We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuck Inn B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Tuck Inn B&B
Ranked #5 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at The Tuck Inn for three nights- The owners Liz and Scott could not have made us feel more welcome- Every morning, there's a fresh selection of all sorts of amazing baked goodies- or you can try cereal, fruit or yogurt if you like- The home is very quaint, more than 200 years old and the town of Rockport is beautiful- Liz and Scott are very good people- they will make you feel completely at home. I can't believe anyone would give The Tuck Inn less than 5 stars, just an amazing experience!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bribaby368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
118
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington or Cambridge
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I brought my mother here for a few days as she loves Rockport (I do too!) and we needed a room with twin beds on first floor level. We just loved the atmosphere Liz and Scott have created with their homey inn and delicious baked goods breakfasts. We met some wonderful and interesting folks in the cheerful breakfast room and I enjoyed reading the daily paper in the cozy living room. Our room was very private, comfortable, quiet, and furnished with interesting antiques. Liz and Scott are very accommodating with tips for where to eat, providing directions, and just very easy to talk with. Felt like I was visiting distant relatives. Do check out their AARP & AAA special rates under the "Specials" on their website. I neglected to do this prior to my stay, but will be sure to mention it next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We were made to feel like long lost family in this lovely B&B. Scott & Liz make their very hard work look effortless. Rockport was a dream and our stay was far too short. Keep on doing what you do so very well.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GapYearTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Overall we found the Tuck Inn to be a very comfortable B & B, and enjoyed our stay very much. Scott and Liz are great hosts, who are willing to help you enjoy not only the inn but also your stay in the area. The baked goods for breakfast are delightful, albeit high in carbs! The fresh fruit was a wonderful addition.

Two suggestions - the breakfast is as advertised, essentially a continental breakfast of breads, cakes, cereal and fruit. Great choices but a little protein would go a long way. We were reminded of the "European breakfast," which includes, along with the breads, deli meats/cheese, and/or hard/soft boiled eggs. Can still be low on effort, but a nice addition.

The only other negative on an otherwise great inn was the flimsy towels in our bath. They were thin and worn, seemingly better moved to the rag pile. We have seen this at other B & B's and am not sure why replacements haven't just been purchased at Target or Walmart. I am sure it is difficult to keep towels looking good but when they are fraying, it definitely affects the overall opinion.

Again, GREAT PLACE, GREAT PEOPLE. The suggestions are meant as just that and should not keep someone from visiting.

Room Tip: We were on the street side and might choose a back one in the future...though it was not that noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsygal3095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canton ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights and agree with the majority of reviewers that Scott & Lisa have a wonderful inn. We arrived early approx. 11:00 am and were able to get into our room right away. Scott gave us a list of restaurants to scope out and within a few minutes walk we were in the midst of all of them. There are many scenic walks close to the property and the first day we didn't even use our car. Had I done a little more research I would have stayed an extra day or two as there is a train station in Rockport that has service to Boston on a regular basis and that trip is just over an hour. My wife and I are already dreaming up our next itinerary to New England using Tuck Inn as our hub. Scott's baking skills leave nothing to be desired. Each morning we had a bountiful array of breads, biscuits, to greet us and Scott would keep bringing freshly baked goods from the oven while we ate. As you head out for the day, you are invited to take some with you too. Our room was comfortable and enjoyed after a day of sightseeing. We are looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeFCantonOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have stayed a load of times at the Tuck Inn and this time we stayed for three nights from September 3rd and took three close friends along with us this time to introduce them to the Tuck Inn experience. Needless to say they loved it. We arrived late but no problems. As always Scott & Liz have a warm welcome awaiting. They were once again brilliant and Scott was true to form with his wonderful baking skills. Lemon Blueberry scones are just to die for. There stamina is amazing and the kindness and sheer enthusiasm that Scott and Liz have for their Inn is just incredible. We hope they never retire.
Hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: If you would like the wonderful baking smells to wake you stay in the Main House on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse is charming and our hosts Liz and Scott were extremely friendly and helpful right from the start. Nothing was too much trouble and everything you need was to hand. The centre of Rockport is only a two minute walk and there are plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants. After several miles of walking the coastline we were happy to return to the guesthouse and sit around the residents pool. The rooms are immaculate with period design, wifi is free and the Breakfast is a feast of bakery delights all home cooked that morning . The Tuck Inn is certainly a warm and caring place to stay and we have no hesitation in recommending it. Rockport is a beautiful fishing village but remember its been "Dry" for over 100 years with only a few of the restaurants serving alcoholic drinks others allowing byob.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calico1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
4.1 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yankee Clipper Inn
Yankee Clipper Inn
#8 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuck Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuck Inn B&B

Property: The Tuck Inn B&B
Address: 17 High St, Rockport, MA 01966-1644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tuck Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy 1790 Colonial Inn is located in a quiet residential section of Rockport - just one block from the village center. We are recognized for hospitable & friendly service, decorative & comfortable accommodations, and our signature breakfasts: an extraordinary Home-Baked Buffet! AAA rated: 3 Diamonds! Selected: 2002 Editor's Pick by Yankee Magazines' Travel Guide to New England! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Tuck Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuck Hotel Rockport
The Tuck Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing