We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Time”
Review of The Seaward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seaward
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Time”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We wanted to relax on the last two days of our hectic two week holiday. Just hoped for a little B&B by the sea but we found a small piece of paradise. It was like stepping back in time to a more peaceful age. The room looked over the sea and was very clean. The king size bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was buffet and lots of choices. The walk into town on the Old Garden path is beautiful and takes about 15 minutes. On route is a wonderful beach and just a bit further is point where you can see Rockport harbour. We were able to chill and relax. The owner Nancy and all the other staff made us feel most welcome. If we had found the Seaward Inn at the beginning of the holiday we would have definitely stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeawardRockport, Owner at The Seaward, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! You mention all of the things that make the Seaward Inn and Rockport a special place. Come to think of it, you would be a successful travel writer if you aren’t one already! We wish you could have stayed longer as well, but there’s always next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    18
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Had an amazing time in Cape Ann and loved staying at the Seaward Inn! Wonderful view and very good food. Large, clean, and comfy room. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating to our needs. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina7873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeawardRockport, Owner at The Seaward, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
I never tire of hearing about my guest’s experience, especially when they are as sincere and kind as in your thoughtful review. Please come visit us again!
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrangeville, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We spent a long weekend at Seaward Inn. We loved the location, walkable to Rockport and a great secluded beach. Rooms were air conditioned and comfortable, with a deck ocean view. Rooms were not fancy, but had everything we needed. "Continental" breakfast was fine, though the dining room got fairly warm two mornings. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayeff001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeawardRockport, Owner at The Seaward, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm always thrilled to hear from folks who have enjoyed their stay. We sure did have a warm spell while you were here! We took your advice and moved the buffet into the air conditioned dining rooms until the steamy weather finally broke. The front porch, with an ocean breeze, is still the favorite dining area. Thank you again. I look forward to your return! Warm regards, Nancy (Owner/Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Often when I read over reviews others have left, I wonder if people ever checked out not just the place they were staying, but the area itself! Rockport, thank god, is not the Hamptons and the accommodations tend to be geared towards peace and quiet - views and that certain "je ne c'est quois" that belongs to New England fishing villages. Rockport hasn't changed much since I first went there 40 years ago and the Seaward Inn probably hasn't changed much either. Internet service is offered (albeit spotty in the out buildings) BUT WHO CARES? That isn't why one goes to Rockport. The missing lightbulb in our bedroom was promptly replaced. The soap that the over-enthusiastic cleaning staff removed was replaced. Tea requires a wait for them to heat hot water ...but coffee is easier to get! I'd love low-fat milk but again, SO WHAT? You have to come down a few notches when you visit Rockport and staying at the Seaward Inn reduces your blood pressure at the first whiff of salt air. I played ping pong. I sat by the benches and "smelled the roses". The very things that others might find annoying, I found re-assuring. Re-assuring, in as much as some things don't change and that is just fine with us!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeawardRockport, Owner at The Seaward, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback, Nezzie. I did have low fat milk at the beginning of the season but, surprisingly, found I was throwing it out more often than not, as no one was asking for it?! On your next visit we will definitely have hot water ready for your tea as well as low fat milk. I love your attitude and am so glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you again, Nancy (owner/manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was one of our worst hotel experiences ever. Ceiling over the bed was stained, carpet was dirty, powdered creamer for coffee and on Sunday they still only had the Friday paper in the lobby. It seems like they are milking the Property for every penny.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amulhern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeawardRockport, Owner at The Seaward, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
I was terribly sorry to hear of your experience at the Seaward Inn. I’m assuming you were in room 105 – a lovely ocean view room. Actually it is Whoopie Goldberg’s favorite when she frequents the Seaward Inn. Yes, it is an older building and there is a small water stain on the wallpaper in that room. Unfortunately when a guest spills something which stains a rug during our short season (May to October) there is little we can do about it. However, I can assure you the rugs are clean. We have started leaving a powdered creamer out over night for early risers looking for coffee before the staff arrives in the morning. It’s sanitary. It’s not our first choice but gets changed to cream once they arrive. In terms of the newspaper…oversights do happen.
Regarding your last point, I can assure you that I am not milking the property for every penny. It is, rather, an act of love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at the Seward Inn for one night. Room was alright and clean, staff friendly and helpful. The Inn is nicely located in a quiete neighborhood just across the street from the ocean, 15 minwalking distance from the city center. Breakfast is very good. We got a very good deal, defintely worth the money.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeawardRockport, Owner at The Seaward, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you! We hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Seaward Inn last year for five nights. We loved it so much we returned this year June 5-9. This time we brought along my partners parents. They too were extremely happy with their stay. The Inn is clean and quiet, the breakfast is delicious, and the view is breathtaking. The walk to Bear Skin Neck is an easy one whether you choose to take the garden path along the ocean or just walk the streets to town through the neighborhood. Rockport is close to everything. We flew into Boston and drove directly to Rockport (about an hour drive if you don't stop along the way). Glouscester, Salem, Ipswich, Essex, Marblehead, among other interesting towns are all close by and easy drives from the Inn. We even drove up to Maine one afternoon to visit Kennebunkport!
The staff at the Seaward Inn is extremely accommodating and friendly. Once again we came home to share our photos with our friends and brag about our stay at the Seaward Inn. I assure you this will NOT be our last visit to the Seaward Inn!!!!
F & M - Kansas City, Missouri

Room Tip: We've stayed in room 104 (garden view) and room 109 (partial ocean view)...both were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithZ253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
4.8 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seaward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seaward

Property: The Seaward
Address: 42 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966-1819 (Formerly Seaward Inn)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Seaward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaward, nestled on the outmost edge of Cape Ann, is a pristine, seaside vacation rental property with fabulous ocean views. Guests can choose from Spruce Cottage, Lover's Cove (king bedded apartment), or Gully Point (suite with deck). Each has a private bathroom, Direct TV, free wireless internet, air conditioning, a refrigerator, microwave, cook top, coffee maker, hairdryers and plenty of free parking. There is also an outdoor gas grille for your convenience and pleasure. The Seaward offers a refreshing, seaside alternative to vacationing in Rockport with these four unique choices of accommodations. Guests who visit The Seaward comment on the restful atmosphere, while still being close to a wealth of attractions including gorgeous nature preserves, great shopping, boating, whale watching, museums, and sandy beaches. We also offer bicycles to enjoy the winding rocky coastal roads and pathways with stunning vistas and breathtaking sunrises and sunsets. The Seaward is located on Marmion Way, known for its lovely homes, gardens and ocean views. Here you can relax to the soothing sound of waves lapping the rocky shore and distant fog horn while watching the lobster and sailboats pass by. We are a short & scenic mile to downtown Rockport which can be accessed along an ocean path. Along the way you will pass Old Garden Beach; a good spot for a dip, and "headlands" for an outstanding view of Rockport Harbor. Spruce Cottage - enjoy two bedrooms - a queen sized bed in one room and 2 twin beds in another. The kitchen offers a stove, sink, small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Although most folks prefer to relax on the front lawn, the cozy living room includes a kitchen table, fireplace couch and flatscreen TV.  Gully Point - Enjoy a deck with ocean views and rocking chairs. Gully Point offers accommodations for up to 4 people comfortably. One bedroom has a queen sized bed, while the rather spacious living room has accommodations for two more on a comfortable (full size) sleeper couch. Loblolly Cove - has a similar set up as Gully Point and can adjoin it to accommodate up to 8 people. Enjoy a deck with ocean views. On it's own Loblolly Cove offers accommodations for up to 5 people. One bedroom has a queen sized bed, while the living room has a twin day bed and pull our (full) couch. Lovers Cove has ocean views, a king sized bed, newly conditioned hardwood floors and a small private courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Seaward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaward Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing