We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals I have had”
Review of Emerson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emerson Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Several of us go to Rockport for one dinner during the summer, it is about 1.5 hours with summer trafic, but always a good time. This year we tried a new place, Emerson Inn by TheSea, it is just a few minutes drive outside of the town center. The atmosphere was great, we had a table out on the veranda overlooking the ocean and the weather was perfect. The wait staff were very nice and were happy to answer all our question. The menu had something for all and it was not all the same boring meals. The group started off with a few specialty drinks and they went over very well. But once the meal came, everyone could not believe how amazing the food was. Most all in the group felt that it was one of the best meals we had had for a good long while.

If you are looking for a great view and a delicious meal, I highly recommend Emerson Inn by the Sea

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed over for a night for a long weekend. We were going up to Rockport for a spontaneous trip. We saw they were booked online but called anyway and they were able to accommodate us with the last room available for the night. The Inn was easy to find, it is in a great location right on the water. Our room was not ready when we checked in but we were given towels to use the outdoor pool while we waited.

I would of given this Inn 5 stars but didn't because we found the pool area to be lacking in seating. We had no place to sit when we went to check it out. We had an hour to kill so just opted for the adirondack chairs in the yard area. I know the pool area space is limited but even putting more lounge chairs just outside the gate area facing the water would be nice for those who want to enjoy the pool when no chairs are available. It also seemed like some people were taking up chairs with items then left the area, so maybe a sign can be displayed to prohibit that.

Room was VERY clean. The bathroom especially. I loved the soap and lotion, were of high quality. We didn't mind the vintage wallpaper and furniture, we expected that. Beds were comfy and I liked there was a variety of pillows from foam to down already on each bed.

Breakfast in the morning was a hot buffet. I enjoyed the waffles, eggs and fresh fruit. My husband would of liked bacon but the ham was fine. There were various cold items as well such as scones, muffins, yogurt, etc.

We didn't dine in the restaurant but the dinner menu looked high end, a little pricey but looked to have some nice offerings.

We loved there were many areas around the hotel to relax. We spent little time in each such as the front porch, back back, Adirondack chairs, and the pool. There is a little path down to the water that has some nice scenery and photo opps.

Parking was easy right along the hotel road. Even though we were there for 1 night, we already would like to return in the fall or next summer. It was very quiet and we were told the hotel was full which was impressive. We slept well, it seemed most people were there for some R&R. I didn't see any rowdiness or even any children. Service was excellent from whomever we encountered.

I took home a few brochures to recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Half the rooms face the harbor.The other side is a residential view which gets the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bostonjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I found the meal and service beyond my expectations. The entire staff went out of their way to make our group feel like we were the most important people in the world you can be assured that we will be back and will tell our friends in the area about our enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurley1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Words can't express how happy we are that we chose the Emerson as our wedding venue! The coordinator, Melissa, was attentive and knowledgeable and a pleasure to work with. The staff was great and the Inn had the perfect New England seaside vibe we wanted. So elegant! And the food..oh the food. The breakfast buffets were miles beyond the standard fare with the homemade whipped cream and fruit puree for the waffles and I have to say the best coffee I've had in a long time!! The meals for our reception were also top-notch and were better than most! And I loved the long front porch with rocking chairs looking out at the ocean. sigh... I can't wait to go back for our 1st anniversary! :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Emerson Inn by the Sea for the last 3 nights for our 5th Anniversary. We enjoyed it immensely. The property is beautiful, the food is AMAZING (and we are big foodies) and our Queen Ocean Room with the Juliet Balcony was fantastic. It was nice to open the slider and look out over the ocean at night. The room was equipped with a fridge so it was a nice touch to keep some wine in there. It was so tranquil. The only complaint was that the service was BEYOND slow for dinner (but if you are trying to relax it wouldnt matter) and they need a REAL bartender not a waitress following a book making drinks - I had a BAD martini and BAD cosmo because of that. Other than that it was a perfect getaway to relax. Will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: We loved the Queen Ocean View with Juliet Balcony - although there are no elevators and this is a 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alicialynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our last night following stays at top B&Bs and inns in NH and ME. We weren't sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by this quiet yet sophisticated seaside inn. Our room was a good size with a perfect view of the sea. We watched a small wedding in the back shortly after we arrived then walked down in the back near the beach. We ate in The Grand Cafe then went back to our room with full tummies and lazed in our very comfortable bed watching DVDs. When we woke the next morning, we looked outside, and the fog was creeping in so beautifully. Our breakfast was a very nice buffet, and the overall experience was fab. Loved this place.

Room Tip: We had 205 at the top of the stairs with a great view of the garden and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Enjoyed a mid-week overnight stay. The staff and grounds were amazing. Our room was small but clean. Updating the furnishings would be a positve move but the charm and tranquilly offset the negatives. The brunch was wonderful, and the view cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
556 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
268 reviews
5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
5.4 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
181 reviews
17.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Inn

Address: 1 Cathedral Ave, Rockport, MA 01966-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range: £99 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerson Inn is a historic oceanfront hotel nestled on Pigeon Cove in beautiful Rockport, Massachusetts. Renovated & rejuvenated in 2016, the property has been refreshed to perfectly blend the historic charm of the hotel and modern amenities travelers seek today, including private baths, flat-screen HD televisions, complimentary WiFi across the property, and new comfortable beds and linens. Featuring stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean, the Emerson Inn is perfect for romantic getaways, family vacations, or business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Emerson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerson Inn By The Sea Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing