We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time here!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2005

We have just returned from touring New England and this must be one of the worst properties we have stayed in. We have travelled all over the USA and Canada and have found on the whole all the hotels to be of a high standard. But Provincetown should be ashamed to have this place in their town!!!

We booked a double room - were given two single beds. When I complained the front desk manager (who did her best to ignore me, answering phones and writing notes when asked by the receptionist to speak to me). When she did eventually speak to me she was dismissive and unhelpful and when I asked to be moved I overheard them muttering about how I had only paid a basic rate so I wasn't being moved.

They claimed to be full as they were expecting a wedding party (obviously they were bringing in more money than us) but the car park was empty.

The rooms were basic and could do with renovation, the whole inn would benefit from being renovated as its tired, ugly and generally unkempt looking.

Don't waste your money staying here I'm sure there are far nicer inns with much more pleasant staff in Provincetown!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Loohee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    165
    76
    52
    45
See reviews for
115
203
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 August 2005

We just returned from Cape Cod, and this is the only hotel I regret booking. First, we were told that our Standard room faced the pool--instead we had the dumpster view. No one offered to help us carry luggage upstairs, even though there is no elevator. I expect that in a B&B, but not a "resort". The front desk staff was not particularly helpful in general.

I will have to say that the room was clean, the main lobby has charming murals, and the continental breakfast was sufficient. In its day, this was probably a lovely place to stay. However, the drapes in our room had stains and holes, while the plumbling was noisy and sluggish.

This hotel is at the tip of the peninsula. Be sure to drive out to the circle at the Provincetown Inn and take a few pictures. Then find another place to stay.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Provincetown hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2005

This is a very worn and chipped hotel, which is still not cheap despite this.

Staff are fine..but there are several problems.

First the look of the hotel is ancient. Worn carpets, dark gloomy
colours. Please folks please try to brighten it up. Some bright colours might do the trick.

The whole place has a musty smell and looks down at heel.

Some might call this charming and old world, but after a few hours
the other words seem more appropriate.

The rooms themsleves are ok, but the ocean area behind
the rooms is actually not that appealing. When the tide is out, whats left behind on the ocean floor is not too pleasant. Dumped fridges and the like are the order of the day.

The pool area is very dirty and during the day there was not an inch of space in the actual pool. Mainly because of the huge number of kiddies.

The bar in the hotel is lifeless and usually contains about three people, even at peak times.

The corridors around the rooms are the real problem. When we were there during July, the corridors were covered in flies and mosquitos, both dead and alive varieties. Can the hotel not buy an insect machine and get rid of them?

The final problem is you are miles away from the centre of town. So you have a fairly long hike to the town every day, although I now learn there is a shuttle to the town centre..but the hotel never told us that when we were there!!

The other problem is the area behind the rooms, which is like a little boardwalk beside the sea is also quite untidy. So sitting out there on the white chairs and table provided was out of the question. Does nobody sweep that area from time to time??

So all in all a disappointing place. Its actually not the worst hotel we've stayed in, but badly needs a refurbishment or at least some brightness!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emmet028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield mo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2005

Our "Waterview" category rooms at the Inn provided clean, basic no frills accomodations-two twin beds, tv, small sitting area with table & chairs. It appeared that the carpeting had been replaced recently. The bathroom was on the small side, very plain but clean. The beds were ok-a little bit on the soft side. The heating system worked well-there-We were there during an unusually cold rainy period in summer. The room faced out over the beach. There was a good size window, but our view was obscurred by the swimming pool. A plus is the Inn's complimentary breakfast buffet in the main building. If you are on a budget, you can fill up on bagels, pastry, cereal, fruit, juice, & coffee. Nothing fancy; but great if you are with kids. On the way to the breakfast room are some interesting wall murals of historic Provincetown. The Inn is on the quiet edge of town, away from the hustle and bustle of the town center;but on the shuttle route. We drove to the cape, so the Inn's ample parking was a plus. Overall, I thought the rate of $179 per night was high for basic motel style accomodations, but I understand that during high season this is about average for the cape. Depending on your tolerance for lack of upscale amenities, Provincetown Inn might be an option for a short jaunt to the cape to explore the National Seashore.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizzoutraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2005

It helps to know what you really need. If you want someplace with the latest modern furniture, where they wrap you in seaweed and rub you with hot rocks, this isn't it. However, if you want a nice quiet place, with a private beach, (and a swimming pool) this is the place for you. The location is ideal--at one end of Commercial Street. It's close enough to all the shops, clubs, galleries and such that you can walk (or take the $1 shuttle), but far enough that you can get away from the crowds when you want to.

I've found the rooms that I've stayed in to be perfectly fine. They have all been clean, with lots of light, if not the most modern furnishings. You won't be spending much time in your room anyway, hopefully.
The rooms are standard, nothing extraordinary--double beds, color TV, towels, etc. There is no bar filled with $3 cans of Coke and tiny $7 bottles of rum, but surely you don't need that.

I notice that one of the other reviewers felt she was treated badly because she was a person of color. I was suprised by this, as I'm also a person of color and the staff have never been anything but polite and friendly to me. This was true overall, but in particular the folks working in the bar and the gift shop. I've stayed here twice before and I'll be coming back this July.

Also of note: parking doesn't seem to be a problem here, which is another plus, and unusual for P-Town.

Stayed June 2004
Helpful?
1 Thank SueCalico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2005

Provincetown is a very old rustic town. This is an original Inn from the twenties. The old main building still shows this. A later "motor court" addition was built in the mid fifties. If you want to stay on the quiet end of town, this is the place to be. The shopping and dining are exactly one mile from the Inn. There is a shuttle bus or you can walk there. The Inn has a large outside pool and a small private beach. I always get a "Harbor-side" room in the newer addition. Most of the rooms have had updates, new carpet and windows, etc. But keep in mind this is an old old building. If you want a cozy romantic bed and breakfast keep looking. This place offers a wide variety of different rooms. The "Cape-Tip" rooms walk out to a deck on the water. There are second floor rooms in the old building with spectacular views of the harbor. On the other hand, the bargain rooms face the roof over the kitchen. Provincetown lodging is generally expensive everywhere. The downtown can be noisey and has no parking, so this makes the Provincetown Inn a good place to stay. You can park here and walk to the center. Don't shop by price only here. Some of the best rooms are worth asking for.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATourist2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 August 2004

BEWARE !!
Hotel has nasty cancellation policy. While the hotel was not fully booked on the weekend I had planned to visit, and 6 days notice was given, a full one day room charge was made against my credit card. They have a 7 day advance notice policy IN WRITING! The facilities is sort of a 60's motel setting in an otherwise quaint New England village area. Loved Provincetown.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
2.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
949 reviews
1.8 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
233 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center

Property: Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Address: 1 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1909
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincetown Inn Hotel Provincetown
Provincetown Inn Resort And Conference Center
Provincetown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing