We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word, Magical!”
Review of The Seaward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seaward
Tolland, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In a word, Magical!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

In a word, magical. that's how I would describe my stay at the Seaward Inn in Rockport, MA. Located on the Atlantic Ocean the view is spectacular, as only the ocean can be. Sunrises viewed from my balcony fueled the energy for a new day and made the promise for sunshine whose warmth is felt in many ways. With a staff that treats you as a dear friend, your room is charming cozy comfortable and spotless. The breakfast buffet is fresh and delicious, with something for everyone. Rockport is the quintessential New England seaside village. Definitely a must do. Best of all was the exceptional hospitality of Nancy, Lee and all of the staff at the Seaward Inn. My stay was originally booked for 2 nights and 3 days. I extended my stay to 5 nights and 6 days, still not wanting to leave. My birthday is soon and I so look forward to another stay at this glorious inn. Trust me, you won't be disappointed. You'll so feel the magic.

Room Tip: Wonderful to travelers with pets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeraldineMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    18
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

What makes a wedding venue perfect?? It is location, location, location!!! We spent our first anniversary at the Seaward Inn and it's breathtaking view is to be admired and wondered at. It seemed only natural when our daughter was looking for a venue that she choose a Rockport location view a million dollar view. The Inn was transformed into a magical, heavenly reception that our florist said was to be envied by all. Even he (Petros of Ipswich) was amazed at how simply elegant the Inn was transformed. His comments only cemented our feelings that the Inn as a wedding venue was top notch, with a staff and event planner ( Lee) who listened carefully to our thoughts and then implemented them to perfection. The location, the food--we had a brunch catered by the Beach Gourmet--and the staff of the Inn made a wedding day of our dreams. Many thanks for a perfect "10" wedding, Linda J of Rockport--yes we live here in this great town!!!!!

Room Tip: You cannot beat the location for whatever reason you are traveling or celebrating. We brought family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webberdrive77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeawardRockport, Public Relations Manager at The Seaward, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Linda, Jessica & Tyler, on behalf of everyone at the Seaward Inn we want to thank you for choosing to spend your most special and treasured day with us! You were an absolute pleasure to work with and your wedding will always be regarded as one of our finest and most dear! You truly gave the entire crew here much joy and we hope you will always be in touch! Jessica & Tyler, here's to many beautiful years and memories which await you both! Thank you once again. -LC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenK84
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Had an amazing few days at the Seaward Inn while exploring Rockport and Gloucester. Beautiful ocean view and the nicest staff. Regarding the Rockport area, we attended the performance center in downtown Rockport for a free concert. The quality was amazing and the venue and view were outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeawardRockport, Public Relations Manager at The Seaward, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! We are delighted that you chose to spend a few days with us, and had the opportunity to experience the beauty and charm of Rockport! We look forward to greeting you on your return! -LC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My husband and I were looking forward to a quick weekend getaway, our first since our son was born. We chose Rockport because it was a relatively easy drive, and we had heard great things about the area. We had no idea where we should stay, and after quite a bit of research, settled on the Seaward Inn. Luckily, this turned out to be one of the best travel decisions we've ever made! The Seaward Inn was the perfect combination of top-notch service in a relaxed and unpretentious atmosphere. The room was clean and comfortable, and the view from the Inn was spectacular. Our favorite time was in the evening, when we would get a glass of wine from the bar inside, and sit outside to enjoy the fresh ocean breeze. If you're planning a trip to Rockport, I would highly recommend the Seaward Inn. Oh, the free breakfast was really good, too. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeawardRockport, Public Relations Manager at The Seaward, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Wow! Thank you so very much for your very gracious review! There is a particular charm here which has captured the hearts of guests for nearly 70 years, and it's nice to read how our valued guests still appreciate the unspoiled beauty, calm and relaxing atmosphere to this very day. Our new bar, which was implemented this year, "The Hannah Jumper" has been a favorite for guests to grab an appetizer and cocktail, and it's nice to hear you were among the many who enjoyed it! Please come visit again - the staff will be ready to greet you with a smile! - LC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just returned from 5 days/4 nights at Seaward Inn. We - two couples - had a wonderful time. The inn was exactly what we were looking for - quaint, charming and comfortable. We stayed in the cottage which was so cozy and pleasant as well as providing us with everything we needed.
Of course the views of the ocean were amazing and we certainly enjoyed them whether it was from inside the cottage, outside from the seating areas scattered about or from the front room of the main inn. This room is spectacular with big windows overlooking the ocean and comfortable seating . We spent a few very relaxing and fun evenings in this room while sipping drinks and munching on hors d'oeuvres. It was here on one of the evenings that we met two other guests - jazz musicians who were performing at the Shalin Liu Performance Center on the following evening. We decided to attend the performance and it was wonderful.
We also shopped along the bearsneck in downtown Rockport, hiked the ocean path to town as well as the trails of the truly beautiful Halibut State Park and of course ate fresh lobster almost every day.
Nancy, Lee and Joe were great - accommodating, gracious and informative. Many thanks to them for everything. We are planning a return trip next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeawardRockport, Manager at The Seaward, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
All of us at the Seaward Inn are so thrilled to read your gracious review (what a wonderful start to the season), and we were so privileged to host such lovely guests! The quaint charm, peaceful ambiance, genuine serenity, quintessential New England hospitality and spectacular setting right on the Atlantic has been welcoming guests, like yourselves for nearly 70 years - and we're so delighted that you were able to experience a true, relaxing getaway with us! Also, how great it was that you had the opportunity to stay amongst the Shalin Liu performers - and then see them live at such a beautiful venue! And to top it off there were other guests visiting from your hometown during your stay - or as we say, new friends!
Our front sun/breakfast room is the perfect place for an appetizer and glass of wine (which might I add, thank you for the compliments of our new and diverse wine and cocktail menu) - it certainly reiterated that the many great changes made for the 2013 season are quickly becoming new favorite amenities for our valued guests!
We are anxiously awaiting your return, and want you to know you have a second home here at the Seaward Inn! Whenever you need to unwind - we'll be here ready to welcome you back! Much health and happiness this summer season! -Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

What a welcoming, comfortable and charming Inn, My family has been meeting at the Seaward Inn for our reunion in June for over 10 years. It has become the highlight of our summer, Nancy and her crew welcome us with open arms, remember our names and are there to make sure our visit is as good a the last. There just are not any places anymore that you can return and the same staff and owner remember you and genuinely care how your past year has been. They have become part of our family!
See you in June Nancy!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeawardRockport, Owner at The Seaward, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We love having you here year after year. There is nothing more important than family. Thank you for letting us be part of yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2012

A quaint, homey Inn with a million dollar view! My family and I have been visiting this little gem since my 23 year old was born...a throw back to a gentler time...wonderful food, gracious hospitality...the Innkeeper lovingly runs this Inn which has been in her family for generations. We try to stay here once a year, but head up there several times each summer for breakfast...45" from my home but the moment we sit in their dining room we are transported to another world. The Inn is a short walk along the sea to the quaint shops and restaurants of Bear Skin Neck. We highly recommend the Seaward Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeawardRockport, Owner at The Seaward, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you!! We always enjoy your visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.9 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
389 reviews
4.8 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
203 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seaward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seaward

Property: The Seaward
Address: 42 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966-1819 (Formerly Seaward Inn)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Seaward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaward, nestled on the outmost edge of Cape Ann, is a pristine, seaside vacation rental property with fabulous ocean views. Guests can choose from Spruce Cottage, Lover's Cove (king bedded apartment), or Gully Point (suite with deck). Each has a private bathroom, Direct TV, free wireless internet, air conditioning, a refrigerator, microwave, cook top, coffee maker, hairdryers and plenty of free parking. There is also an outdoor gas grille for your convenience and pleasure. The Seaward offers a refreshing, seaside alternative to vacationing in Rockport with these four unique choices of accommodations. Guests who visit The Seaward comment on the restful atmosphere, while still being close to a wealth of attractions including gorgeous nature preserves, great shopping, boating, whale watching, museums, and sandy beaches. We also offer bicycles to enjoy the winding rocky coastal roads and pathways with stunning vistas and breathtaking sunrises and sunsets. The Seaward is located on Marmion Way, known for its lovely homes, gardens and ocean views. Here you can relax to the soothing sound of waves lapping the rocky shore and distant fog horn while watching the lobster and sailboats pass by. We are a short & scenic mile to downtown Rockport which can be accessed along an ocean path. Along the way you will pass Old Garden Beach; a good spot for a dip, and "headlands" for an outstanding view of Rockport Harbor. Spruce Cottage - enjoy two bedrooms - a queen sized bed in one room and 2 twin beds in another. The kitchen offers a stove, sink, small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Although most folks prefer to relax on the front lawn, the cozy living room includes a kitchen table, fireplace couch and flatscreen TV.  Gully Point - Enjoy a deck with ocean views and rocking chairs. Gully Point offers accommodations for up to 4 people comfortably. One bedroom has a queen sized bed, while the rather spacious living room has accommodations for two more on a comfortable (full size) sleeper couch. Loblolly Cove - has a similar set up as Gully Point and can adjoin it to accommodate up to 8 people. Enjoy a deck with ocean views. On it's own Loblolly Cove offers accommodations for up to 5 people. One bedroom has a queen sized bed, while the living room has a twin day bed and pull our (full) couch. Lovers Cove has ocean views, a king sized bed, newly conditioned hardwood floors and a small private courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Seaward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaward Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing