We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as interesting as the travel guides make out.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Paper House

The Paper House
Ranked #8 of 31 things to do in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not as interesting as the travel guides make out.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Didn't find it easily,it's as though the house is in someones back yard,we were a wee bit hesitant at first thinking we were walking up the wrong drive.The house is a novelty at best and you have to marvel at someone actually undertaking the task of making a paper house,the most interesting thing for us was the ability to read the report of Charles Lindbergs flight.I guess we were expecting more,however just how much more can there be from a paper house,not worth making a special journey for

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    22
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth finding-you'll never see this again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

An owner of one of the galleries we were in recommended this and we were so glad we didn't miss it. Just go, you can't really describe it adequately.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Snorkelsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An interesting quick stop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We thought the Paper House was worth a stop. The house is small but unusual and interesting. There we no guides/workers there but there is a FAQ sheet that answered our questions. Make a quick stop there and then head a few miles away to Halibut State Park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mrs0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fourth generation visit to new England Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

In the 60's I visited with my parents who visited there in the 40's-50's with my older brother Lou.
Then in the 70's 80's brought my daughters there for a visit. Just visited this past weekend with my Grandkids for gen4 and they enjoyed the uniqueness and historic newspaper headlines and the Piano, the Table and Chairs all made out of Paper. A bit of pre computer era fun and yes on the honor system and with a eco friendly turn the lights off sign. The suggested donation is so low due to the simplicity of the site. Worth a trip up from the Beach and BearSkin Neck shops and Motif#1 wharf.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DonJoseLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCKPORT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Of limited interest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

The paper house is, yes, made of paper. It's an interesting curiosity if you happen to be in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zmama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Paper House also viewed

Rockport, Cape Ann
Rockport, Cape Ann
 

Been to The Paper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing