We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great places can't be missed!!!”
Review of Grand Central Cafe - CLOSED

Grand Central Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great places can't be missed!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My group loved every meal! Thanks to the well dressed man on the corner, we decided to take a peek and found a cute outdoor patio with a couple eating. We asked the couple what they thought of the food here and they said it was excellent. Sure enough, it was! It's a shame more people have yet to discover this place.The waiter was pleasant and the drinks were delightful. If you're in p-town, find Grand Central. It's in the same alley as the Atlantic house bar

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodguy281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
214 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice People, Average Food & Value”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is tucked in an alley - I guess it's really a side street but in P'Town most side streets are narrower than some alleys in other places! They had a barker (talker) at the corner of Commercial Street pulling people in, which was smart or we wouldn't have gone there (or even known it was there to go to).

We chose the outdoor dining but smokers walking by nearly chased us back inside.

The food was good - breaded salmon and vegetable scrod dishes were our entrees. They were respectable, not bad, but not anything praiseworthy. The staff in the summer is largely foreigners on work exchange programs, and despite some occasional English language challenges, they are invariably nicer and provide better service, which is appreciated. That was the highlight in an otherwise decidedly average experience, which at least was close to reasonably priced for what it was.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCAngels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobleskill, New York
Level Contributor
431 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Half a block makes all the difference”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We found this restaurant because they hired a person to stand on the main street to advertise it - and we looked at the menu and found several possibilities (having a shellfish allergy is not an advantage on Cape Cod!). We chose to eat there and enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere. There is an outside patio but we ate in the traditional looking interior. Had this restaurant been directly on the main street, we would have had to pay $10-15 more for our entrees. Would return on our next visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank therese l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and quiet”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a great spot off the main drag of Commercial Street that provides for a bit of quiet. We love the atmosphere of the inside for it's rustic quaintness. The service the 3 times we have eaten there has always been extremely friendly.

Of the meals we have eaten, the lobster and the Meditarranean scrod have been outstanding. On our most recent meal there, we each had one of their seafood casserole dishes (either lobster or a mix of seafoods). For these dishes, there was way too much ritz cracker crumbs, so I'd recommend to the chef or to the person ordering these dishes to ask that this be minimized as it made finding the seafood meat tricky and it was pretty dry. In general, I recommend going with foods with less coating. Other than that, it's a great place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went here twice during my stay in Provincetown, MA. Had seafood (shrimp, scallops, lobster) cooked two different ways. Both were excellent! The waitstaff was most congenial and helpful. I would highly recommend it. In addition, if you parked in the public parking area, it's on the way!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaineGuyBangorArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Central Cafe also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing