We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable accommodation and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockport Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable accommodation and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Good sized room. Equipped with 2 double beds, table and 2 chairs, a large TV, also a coffee maker, microwave and fridge. The bed was vey comfortable, but the pillows were a little strange size wise, with four small pillows per bed, rather than two normal sized ones. It is located about 1 mile from the town where the restaurants are. It does, however, have a breakfast room. I didn't use the pool or fitness room.
I needed to stay around after the checkout time and the staff let me store my bags in an unused meeting room. They were also very helpful in arranging taxis for me, letting me make international calls and fax papers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockportinnsuites, Front Office Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Here at the Rockport Inn and Suites, we like to make sure that our guests are as comfortable as possible and that they have all the amenities that they could need. Next time you come to visit us please make sure to try our pool and jacuzzi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    180
    57
    17
    5
See reviews for
184
189
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Rooms are very spacious and well appointed. The staff are friendly and helpful. The indoor pool area is great. We stayed 3 nights in early September. The motel is clean, plenty of parking and well kept grounds. The only drawback is the location with nothing in walking distance. You have to drive to Rockport or Gloucester (main attraction areas). The breakfast was Ok but limited fare. So many hotels now are using plastic cups and bowls it makes the food taste cheap, hate it. (this is not only a critism of this motel but many USA motels, increasing bad habit and should be banned). The price is probably a bit high given the location.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockportinnsuites, Front Office Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our indoor pool is the perfect place to relax after a day of exploring. We are only 3/4 of a mile from down town Rockport and during the summer season, the town of Rockport has a shuttle to down town which is conveniently right across the street from us. Thank you for you feedback on our continental breakfast. We like to make sure that all of our guests get breakfast before they start their days. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We came by bike, from Salem and used Rockport Inn and Suites as a base to explore the area.
We got a spacious room with two double beds, a TV, a fridge a coffee making machine and a large bathroom. The continental breakfast was very good! We loved the heated pool and whirlpool. A relaxing dip after a day biking was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockportinnsuites, Front Office Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. Rockport is a great town to explore by bike. We're glad you were able to relax in one of our spacious rooms and enjoy our pool. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I only stayed one night at this hotel on a recent holiday.

On arrival the reception staff were freindly and helpful. The rooms are a reasonable size, but both my room and that of another family member travelling with me both had a damp(ish) smell as though they needed to be properly aired.

Decor is a little dated and the whole place is in need of maintenance and a bit of a refurb.

Our bathroom was a little small and dark but the shower worked well enough.

All in all this is not a bad hotel, but it needs some attention to detail as many features have the DIY look and are not properly finished off. It is in my opinion an average 3 star. The issue I have is price at £120 or $200 per night they are charging close to London / NY 4 star prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattP1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This motel is a "look alike" Marriott Courtyard - very similar in terms of bedding, room layout and decor, lobby, breakfast, etc. It was all good and clean and comfortable, even had a microwave and little fridge. Pool was excellent, towels provided. Did not utilize the breakfast. It is a .6 of a mile walk to the shops of Rockport, easy and convenient, but NOT on the beach, if that's what you are looking for. I would stay again. My only drawback was the pricing, it was a little much for it's location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieSNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
What a great time of year to visit Rockport...with so much going on around town and the fantastic weather we are glad you stayed with us!!! With the Trolley across the street it makes getting to those beaches and downtown so much easier...Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I will make sure to share this with our staff!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The place seemed very clean. We stayed there 5 nights the last week of August 2013. I would say it is very well run, clean, and efficient. We had a suite so that our 2.5 year old could sleep in a separate room. It worked out very well. We stayed in the upstairs bedroom. The indoor pool is very nice and clean. Our son loved it. I'm usually a big breakfast person, but the free continental breakfast was O.K. if you're into that. I ate there most mornings. Considering the large size of our room and separate bedroom, I would say the rate was reasonable.

We had only a couple of minor issues with the room, but nothing serious. One of the ceiling lights was out. I called the front desk to report it, but it was never fixed while we were there. There were an additional 3 desk tamps in the room, so it wasn't really a problem. The faucet in the bathroom is a little warn and difficult to get the temperature exactly how you want. It seems like they don't have a good process for inspecting rooms, identifying things that need to be replaced, and following up with the maintenance.

I would definitely stay there again. The staff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: The suites next to the office are convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad to see that the layout of our suites worked for every member of the family and you were able to relax and sleep comfortably... the pool is a great part of our property and we thrilled to have it!! We hope that when traveling again to Rockport you would again give us the opportunity to be your host!!! Hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel and suites is Good, better than Average, but a little short of Very Good. It is right across the street from the town trolley/bus, which runs pretty frequently, and a very short drive to Bearskin neck, or the beaches in Gloucester and Rockport. We stayed for 2 nights and brought our medium sized dog, which we REALLY appreciated ( and paid $30/night extra for). We also appreciate that they let our well behaved dog, stay in the room when we were out, and took our cellphone in case he needed us. This alone is worth SO much to us. Most of the staff were friendly when necessary, though most of them not especially so. The facility is in good shape and clean. The room we stayed in had a slight odor of beach hotel ( damp-must) but compared to many hotels, not too bad. Other than that, the room was very clean and well maintained. I guess the only thing that disappointed me was, that despite the fact that they did not appear to be sold out at anytime during our stay, the woman who checked us in was adamant that check in is at 3 PM, and that she had no larger rooms available. Walking the dog during my stay, it appeared to me, that this wasn't entirely true, and that there likely were rooms ready at 1:30 when we got there. I think she may have assumed that I was looking for complimentary upgrade, rather than realizing that I was simply asking if there was a larger room available at anytime during our stay ( at any price), not necessarily at 1:30 when we were trying to check in. Honestly, she just didn't seem that sincere, and gave me the feeling that she might feel underpaid. Breakfast is standard cold continental fare, though served in a clean dining room. Newspapers were hard to come by, and seemed to be relinquished by the front desk as a definite favor. No sign of waffles nor anything warm other than coffee at breakfast. We'll likely try this place again, and are fairly optimistic that we may have better luck next time. We value hospitality very much, and just a little more of it would likely have gone a long way towards our overall impression. If Trip Advisor had a rating between Average and Very Good ( i.e.- Good) we'd have preferred to chose that in most of our ratings overall, instead of Average. This place is better than Average, but short of Very Good.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be parked in front of, others are in small courtyards, or in the main building. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smackmyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for an honest review of your recent stay, I am glad to hear of the cleanliness levels throughout your stay and appreciate the work the staff does to provide that.. I apologize for you not experiencing our waffles,I have recently discovered a talent for making waffles as well and would love the opportunity to provide that for you again... please consider us again when visiting Rockport and Cape Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
3.4 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.0 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.5 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockport Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockport Inn and Suites

Property: Rockport Inn and Suites
Address: 183 Main St, Rockport, MA 01966-2026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rockport Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rockport Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockport Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing