We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - wonderful hosts!”
Review of Lantana House

Lantana House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lantana House
Ranked #9 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location - wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at the Lantana House in July. The location is central, within easy walking distance of both the commuter train station and the lovely harbor village. The house is charming, with both a deck and a wonderful front porch, as well as free wifi. The room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was delicious and filling - homemade muesli, as well as other cereals (with whole milk), various breads/bagels for toasting, home-baked treats (we had a delicious blueberry cake), various fresh sliced fruits, cheese, coffee, tea and juice. Richard, the owner, is gracious and helpful. Rockport is a pretty little coastal town and I highly recommend the Lantana House if you are planning on visiting.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Unknown3664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcnestel, Owner at Lantana House, responded to this review, 8 July 2016
Thank you for coming and writing a nice review. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Lantana House last summer and had a great time! Conveniently tucked just outside of the quaint seaside village of Bearskin Neck, the shops and galleries are a vacationers delight. Everything was within walking distance.
Our third floor suite was surprisingly roomy and comfortable. And, the breakfast was delicious - hot coffee, juice, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, muffins and Richards homemade cinnamon buns!
Richard and Tracey are very friendly and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneBug1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcnestel, Owner at Lantana House, responded to this review, 8 July 2016
Thank you for coming and writing a nice review. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catskill Region, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I recently spent 3 nights at Lantana House with a friend. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived and things only got better from there. The rooms are spotless, breakfasts are healthy and fulfilling, and the hosts go out of their way to ensure their guests enjoy themselves. Everything you could want is within walking distance--the beach, shops, restaurants--but other sites are readily and easily accessible by car or public transportation. An added bonus is the friends we made with other guests during our stay. I credit this, at least in part, to the warm and casual atmosphere of Lantana House. After returning from our daytime activities, we hung out on the spacious and well-furnished veranda with other guests and Richard. I look forward to staying at Lantana House if ever I return to Rockport.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double room on the first floor. Although lovely and clean, the room is a bit small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy31059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcnestel, Owner at Lantana House, responded to this review, 8 July 2016
Thank you for coming and writing a nice review. Please come again. Glad to be your new favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itala, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful B&B in the very hearth of Rockport. Very kind family, cozy and clean room, free internet and parking. We booked through booking.com, found the place very easily, they were waiting for us. Everything was perfect!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stezak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcnestel, Owner at Lantana House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My daughter gave us tickets to a show at the Shalin Liu Performance Center in Rockport for Christmas. Never being there, she picked a hotel (The Lantana House B&B) off of the internet, based on the location which was a 1-2 minute walk down the road to the Shalin Liu, and the reviews online. She did a great job! We were a little nervous, as we are not B&B type people. We are very private and don't like to be in other people's houses. We don't even stay with family when we travel. The Nestels seem like really nice people, so any awkwardness we felt was obviously on our part, according to other reviews.

We arrived at the B&B after a 4-1/4 hour (usually 2 hour) drive, in a snowstorm. Richard & Tracey Nestel (the owners) greeted us at the door with their two young dogs. We love dogs and got plenty of welcome kisses from them. Don't worry, for those who don't like dogs, they were behind a gate, so no contact is necessary, and they don't bark.

They brought us up to our room which I think was #3, on the left up the spiral stairs. It gave me the feeling of being at my grandmothers house when I was a kid (not a bad thing at all). The bed (two twins to make up a king) was very comfortable. There was a small refrigerator at the bottom of the stairs where we could store things if we wanted. Unfortunately, we did and then forgot them when we left.

We were the only guests there that night, and asked them not to make a big deal over us for breakfast. My husband doesn't eat breakfast and I didn't want them to fuss for me, but they still provided bagels, english muffins, plenty of spread options, granola, cereal and fruit tray & juice. I don't drink coffee but my husband said it was good, (and he's pretty picky about coffee).

There is private parking out back which was nice to have. We were able to start our car the next morning to warm it up, without worrying about leaving it running while we were inside.

While I can't imagine needing to be in Rockport again, I would definitely stay there again if the need arose.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandKevinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcnestel, Owner at Lantana House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife, dog and myself recently spent three nights at the Lantana. We didn't see any other comparable place we would have liked better. It's centrally located with everything in Rockport an easy stroll away. The inn is an older three-story house with no elevator but has rooms on the ground floor for those not wanting to climb the stairs. We had the upper room with the kitchen and will ask for it again on our next trip. It served a cold breakfast with plenty of options including freshly made coffee cake and cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: Room at the top. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcnestel, Owner at Lantana House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We hope you come again. It was great having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

very nice people running this b&B that is in a good location. very good breakfast, especially the homemade granola, we were traveling with another couple and took the suite on the top floor with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen (that could be very handy but we did not use.) the place was solidly good, clean and friendly.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KarlSbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcnestel, Owner at Lantana House, responded to this review, 8 July 2016
Thank you for coming and writing a review. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockport hotels
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.6 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 24 in Rockport
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tuck Inn B&B
The Tuck Inn B&B
#6 of 24 in Rockport
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eagle House Motel
Eagle House Motel
#5 of 6 in Rockport
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantana House

Property: Lantana House
Address: 22 Broadway, Rockport, MA 01966-1537
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lantana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing