We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss meeting Joyce Cannon, the innkeeper at The Mooring Stone B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mooring Stone Guest House
Ranked #22 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss meeting Joyce Cannon, the innkeeper at The Mooring Stone B&B”
Reviewed 15 September 2010

If you are planning a trip to New England, Rockport, MA should be at the top of your list. Don't miss visiting this lovely town, one of four towns on Cape Ann Peninsula north of Boston, One of the nearby towns is Gloucester MA which was the setting of the movie."The Perfect Storm."

While in Rockport stay at the Mooring Stone Bed and Breakfast. This wonderful inn has three very comfortable rooms. Nothing fussy--just perfect taste.

Breakfast can be inside in the dining room.or in a little wooden tea house out in the back yard, a very special place,

The Mooring Stone B&B is comforting.The city of Rockport is full of shops and galleries and restaurants. Cape Ann is full of views, one right after the other. But the real draw is the innkeeper, Joyce Cannon, Joyce is very friendly, full of ideas for your day. Joyce is from Massachusets. She lives in Rockport and truly loves the town. She is very cheerful and energetic,, and seems to know every one in the town. People often revisit the Mooring Stone. We've learned this chatting with fellow guests during breakfast. Why do they return? For many reasons. But the reason at the top of the list is always the same: JOYCE CANNON.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erlinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodacre, CA
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2010

If you wonder what a mooring stone is, just ask Joyce, the proprietor of Rockport's sweet Mooring Stone B&B. This cute spot is the best, most quiet B&B in Rockport. Within a five minute walk of both Bearskin Neck and Old Garden Beach, the Mooring Stone B&B is truly a unique spot on Cape Ann. With its three guest rooms, there is never a crowd in the tea house for breakfast. It's quiet and off the beaten path into town. Walk or bike around Rockport leaving your vehicle and belongings in your room at 12 Norwood Ave. Proprietor Joyce is a fountain of knowledge as to where to go and what to do and see in Rockport, Cape Ann and beyond. You just might have the best banana bread you've ever tasted.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rutfhfalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Horeb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The Mooring Stone is a delightful place to stay. The screened tea house is a great place to relax, read, and converse with other travelers. Joyce, the owner, is such a helpful hostess. This was definitely one of the highlights of our entire trip at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyMt_Horeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2010

What a lovely and pleasant place to visit and stay. Innkeeper was wonderful and breakfast in the outdoor tea house was fantastic. Rooms are private with individual private baths. Town is wonderful and very walkable. Scenery is lovely. Rooms are clean and property well kept. Innkeeper very responsive.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie90045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2006

My husband and I along with another couple just stayed 3 nights (8/29-9/1/06) at The Mooring Stone. It is a lovely B & B just one road off the main street of Rockport. Everything is in walking distance (the sea, restaurants, shops). Our rooms were large, warmly decorated and very comfortable. The private bathrooms with separate rooms for the vanity and tub/shower, were very clean and well stocked. Joyce, the inn's owner, is an energetic and very accommodating host . She is extremely informative and helpful about what to see and do in Rockport and the surrounding areas. Breakfast, served in a lovely tea house, offers a variety of cereals, bagels, muffins, juices, teas and coffee. We would definitely visit with Joyce again!

Helpful?
Thank valjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockport hotels
0.2 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lantana House
Lantana House
#9 of 25 in Rockport
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach & King Street Inn
Beach & King Street Inn
#3 of 4 in Rockport
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Addison Choate Inn
Addison Choate Inn
#6 of 25 in Rockport
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tuck Inn B&B
The Tuck Inn B&B
#5 of 25 in Rockport
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooring Stone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooring Stone Guest House

Property: Mooring Stone Guest House
Address: 19 Atlantic Ave, Rockport, MA 01966-1651 (Formerly Mooring Stone Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mooring Stone Guest House is located directly on Rockport Harbor across the water from Motif #1 and Bearskin Neck in a quiet residential neighborhood. Enjoy your suite of one bedroom, sitting area, wet bar, private bath and shared patio. Your private entrance, with locked gate, is accessible 24/7. Fabulous, interesting and ever-changing scenes of Rockport Harbor and the Atlantic Ocean will capture your attention. Park your car and walk steps to town, the Headlands and Old Garden Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing