We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Relaxing Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea
Ranked #12 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Relaxing Place!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I spent Labor Day weekend here. What a beautiful inn! Randy the innkeeper was fantastic. He gave us great restaurant recommendations and was extremely accommodating to his guests. The inn was very clean and quiet. We stayed in the "Golden State" room. The views were breathtaking. We watched thunderstorms move in through the sky and got to see the sunrise and set from bed. It was such a beautiful place. Looking forward to going back there again!

Room Tip: Stay in the Golden State room. It's the entire top floor of the inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggie2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    29
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
109
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

if you are looking for a place for peace and quiet, this is the place to stay, surroundings are beautiful, the ocean is just perfect, we stay in the orientail room and the big picture window has the best view to the ocean, we got to see a sunrise right from the bed as we woke up ,and the blue full moon, so perfect for a couple needing quiet time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our room overlooked the sea so we had a gorgeous view. The room itself was pleasant with good storage. Check-in was friendly and efficient. However, the fact that breakfast was served in another establishment - one mile away - was a disadvantage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveloholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The outstanding features of the Quarterdeck are the rooms with sea views. We had a huge picture window looking out at the ocean with Rockport just to the right which simply made our stay very special. The furnishings were pleasant and it was all very clean. The Inn was a nice 20-minute walk from the centre of town (except for 5 minutes aside the main road). But it was not quite the usual B&B that we've grown used to in the US. We only met the host as we were leaving; and while coffee was offered in the lobby, breakfast was more than a mile drive away at another Inn which was very basic. No nice imaginative offerings here. Given the price, this was a serious fault. But it had a beautiful view.

Room Tip: Sea view is the only reason to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSH-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Quarterdeck property is well groomed with loungers and table with chairs placed for a perfect scenic view overlooking the ocean. When opening the door(The Oriental Room#42), the view was so incredible that we decided to stay a third night. The room was amazing, clean, inviting and air conditioned. The queen size bed is perfectly placed for a great view out a huge window overlooking the ocean. A big dresser, two night tables, a desk, a table and two comfy chairs round out the furniture in the room. There is a closet with an iron and ironing board that still has enough room to hang plenty of clothes. The clean bathroom has a hair dryer and a bathtub with jets that make it a tough decision between a soak or a quiet evening outside on the deck that's attached. I should also mention the delicious cookies and the Keurig coffee machine that's always ready to dispense a great cup of coffee.
Randy, the innkeeper, who greeted us upon our arrival was great. A warm, smiling, polite, and friendly man who is basically a father figure gave us recommendations on everything from restaurants to attractions getting us a discount at Captain Bill and Son's Whale Watch. He reminded us to take water and stay hydrated because of the heat. His customer service is exceptional. He even bought us breakfast for our Anniversary. We can't wait to return. I would strongly recommend the Quarterdeck Inn By the Sea.

Room Tip: Back rooms have incredible view of the ocean from inside along with a deck if you craved fresh ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

spent a week at the quarterdeck- had the neptune room with the private deck.

View is amazing. Room was very clean. a/c worked very well.

Bed was comfy.

Only issue- shower pressure was so so- it had a water constrictor on it.

not a true b and b- breakfast was 5 minute drive- we never made it there.

spent some time on the deck- there were chairs and lounges.

asked randy to get us a mini fridge since we were there for a week- no problem.

nice ice maker on ground floor- we would fill our cooler daily for trips to the beach.

would definitely go back and stay in same room.

Room Tip: neptune room is the only one with a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank z235e49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

This is a great inn with a great location. We had a beautiful room with a stunning view. The breakfast was only so so, but the inn is a real treat. We loved the rockport area and the inn was a true delight. I already booked a return trip!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank true11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
334 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
4.8 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea

Property: The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea
Address: 123 Granite St, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing