn't check.

Breakfast was very good and the choices were varied from hard-boiled eggs to fruit chunks. Bagels and muffins were very good. Service was good...although if you hit it wrong at the front desk, you had to wait a bit. The woman at the desk said the restaraunts were not open because they couldn't find cooks. The pool and the beach were excellent as was the lunch menu at the pool (Bar-BQ style fare).

The walk to center of town wasn't bad (0.7 miles - about 1/2 hour), and the cab ride back at night was cheap enough ($5.00). They run until 2 AM during the summer (I think) . There is a shuttle outside the door, but it isn't totally reliable as to service times and it ends around midnight (the bars close at 1 AM).

I would most definitely stay there again, but would bring a car next time I think., even though parking isn't great downtown and can be rather expensive. Bicycle rental is also an option.

  • Liked — Pool, Location
  • Disliked — No restaraunt
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VicCNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2008

This hotel is not worth the money they make you pay. There is no charm to this old inn, because it is falling apart. The room my friends and I stayed in had a pink blanket tacked to the wall with yellow stains all over it. The floor had one spot that was just about to give out and creaked real loud. The only good thing about this place was that it was close enough to walk downtown. Overall if you are looking for a nice place to stay the pictures do not do any justice, that's why they are such far away shots. Good luck to those who like an expensive shack on the bay.

  • Liked — Close to the town
  • Disliked — The inn itself
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank swiatocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Provincetown hotels

dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2008

I stayed there with my boyfriend for a couple of nights in june. We were really disappointed when we got there because the place did not resemble the website pictures at all. The place is so old and seriously needs renovation. My main problem was the REALLY bad musty smell throughout the whole place. I couldn't even sleep one of the nights due to the difficulty i had breathing. My boyfriend is astmathic and he was in a bad way. We upgraded to a room with a balcony which had a sea view. The beach is lovely and the only plus to this hotel. The staff at reception wern't great and the women checking us in left us standing there for ages before seeing us. Room was clean but bathroom was shabby and tiny. Rooms had no hair dryer or iron which was very inconvienient. The bar wasn't great so better off going into the town. Towns a bit of a walk but we got a taxi in one of the nights which was great. I have stayed in many hotels and can tolerate a lot but i would never stay here again.

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summer005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2008

This is an older hotel with lots of charm! Loved the murals in the halls depicting Provincetown in history. The halls had some musty smell, but that was expected considering the location of the Inn.

The rooms were as expected for a hotel of this age. The beds were newer and quite comfortable. Walls looked freshly painted. Carpeting was well cared for, possibly new within the past few years. Tub had new surround. Sink was small and toilet was close to the wall, but my heavy body fit just fine. Plumbing worked just fine. It was clean and comfortable. Air conditioning worked fine. Refigrigerator was larger than expected. No hair dryer. Towels were like sand paper. Nice deck overlooking the water and pool. Breakfast was adequate with cereals, hard cooked eggs, nice fruit, bagels, muffins, danish, juices, coffee, tea, etc. The bagels were excellent! Only complaint was that they ran out of coffee twice before the breakfast time was over.

No complaints with service, and the banquet facilities were good. Food was good. Space was excellent. No elevator, but I needed the exercise walking the stairs.

Would definitely go back again for another conference.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Towels
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalsPhila_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2008

DO NOT stay at this hotel is you have any respiratory issues!!! We stayed over the opening weekend, and everywhere smelled musty and moldy. We were there for a knitting retreat, and they hadn't aired out the rooms at all. The front desk clerks were not friendly at all. There is no elevator to the 2nd floor and they don't have people to help you bring your bags up. We had to help this poor elderly lady who looked like she was going to have a heart attack at any moment, as she was trying to bring her bags up the stairs. I had to bring my roommates bags upstairs because she has major back problems. Everything needs to be updated. The beds were comfortable. The rooms appeared to be clean but like I said, very musty and moldy smelling. Multiple people at the retreat at this Inn developed wheezing and other assorted respiratory issues over the weekend. The waitresses during our banquet dinner were VERY SLOW, however I think they were also new to the job. The food was good though. The bar was good for playing Keno. The view is spectacular. If someone could renovate this historic inn it could be a showstopper.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The smell of the place was terrible.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fnimuaemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

Went on a girls only weekend.Needed to go somewhere close to home because we didnt have alot of time to spend traveling.Provincetown Inn has been there for years and we knew it would be old,however,the Continental breakfast they included had nats all over it so we were unable to eat it.A few made their way into our rooms also.The woman at the front desk was less then friendly.When we asked her for any menus to local resturants her answer was,"I have one and its old.I have a take out menu but the foods not to good."They really need to get someone at the desk that may care a little bit about the place. Found many other places as we drove around to stay at next time.Most everything at this Inn was closed for the season.Pub open for 2 nights,no food or even snacks.If they put a little money and time in this it could be a beautiful resort because of its location.But face it...its ship has sailed!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank On-The-Go53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
2.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
908 reviews
1.8 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
855 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.2 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
626 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center

Property: Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Address: 1 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1909
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincetown Inn Resort And Conference Center
Provincetown Inn Hotel Provincetown
Provincetown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing