We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place awesome owner - Joyce.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mooring Stone Guest House
Ranked #22 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The b and b was brilliant. Clean tidy and very close to the coast. Joyce was very nice and welcoming she told us about the area and showed us where to go and what to do and gave us maps. The beds were very comfy and slept like a log for the 2 nights we were there. There were 4 of us adults and we didn't have one complaint at all. The food was also very nice. We went jogging each morning along the coast and wow what a lovely scene. You will be very happy you stayed here. Joyce is a great person and talked to us alot and we felt at home. We live in London and can't wait to go back to rockport and stay with Joyce again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maldivesdiver68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was our first time in Rockport. We found the Mooring Stone to be the perfect place to stay. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean and very private. Joyce the owner/proprietor was very gracious and gave us a lot of information about this gorgeous town! It was also a lot of fun to eat breakfast in the tea house which was like being in a life size doll house for grown-ups. Would most certainly stay here again. It is within walking distance to a beach, as well as the stores & restaurants. It was fun just to walk in the neighborhood which is filled with beautiful and charming homes. We also saw a fantastic show at the local performing arts center which is absolutely beautiful. Behind the stage are very large picture windows where you have a great view of the harbor! Again, this is a really lovely town and the b&b was great!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2tripluvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I am not sure the reason behind the less than perfect experience that one of the guest had at the Mooring Stone B&B, but from personal experience let me say, that it should not inhibit you from the marvelous experience that awaits you at the Mooring Stone B&B. Joyce Cannon is a gem and to put it any other way would not do her justice. She is very personable, accommodating and knowledgeable in any and everything having to do with Rockport; like what's the best restaurant, the best beach, the best place to sit and paint, the best place to have a romantic evening or merely the place to capture the best view. Morning breakfast at the B&B is divine; and this is coming from someone who is very picky about what they eat and from whom. Location, location, location…..let me be the first to say that the Mooring Stone B&B is perfectly located in the center of town, accessible to the local restaurants, shops, Art center. For those of you looking for an affordable, comfortable, cozy and incredibly clean place to spend your evenings, the Mooring Stone B&B is simply the best!

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaustrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stopped 1 night at the Mooring stone before returning to the UK via Boston airport. Joyce the proprietor was extremely friendly and we were like old friends throughout our stay. It was noticeable that any other residents of Rockport were of a similar mind set and eager to pass the time of day with you.

The property is on a quiet one way street with parking in front of house, with separate guest entrance at the end. Also the harbour is only one block below the property , where the street is also one way in the opposite direction. The rooms are of a ample size , clean with ample storage and aircon. The bathroom was a reasonable size also with dispensers for soaps , shampoos etc. Our breakfast was a continental style affair, with plenty of choice for those of different pallets.

In the main hallway there was an array of brochures and maps of the surrounding areas and towns. Joyce is only too keen to assist you in finding the best areas to visit and what you will find there, in what is a very picturesque area.

Due to the time of our flight that evening, we were able to do some more exploring of the area that day. Joyce kindly allowed us to leave our stuff in the room until mid afternoon.

TIP. Take time to walk around the headlands , which are only 2 minutes walk away.

TIP. Rockport is a dry town , so there are no pubs or similar establishments, it is only recently that they have allowed restaurants to start serving wine or offer B.Y.O.B. It is the opinion of the locals we talked to that this is why the restaurants produce very bland meals, though ONE came highly recommended, with prices to match.

FEEDBACK APPRECIATED !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eltel432016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect when I made a reservation, but the price was reasonable and I'm a sucker for a homemade blueberry muffin! We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived- everything was easy and relaxed. Joyce, the owner, is a gem and the place is hospital-clean. Mooring stone is located on a quiet street with parking with a 5 min walk to downtown. Mooring Stone was delightful and I would absolutely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skincando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Mooring Stone B&B is a magical place. I proposed to my fiancee here
and it was just perfect. Rockport is a great little town full of
surprises and Mooring Stone is perfectly located. Just a few short
blocks from the ocean, great shops, ice cream, and restaurants. It's a
great town to visit during the warm or cold months. If you live in the
northeast Rockport is a much more convenient and affordable summer
vacation than traveling across the country. The Mooring Stone B&B is
clean, spacious, and homey. The tea house out back is beautiful, and
the #1 asset is Joyce (the inn keeper). She was just fantastic, for
the proposal she setup a fire, apple cider, tea and cheese, sent us in
the right direction and decorated the room with champagne, rose
pedals, and sweets for our return home. We have been back since and
she is just always so tremendously thoughtful and giving. When she
cooks breakfast it is damn good, and she seems to have access to
anything you could ever imagine. Mooring Stone B&B has really been a
blessing for us and we liked the town so much we are getting married
their in August. In short, a truly exceptional experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are the same, more or less
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eduardoebustamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I was skeptical of this place from when I first called to make the reservation- Joyce answered the phone with just a "hello." I wasn't even sure I had actually called a B&B. I felt like I was the one pushing to make a reservation- she seemed sort of passive and indifferent. So from the start I was a little wary of what the experience would be, but decided to give it a go based on the decent price and good reviews (although in the aftermath, I have no idea how this place got such high reviews).

My boyfriend and I arrived around 6 pm to find no one there- no staff, no guests, nothing. But Joyce had left a note on the door with her cell phone number, saying to call if she wasn't in as she was probably right around the corner. Great- except we called and got no response. Called again, no response. We had to find an open door around back and let ourselves in, at which point we found a guy inside who said he was there helping Joyce out. He had no idea that we were expected and really couldn't help us at all. We were quite frustrated as we had spent the day hiking and just wanted to rest and shower before dinner. Our only option was to leave and come back later, when Joyce finally got our message and returned out call. So we left for a few hours and got coffee. Joyce finally called us back (without much of an apology), and returned- but we got back to find that she had already left. Luckily she had left a room key, so we settled in without ever meeting her.

The room was basic- king size bed was nice, but not the most comfortable thing ever. There was a tiny tv with a VCR attached- not exactly an up-to-date establishment. The room was basically nondescript. It was fine for a night's sleep, but nothing special at all.

Woke up in the morning and had what was basically a fancy continental breakfast- again pretty nondescript (the blueberry muffins were pretty nice though- seemed homemade). The "tea room" that everyone describes in their reviews is basically an enclosed porch, which must be nice in the summer but certainly isn't a "tea room." We didn't get to eat there though due to bad weather. We did finally meet Joyce, again without any real apology for the inconvenience of the night before. I still think that she was pretty indifferent to actually having guests. She sat with us through all of breakfast and chatted- nice enough, but we would have enjoyed some time to ourselves. We checked out and paid shortly thereafter.

Overall, I was completely underwhelmed. Proprietors usually go to great lengths to make a guest's stay a great one, and Joyce didn't seem to be interested in doing that at all. The inn is nondescript, although the price and location are pretty decent. I don't think I would recommend this to a friend- there are much cuter, more enjoyable places to stay in Rockport. We will be sure to stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cassieco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockport hotels
1.6 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Linden Tree Inn
Linden Tree Inn
#13 of 24 in Rockport
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Changing Tides Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pleasant Street Inn
Pleasant Street Inn
#12 of 24 in Rockport
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#3 of 24 in Rockport
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooring Stone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooring Stone Guest House

Address: 19 Atlantic Ave, Rockport, MA 01966-1651 (Formerly Mooring Stone Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mooring Stone Guest House is located directly on Rockport Harbor across the water from Motif #1 and Bearskin Neck in a quiet residential neighborhood. Enjoy your suite of one bedroom, sitting area, wet bar, private bath and shared patio. Your private entrance, with locked gate, is accessible 24/7. Fabulous, interesting and ever-changing scenes of Rockport Harbor and the Atlantic Ocean will capture your attention. Park your car and walk steps to town, the Headlands and Old Garden Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing