We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two men entered my room with a card key”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rockland
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Two men entered my room with a card key”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I was in bed and my room mate was talking to me from the bathroom when we heard someone insert a key card in the door. Next thing, I am staring at two men who were entering my room! Fortunately, they were as confused as we were and they apologized and exited the room. Making matters worse, we had already notified the front desk that our room phone was inoperable, so we could not call the front desk (or security or the police!). I used my cell phone to call the front desk. I called three times and no one answered the phone. (this was around 11 p.m.)

So, I covered my pajamas and my roommate and I went to the desk to explain how someone's error had subjected us to potential harm, rape, or robbery. We received a very weak apology and some poor excuses. The manager was unavailable, so we went back to our rooms to find ourselves locked out! Our keys no longer provided access to the room!

The next day, I asked to speak with the manager and I was promised that she would contact me at some point during the day. I never heard from the manager, even though I gave my cell number for that purpose. The phone repair was later completed in under 5 minutes. The wire that goes to the wall needed to be replaced. In the hospitality industry, that is a major problem. That phone should have been fixed immediately upon our arrival or we should have been given a new room.

These are "life safety" issues....it cannot get any worse than this.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HBalt-and-HNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    44
    20
    10
    12
See reviews for
50
26
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

A sweltering 4 days of heat wave outside. We had two rooms on third floor, one for grown kids, one for parents. The entire place stinks of cigarette smoke. The hallways are not air conditioned (because "it's an older building"?) and third floor was sweltering. Ridiculous. I had booked it via Travelocity's "top secret surprise room" or something like that so unbeknownst to us we got 2 smoking rooms. (I'll take that up with them!) The lovely lady at the desk managed to let us switch to non-smoking, but we had to upgrade, so an extra $55. The kids' room still stunk badly, but ours was just moldy. Sheets and floors were clean. They need to change filters on AC. Shower didn't drain. I found a used bar of soap between the piled up plastic drinking cups. I whacked my ankle badly on a 4" piece of steel jutting out from the bed, covered by bedskirt. Taken alone, they can all be explained away, but together they made for one lousy mini-vacation. Adding insult to injury was the ridiculously high price for a Comfort Inn. Breakfast was good for this sort of place. The lady at the desk gave us $25 off our upgrade price when I pointed out some of my displeasure. Essentially, upper management needs to step up and fix the very poor air quality and things like the killer bed, and spot check the housekeeping. Staff very pleasant despite it all.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the hotter the rooms are. Even non-smoking floors reek of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockland hotels

Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Was looking for a hotel to escape the northeast current heat wave. Ran into the the local Holiday and BW and was welcomed, not. The Comfort Inn in Rocland greeted me with open arms and actually held the room for me for 2hrs and pumped up the air in the room I was to occupy later. Every staff member was smiling and happy and friendly, unlike the other two hotels who were kind of pouty. The GM, Amy, must be a hands on employer because she was right there from the moment I checked in till the time I checked out. Everything was top notch!. Parking convenient and clean lots, landscaping well attended, Houskeeping keeps the rooms immaculate and well kept. Probably the freshest most organized and relaxing complimentary breakfast I've ever been offered in my travels. And the selection! The property, itself, has a great location to Boston, Plymouth and Cape Cod. I am a local and plan on reccomending this hotel to everyone who needs to run away from home for a night or two or even three.

Room Tip: off of Rte 3 drive past the 2 hotels on your left and the Comfort Inn Rockland will be on your right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
386 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

And can't imagine how it has less than satisfactory ratings on here. :o It is a beautiful colonial style hotel and the staff was SO nice. Room was great and clean and the hotel seemed safe and was quiet. The beds were hard though. That is truly my only complaint. I would stay again if in the area!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyTravelBug80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here a couple of times and have always been satisfied. The staff is friendly and helpful. Though an older property it has been well maintained and the rooms are kept clean. The beds are comfortable, shower good, wi-fi ok, etc.... There are fairly decent restaurants within a short driving distance and easy access to Rt. 3. I would call this a good value for this area.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank steverinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This place is your typical hotel, nothing really stuck out about it except the smell. Upon entering our room there was a heavy floral odor. I assume they use scented carpet sprinkles? The only saving grace was the window opened unlike most hotels now so that helped a little. The room itself was fine and appeared clean. The pillows were a joke, not enough filling, flat. Skip the cookies at the front desk, I could see flies on them under the plastic cover. Free breakfast was standard bagels, cereal etc. but the eggs were strange looking, I would not go there. Also when I called the front desk they sent me to a non existant ice machine and I had to search and find one on another floor. Despite these minor issues I would return if in the area again due to the great rate we payed ($89).

Room Tip: there is no ice machine on floor 3
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Very quaint! Worth the trip off the highway, a few nice eatery's next door, with a nice local sports bar with delicious food. Dunkin Donuts across the street Tractor trailer parking easy enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verylucrative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Rockland
Best Western Rockland
#1 of 3 in Rockland
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Rockland
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brockton (Boston)
8.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree
8.2 mi away
Nantasket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 850 Hingham St, Rockland, MA 02370-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Rockland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rockland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Rockland
Comfort Inn Rockland
Rockland Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing